28 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Renee Millner - Single Review: Not OK

07 Oct 2022 // A review by Hannah Jane

New Zealand based Australian singer-songwriter Renee Millner has an ethereal voice that carries a gentle strength through the bars of a rhyme in a way that brings otherworldly artists Annie Lennox, Sinead O’Connor, and Dolores O’Riordan to mind like kindred spirits.

Within moments of hearing her new single Not OK, Renee whispers something beautifully familiar in my ear, and her melodies carry me away somehow to Scottish Highlands I have never seen before.

I love songs that let you get lost within its embrace - like a lyrical balm for the soul.

This is that kind of song.

Not OK feels like a reassuring hug from a best friend when your world’s falling apart – telling you everything will be alright when all you can see is doubt.

Recorded with Sam Johnson of Rhythm Ace Studios and mastered by Chris Chetland, Not OK’s plaintive lyrics are thoughtfully entwined with dreamy layers of vocals, guitar and piano that add to the song’s wistfully reflective tone.

“Love is all we have in this game”

With fragility and grace, it is an empathetic soul who wrote this lyric – sensitively written words offering those who listen a sense of comfort and understanding… a breath of fresh air in a world of uncertainty.

Speaking of songwriting, Renee says “Part of the inspiration came from focusing on what really matters - the loved ones in your life. It’s also a reminder that you never really know what others are going through, so to move through the world with awareness and kindness.”

I have been listening to Renee’s Not OK on repeat since I first heard it and look forward to doing the same with her upcoming EP Fly Me Back which will be released later this month.

Renee writes and sings as a compassionate wanderer of this world like some kind of Earth Angel, and it seems to me we could really do with more folk like her in this game we call life.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Renee Millner

Fly Me Back is the latest single from Taranaki-based artist, Renee Millner, released on March 31st. Accompanied by a lyric video, the single explores what it means to turn away from dark thoughts and emotions, and find the way back to a healthier place of curiosity and vitality rather than judgement and languor.

As Renee says in discussing the track’s meaning, “The point is that sometimes we feel like we’re in the grip of something dark and malignant, when really it’s us that’s doing the gripping. And if, in those moments, we can release our hold, we create room for lighter, healthier things to enter.”

The single follows on from February’s emotive Out Their Windows, a song written in 2020 themed around the need to maintain connectedness in a pandemic world of limited social contact.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Renee Millner

Releases

Fly Me Back
Year: 2022
Type: EP
In The World
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Hannah Jane

Matt Joe Gow & Kerryn Fields - Album Review: I Remember You
24 May 2024 // by Hannah Jane
I Remember You is the recently released collaborative offering from multi award winning Americana/Folk duo Matt Joe Gow & Kerryn Fields. Over ten delightful songs, this record weaves stories of loss and love together with a strong sense of connection to the places they call home.
Read More...
Albi & The Wolves - Album Review: Light After The Dark
15 Dec 2023 // by Hannah Jane
Light After The Dark with its baker’s dozen of tunes is an infectious album that will uplift your soul. Award-winning indie folk stars Albi & the Wolves have created something of a wandering marching band for their third studio album which has made its way onto vinyl – one tick off their hopefully ambitious bucket list!
Read More...
Gig Review: Don McGlashan @ OneOneSix, Whangarei - 8/11/2023
14 Nov 2023 // by Hannah Jane
Back at my favourite musical venue up here in Whangarei tonight… OneOneSix is a community space beautifully set up for intimate shows suited to an attentive listening audience. If you live in Northland and haven’t been here yet, come join us!
Read More...
Gig Review: Hollie Smith @ One One Six, Whangarei - 4/11/2023
05 Nov 2023 // by Hannah Jane
Hollie Smith made a low-key entrance to the stage for her solo and intimate evening of music in Whangarei last night. There was a relaxed and casual vibe to the sold-out show, and the crowd responded well to Hollie’s candid delivery.
Read More...
Sam Heselwood - Single Review: Home
27 Jun 2023 // by Hannah Jane
Home is the new single from professional rugby player turned pop star Sam Heselwood – an up and coming Otautahi star who has already hit the charts and is clearly ‘one to watch’. An authentically vulnerable song, Home is both sweet and strong, and thoughtfully produced – recorded by Terence O’Connor and mixed by Simon Gooding.
Read More...
Jessica Leigh - Single Review: Wired
26 May 2023 // by Hannah Jane
Jessica Leigh’s new single Wired is a curious mix of upbeat pop and melancholic tones through jaded lyrics; “I’m getting tired, so I’m getting wired”. The lyrics in this track are heavily repetitive in part and given space to breathe in others, whilst carried by a fast moving and ever-changing bed of 80’s inspired music.
Read More...
The Robba - Album Review: In The Dark
29 Mar 2023 // by Hannah Jane
In The Dark is the new heavy rock album by New Zealand one man band The Robba, filled with hard-hitting tracks all painstakingly created by himself. Layers of guitar, vocals, synths and beats form a strong foundation for the social narrative woven into this baker’s dozen of lyrical laments.
Read More...
Coast Arcade - Single Review: Highest Heights
05 Feb 2023 // by Hannah Jane
Just a couple of years after forming in high school, Coast Arcade are killing it! The indie pop-rock band is made up of brothers Chris and Nate Tims, Thom Boynton, and Bella Bavin who have found themselves performing at popular festivals and supporting Kiwi icons The Beths and Princess Chelsea.
Read More...
View All Articles By Hannah Jane

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem