26 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Gig Review: Come Together - Tom Petty @ Kiri Te Kanawa Theatre, Auckland - 30/10/2022

Gig Review: Come Together - Tom Petty @ Kiri Te Kanawa Theatre, Auckland - 30/10/2022

31 Oct 2022 // A review by roger.bowie

Tom Petty hit us like a bullet train in 1976. It was London, and prog rock was being challenged by punk. Something was wrong with rock and roll. Maybe it was broken?

And then god bless America came along with Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers in 76 and Talking Heads in 77 and it was fresh and it was clean and it was antidote to anarchy. Positive.

The rest of course is history and so we come together yet again to celebrate great albums and great artists. With great artists showing their love for the soundtracks of their respective youths. Unless you are younger than that.

Liberty Stage’s Simone Williams and Musical Director Jol Mulholland have assembled a slightly smaller group of New Zealand luminaries tonight comprising 3 of the original The Bads (Brett, Dianne and Wayne Bell on drums), 2 Pluto's (Matthias Jordan and Milan Borich), 1 Shihad (Jon ever so good), 1 just about everybody (Mark Hughes on bass) plus one young, haunted rooster from down south, to reduce the average age, (that would be Adam Hattaway). A slightly smaller line-up, but no less prestigious, and no less impressive.

We know the drill, the album comes first, followed by the guessing game of selected hits.

Jon Toogood leads off with Refugee and then Adam Hattaway makes his Come Together debut with Here Comes My Girl. Milan Borich opens his account with Even the Losers, and in the middle of side two Dianne Swann sings You Tell Me and we have by now heard from all the featured vocalists (excluding two) who define the collaborative nature of these gigs. Adam Hattaway adds swagger and attitude, without a Shadow of a Doubt.

Damn the Torpedoes was Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers third album, in 1979, Jimmy Iovine produced, and setting a production standard for the decades to come. Tom Petty moved from upstart to mainstream in a heartbreaker beat.

Ten years later, he was part of an unbelievable supergroup comprising also of Bob Dylan, George Harrison, Roy Orbison and Jeff Lynne, and called The Travelling Wilburys, and to end the first set, we are treated to two songs from that collaboration, Handle with Care and End of the Line. We are never, ever going to hear those songs played live like this. Ever again.

I said all the vocalists except two, and the second set gets underway with Brett Adams and Dianne Swann (The Bads) joining together for the song Tom Petty wrote for Stevie Nicks (lucky, lucky girl) back in 1979 before we get on to a selection from the ample discography on offer.  A song from the second album, Listen to Your Heart Gain with Brett and Dianne, multiple selections from the solo albums Wildflowers and Full Moon FeverThe Waiting from Hard Promises, a couple from Into the Great Wide Open (including Learning to Fly, co-written with Jeff Lynne), another collaboration, this time with Dave Stewart from 1985’s Southern Accents (that would be Don’t Come Around Here No More) two classics from the debut album (Breakdown and American Girl)  and of course the song which only made the greatest hits album, Last Dance with Mary Jane. And the other vocalist? Jol Mulholland Won’t Back Down.

Mike Campbell is a great guitarist. For me he was the high point of the last Fleetwood Mac concert here three years ago. Better than anyone else, especially when he played Peter Green. But tonight, we get a new take on how good Mike Campbell is. He’s almost as good as Brett Adams, that’s how good Mike Campbell is. Tonight, Brett is on fire. Call the fire brigade. His playing is just supreme. Especially when he also sings on his solitary solo offering, It’s Good to be King. It just so good that you are king, Brett.

The Come Together concept is gold. Just ask the audience. There’s no need for a standing ovation, the audience has been standing and prancing long before the gig ends. Two and a half hours of rock nostalgia flawlessly rendered.

Set List:

1. Refugee (Jon)

2. Here Comes My Girl (Adam)

3. Even the Losers (Milan)

4. Shadow of a Doubt (Adam)

5. Century City (Adam)

6. Don’t Do Me Like That (Jon)

7. You Tell Me (Dianne)

8. What Are You Doing In My Life? (Milan)

9. Louisiana Rain (Milan)

10. Handle With Care (Adam)

11. End of the Line (Adam)

12. Stop Dragging My Heart (Brett/Dianne)

13. Running Down a Dream (Dianne)

14. Listen to Her Heart (Brett/Dianne)

15. You Don’t Know How It Feels (Milan)

16. Wildflowers (Adam)

17. Mary Jane’s Last Dance (Jon)

18. The Waiting (Jon)

19. Learning to Fly (Milan)

20. I Won’t Back Down (Jol)

21. Into The Great Wide Open (Jon)

22. Breakdown (Dianne)

23. It’s Good to be King (Brett)

24. American Girl (Adam)

25. Free Falling (Jon)

26. Don’t Come Around Here No More (Milan)



Photo Credit: Chris Morgan / Morgan Creative
View the full gallery here

 

Other Reviews By roger.bowie

Album Review: Subset BC
16 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Here’s an interesting little thing from Gisborne. A funky little band with three bass players.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Best of Come Together @ The Civic Theatre, Auckland - 9/12/2023
12 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Get your heads around this line-up:  The singers: Jon Toogood, (lead and backing vocals), Julia Deans (lead and backing vocals), Dianne Swann (lead and backing vocals and occasional guitar), Samuel Flynn Scott (vocals and guitar), James Milne (lead and backing vocals), Milan Borich (Mick vocals) The players: Jol Mulholland (guitars and vocals), Brett Adams (lead guitar and vocals), Mike Hall (bass), Matthias Jordan (keyboards), Alastair Deverick (drums), Finn Scholes (trumpet, clarinet and percussion), Nick Atkinson (sax and percussion).  Stopped spinning?
Read More...
A Crude Mechanical - Album Review: Discourse
08 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Shane Warbrooke doesn’t believe in lyrics, because of the risk of lyrics being hi-jacked and meanings bent to suit ideologies which he doesn’t like. Well, such ideologies which most of us don’t like, truth be known, but then again, Beethoven didn’t write lyrics, so the freedom of speech counter argument only goes so far.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Phoenix Foundation @ Hollywood Avondale, Auckland - 24/11/2023
26 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
This is a first of many things. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen The Phoenix Foundation play live.
Read More...
Velvet Arrow - Album Review: Songs of Solitude
17 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
A Song Of Hope & Fear would normally be a contradiction in terms unless darkness prevails and light shines through, which is an appropriate metaphor for the debut album from Whangarei’s Velvet Arrow and the opening song, with Dan Stenhouse’s husky voice helping us through the night against a ghostly horror wail from Hannah Jane. After all it’s just a song to help you through the night, just the words that speak, it’s not real.
Read More...
Gig Review: Atomic: Women of Rock @ The Civic, Auckland - 11/11/2023
13 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
What a feast of nostalgia we’ve had from Liberty Stage (Simone Williams) these past few years, as New Zealand’s finest have Come Together to cover the classic albums which made the soundtracks of our youth. In addition to this, there have also been special tributes like Tami Neilson’s rock ‘n roll party with Dinah Lee, just last month.
Read More...
Dimmer - Album Review: Live At The Hollywood
09 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
Wow, not very often that we see alive album these days, an unusual beast, but that’s we have, a 14-track monster from Dimmer, recorded from last year’s sold-out trilogy at the Hollywood Avondale. Which, if you didn’t get to go last year, you can still see on December 2nd at the Powerstation, unless, like me, you are going instead to The War on Drugs.
Read More...
Killergrams - EP Review: Lonely Nights In A Little Town
27 Oct 2023 // by roger.bowie
Someone walked out, and Tom Maxwell has lost his mind, in a gentle, acoustic way. Then his mind explodes in a cacophony of chaos, which might just be what it feels like, losing something that important.
Read More...
View All Articles By roger.bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem