19 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jessica Leigh - Single Review: Wired

26 May 2023 // A review by Hannah Jane

Jessica Leigh’s new single Wired is a curious mix of upbeat pop and melancholic tones through jaded lyrics; “I’m getting tired, so I’m getting wired”.

The lyrics in this track are heavily repetitive in part and given space to breathe in others, whilst carried by a fast moving and ever-changing bed of 80’s inspired music.

Wellington based singer-songwriter Jessica Leigh won a regional songwriting competition back in 2019 and has been releasing music ever since - telling people they can expect to hear more “upbeat, warm, synth heavy pop sound” from her songs in the future.

Jessica’s vocals are bright and airy, and she writes in a youthful way filled with optimism that will appeal to a certain demographic.

“I find there is unparalleled beauty in youth. Life is so rich when you’re young and everything and everybody lasts forever. I can’t think of anything more romantic than that.”

Can’t argue with that… and my own young daughters both enjoyed Wired as it was being played over and over in our house this past week.  

I’m sure we’ll hear a lot more of Jessica Leigh in the days ahead.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Jessica Leigh

Born and raised in small-town New Zealand, emerging pop princess Jessica Leigh has been writing songs about the beauty of youth since 12 years of age. Now 19, the Kiwi songstress is gearing up to release her second EP Summerland later this year. The EP is a 5 part narrative articulating the love story of a Summer romance from its beautiful beginning to its inevitable end.

Summerland is the follow-up to Leigh's debut effort 17 - a four-part, vibrant electro-pop love letter to that time in her life. Jessica claims that "nostalgia is the biggest catalyst for [her] songwriting," and that she finds "there is unparalleled beauty in youth. Life is so rich when you’re young and everything and everybody lasts forever. I can’t think of anything more romantic than that."

Her songwriting style is rich in imagery and metaphor - a talent transferred from her poetic background. While growing up, Jessica received national awards for her poetry and prose, and in more recent years her songwriting is receiving similar praise.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jessica Leigh

Releases

Lightbeam
Year: 2023
Type: EP
Summerland
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Hannah Jane

Albi & The Wolves - Album Review: Light After The Dark
15 Dec 2023 // by Hannah Jane
Light After The Dark with its baker’s dozen of tunes is an infectious album that will uplift your soul. Award-winning indie folk stars Albi & the Wolves have created something of a wandering marching band for their third studio album which has made its way onto vinyl – one tick off their hopefully ambitious bucket list!
Read More...
Gig Review: Don McGlashan @ OneOneSix, Whangarei - 8/11/2023
14 Nov 2023 // by Hannah Jane
Back at my favourite musical venue up here in Whangarei tonight… OneOneSix is a community space beautifully set up for intimate shows suited to an attentive listening audience. If you live in Northland and haven’t been here yet, come join us!
Read More...
Gig Review: Hollie Smith @ One One Six, Whangarei - 4/11/2023
05 Nov 2023 // by Hannah Jane
Hollie Smith made a low-key entrance to the stage for her solo and intimate evening of music in Whangarei last night. There was a relaxed and casual vibe to the sold-out show, and the crowd responded well to Hollie’s candid delivery.
Read More...
Sam Heselwood - Single Review: Home
27 Jun 2023 // by Hannah Jane
Home is the new single from professional rugby player turned pop star Sam Heselwood – an up and coming Otautahi star who has already hit the charts and is clearly ‘one to watch’. An authentically vulnerable song, Home is both sweet and strong, and thoughtfully produced – recorded by Terence O’Connor and mixed by Simon Gooding.
Read More...
The Robba - Album Review: In The Dark
29 Mar 2023 // by Hannah Jane
In The Dark is the new heavy rock album by New Zealand one man band The Robba, filled with hard-hitting tracks all painstakingly created by himself. Layers of guitar, vocals, synths and beats form a strong foundation for the social narrative woven into this baker’s dozen of lyrical laments.
Read More...
Coast Arcade - Single Review: Highest Heights
05 Feb 2023 // by Hannah Jane
Just a couple of years after forming in high school, Coast Arcade are killing it! The indie pop-rock band is made up of brothers Chris and Nate Tims, Thom Boynton, and Bella Bavin who have found themselves performing at popular festivals and supporting Kiwi icons The Beths and Princess Chelsea.
Read More...
Renee Millner - EP Review: Fly Me Back
27 Oct 2022 // by Hannah Jane
Earlier this month, I had the pleasure of reviewing New Zealand based Australian singer-songwriter Renée Millner’s single Not OK, and much to my delight I have been listening to her EP Fly Me Back over and over ever since. The five songs contained within this album all carry a gentle strength both lyrically and melodically, and the music surrounding them is truly lovely.
Read More...
Renee Millner - Single Review: Not OK
07 Oct 2022 // by Hannah Jane
New Zealand based Australian singer-songwriter Renee Millner has an ethereal voice that carries a gentle strength through the bars of a rhyme in a way that brings otherworldly artists Annie Lennox, Sinead O’Connor, and Dolores O’Riordan to mind like kindred spirits. Within moments of hearing her new single Not OK, Renee whispers something beautifully familiar in my ear, and her melodies carry me away somehow to Scottish Highlands I have never seen before.
Read More...
View All Articles By Hannah Jane

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem