3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

0800 Belly Up - Single Review: Kick Ons

28 Nov 2022 // A review by Peter-James Dries

If you feel you would enjoy punk rock better if they showered more often and put a bit more effort in, then this is the band for you.

If you love shouting back at bands when they yell lyrics at you, then this is the song for you.

If you’re sick of Six60, then I have something for you.

Kick Ons from 0800 Belly Up has the same high production values, same tight performance, and same crowd appeal you’d expect from the basic kiwi staple, with the difference being Kick Ons is actually good. I mean… That, and it’s completely different from Six60 in style, genre, and everything else…

Whether you dance like an inconsiderate floor-hogging maniac, or do that weird shuffle thing, then this poppy punky banger is sure to get you moving.

One part The Bangles Walk Like An Egyptian, one part The Kooks Naïve, Kick Ons is as infectious and catchy as COVID, with at least half the death toll. This is what should be headlining New Year’s festivals / excuses to get pissed this year. 0800 Belly Up, that is, not COVID.

All in all, a solid release. Excited to see this lot get famous.

You can find Kick Ons on Spotify.

Five stars of five.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About 0800 Belly Up

The 0800 Belly Up boys hail from north Auckland, NZ; Te Arai, Mangawhai and Langs Beach. The band formed in 2021 from a collection of rowdy, out the gate, bogan meets big-time characters. Meeting upon a national treasure, Crate Day, from a shared love of Alternative Rock and Punk music something great was born. Their unique brand of entertainment fuses catchy vocal, sing-along anthems and pumping grooves and melodies. Their energy-fuelled antics and questionable gimmicks will make you forget your worries, be consumed by good vibes and party.

Having performed at iconic venues including Leigh Sawmill, Ding Dong Lounge and The Butter Factory, many more great shows are ahead! The band has recently released their debut single One Last Wish, quickly followed by a freshly dropped single Kick Ons.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for 0800 Belly Up

Releases

0800 Belly Up
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Shadowcaster - Single Review: Friends
18 Dec 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder how performers choose their stage names. Is Trent Graham, Shadowcaster’s ringleader, taller than average?
Read More...
The Treasury - EP Review: Shimmer / I'll Return From On The Sea
29 Oct 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I get a lot of pretty obscure releases thrown my way. For every Six60 single, there are fifty songs you will never hear, from artists you have never heard of.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Bite the Wax Tadpole
14 Sep 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
The Hopkinsville Goblins is always a challenging review. If you want it done right, you really need some hard-broiled journalist from a bygone era on the job, not some gumshoe with a grudge like me.
Read More...
Young Moon - EP Review: Paraverbal Orchids
06 Sep 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is this Japanese art form called Kintsugi – Golden Joinery – which is a method of mending cracks in broken pottery with gold. The idea is that the broken pieces are part of the object’s history, so are something to remember rather than something to hide.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: Locksmith
31 Aug 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
Across their body of work, Imposter Syndrome have been known for their blurring of the lines between sub-genres and laying waste to the traditional ideas of song structure. Well, that’s what they’re known for to me at least.
Read More...
Rhombus - Album Review: After Party
26 May 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I was wearing a New Zealand Music Month hoodie the other week. Upon seeing it, my niece gleefully exclaimed “You’ve got the year I was born on your hoodie.
Read More...
Fear Up Harsh - Album Review: Fear Up Harsh (II)
28 Mar 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a rumour that, when played simultaneously, Fear Up Harsh (II) syncs perfectly with Jim Jarmusch’s The Limits of Control. The rumour is a lie of course, like many rumours are, but you’d be forgiven for believing it.
Read More...
Western Dip - Album Review: Warm Ups
08 Feb 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been over a decade since I thought “I might listen to some techno”. Probably longer since EDM was even called techno… And even then, the genre was never the main event.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem