28 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

SKRAM - Gig Review: SKRAM @ Big Fan, Auckland - 22/07/2023

26 Jul 2023 // A review by Lou Clement

SKRAM blew up Big Fan in Auckland on their Strawberry Dream Tour. Billed as "an explosive pop music spectacle", they didn’t disappoint, the energy was palpable. Led by vocalist Henry Ashby, he lent to the mix one of the most intuitively skilled voices I’ve heard in a long time. With a hefty bunch of support acts and an unexpected intermission, it was a night of self-assured performances in the tucked away Morningside venue. I encourage those regularly visiting some of Tamaki Makarau’s more intimate music venues to add this to your list. It’s supporting new music and delivers on both atmosphere and sound.


The evening opened with Bird Machine, who shared their diverse music influences with ricocheting guitar, effortlessly expressive vocals, and a generous performance, that I attribute to the devotion and creative skill Bird Machine have for music. Onwards and upwards, please, I love this band.

We also heard from Marmalade who were fun, charismatic and had a whole bunch of fans lined up to dance on the front row. They played their first single Bright. Towards the end of their set, a fire alarm was raised, and the venue evacuated. Three fire engines later, I didn’t hold out much hope for the night of music continuing. That is until the lead singer of SKRAM and members from Marmalade took their music to the street. Did anyone get it on camera? Is it on YouTube? It was one of those moments of joy. I sang my heart out in a group sing-along, I’m just a teenage dirtbag, yeah? Thank you for your spirit of music!

We returned to the venue and the night resumed, with the crisis averted. Borderline were up next and were sure-footed with their performance of Cinderella. Again, the vocalist has a tone to his voice that dealt with the pop vibes and added sincerity and depth.

Back with SKRAM they are quoted as saying their music envelopes an idea shared in simple terms: “to take care of myself, and be really positive, and […]to take care of everybody else.” This was demonstrated on the night at Big Fan. They followed through on their ethos with energetic performances, my favourite was Love Don’t Keep Me Waiting.

Overall, this was a night of hearty performances. I had to leave part way through SKRAM's set due to the late running of the event and I was unfortunately starting to feel unwell (testing positive for Covid the following day - apologies to the bands!), but what I did see lived up to the hype, roll on Summer - I'm sure this band will bring a exciting musical vibe wherever they go.


Photo Credit: Joe Photography
SKRAM Photo Gallery
Borderline Photo Gallery
Marmalade Photo Gallery
Bird Machine Photo Gallery

 

About SKRAM

SKRAM is a Wellington based group consisting of Henry Ashby and Felix Nesbitt. With a combination of emphatic vocals, dynamic rhythms and memorableu melodies, SKRAM builds an energetic, crowd-pleasing energy to the stage and their music.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for SKRAM

Releases

Walk Into The Sun
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Gig Review: Carb on Carb @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 17/05/2024
19 May 2024 // by Lou Clement
Carb On Carb took to the Wine Cellar stage in Auckland on Friday night to showcase their album Take Time which was released on the same day, 17 May, 2024. As soon as I heard this band I instantly thought they would be amazing live, and I wasn’t wrong.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tess Liautaud @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 4/05/2024
06 May 2024 // by Lou Clement
Otautahi-based singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, Tess Liautaud took to the stage of the Wine Cellar, a basement venue, on Karangahape Road, on an autumnal Saturday evening. Tonight was the Tamaki Makaurau show of her nine-date nationwide Gold Digger tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bach Musica NZ @ Auckland Town Hall - 14/04/2024
15 Apr 2024 // by Lou Clement
The historic setting of Auckland Town Hall, with its long and celebrated history of live music, was the ideal location for Bach Musica NZ. This was the first of a program of performances taking place throughout the year and bringing to the stage some favourite classical music pieces.
Read More...
Festival Review: The Others Way @ Auckland - 01/12/2023
02 Dec 2023 // by Lou Clement
Music venue haven that Karangahape Road is, it’s the perfect location for a festival takeover. Stopping short of closing the main street The Others Way festival seeks to fill every venue, at times simultaneously, with music.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ebony Lamb @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 10/11/2023
12 Nov 2023 // by Lou Clement
Singer songwriter Ebony Lamb treated the tightly packed Auckland, Tamaki Makaurau crowd to a night of new music from her self-titled debut solo album. The gig was part of a seven-date Aotearoa tour which began October 27th, and finished in Paekakariki on Saturday, November 11th.
Read More...
Gig Review: Princess Chelsea @ Neck Of The Woods, Auckland - 19/10/2023
20 Oct 2023 // by Lou Clement
Princess Chelsea began her international Everything Is Going To Be Alright tour, at Neck of the Woods in Auckland with a full house on Thursday 19 October. Bringing her 2022 album of the same title in its entirety to the stage, with her band Jasmine Balmer, Joshua Worthington-Church, David Harris, Joe Kaptein, Kate Tindall, and Simeon Kavanagh-Vincent.
Read More...
Gig Review: Clementine Valentine @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 16/09/2023
16 Sep 2023 // by Lou Clement
Clementine Valentine took to the Whammy stage in Auckland on the fourth and final date of their nationwide album release tour. Their new album entitled The Coin That Broke The Fountain Floor, was released through Flying Nun Records in August 2023.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sofia Machray @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 19/08/2023
21 Aug 2023 // by Lou Clement
Sofia Machray brought her Language of Flowers show, the last of a five-night nationwide tour, to Whammy Bar in Auckland. Machray has recently released her debut 6-track EP and tonight was the premier of her music for Tamaki Makarau.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem