29 Jun 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Rhombus - Album Review: After Party

26 May 2022 // A review by Peter-James Dries

I was wearing a New Zealand Music Month hoodie the other week. Upon seeing it, my niece gleefully exclaimed “You’ve got the year I was born on your hoodie.” It was from 2012…

If that didn’t make me feel old, then hearing the name Rhombus again was sure going to.

Rhombus are still ‘round?!
That’s more of a shaped-based pun twenty years in the making, than a genuine question.
I’m listening to a preview of their new album, After Party, so I know the answer already.
Rhombus are back, and they’re bringing a boat-load of nostalgia with them.

As if in the interests of nostalgia, the album kicks off with Interlude III. For the Netflix-generation, which would denote a sequel or re-quel of 2005’s Future Reference. Unlike a Netflix reboot, After Party doesn’t kill any goodwill or memories held for the original.

After Party is how you do a reboot properly, though it is less a reboot and more a continuation.
Wobbly bass, frenetic drum lines, and echoed synth; Rhombus are still the masters of their distinctive and unique hybrid Dub n’ Bass sound. It’s a sound that has always reminded me of the sea, and being shooed out to the garden when Aunty needs some quiet time with Uncle.

However, the true highlight, as with all Rhombus albums, is the choice and contributions of the guest instrumentalists and singers. To flog a dead metaphor, it’s the true icing on the cake, speaking to those that want to listen rather than feel the music.

For some context and perspective, their most iconic track, Clav Dub, came out when I was in high school. The track is now old enough to graduate from University with an Arts degree. If you’re not… Well the track is such an iconic Kiwi staple that you’ve probably heard it playing in your dad’s garage while he’s out there ‘brewing’, or on your uncle’s car stereo when he rocked up to your family BBQ late. Perhaps even at that one pub in your provincial town that hasn’t updated their Saturday night playlist since 2003.

If you’re looking for a Father’s Day gift idea, and the Rhombus self-titled is their last CD on your Dad’s shelf, I’m sorry to tell you he’s not missing any. Until the new singles Your Love and Treat You So Right dropped in 2020 and 2022 respectively, the music charts hadn’t really heard from Rhombus since 2008. They’re not one of those groups that continued releasing albums for the past decade in secret. Read “in secret” as albums no-one heard because no-one promoted them. You know those follow-up albums that become the death knell of bands that once took up every second music video slot on every single music video show.

The music climate has changed a lot since then, both in terms on content and how it’s digested. You can’t really make it big by having your Goodbye Pork Pie inspired music video plastered over music centric TV shows anymore. I don’t even know if music centric TV shows still exist. I guess there’s Juice TV, but that’s only there to fill the silence in KFC.

I don’t know if that was Rhombus’ scene anyway. The true Rhombus experience was at their shows. Here’s hoping this reunion gets them back out on the road. That’s where they’ll win over the kids. The music is made to be moved to. Spotify will never do it justice.

I have a good feeling about After Party. As it gets colder, this tropical oasis of a record is what the country needs. The Rhombus name is going to bring in the old listeners. The Rhombus sound will get the rest. Five starts of five.

You can find Rhombus on Bandcamp.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Rhombus

One of Aotearoa’s finest ensemble of musicians...

The Rhombus sound is a seamless blend of hip-hop, soul, funk, dub and bass roots-reggae, spliced together with socially conscious lyrics.

They've forged a well-deserved reputation as one of New Zealand's most original and energetic live acts, selling out shows and festivals across the country.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Rhombus

Releases

After Party
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Rhombus
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Future Reference
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Bass Player Special Edition
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Bass Player
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Fear Up Harsh - Album Review: Fear Up Harsh (II)
28 Mar 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a rumour that, when played simultaneously, Fear Up Harsh (II) syncs perfectly with Jim Jarmusch’s The Limits of Control. The rumour is a lie of course, like many rumours are, but you’d be forgiven for believing it.
Read More...
Western Dip - Album Review: Warm Ups
08 Feb 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been over a decade since I thought “I might listen to some techno”. Probably longer since EDM was even called techno… And even then, the genre was never the main event.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Closer
08 Dec 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Here is yet another track that takes me back to the early-90;s. The days of our family following Vince Leatherby, the Happy Wanderer, around the Kiwi country music circuit.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Mundivagrants
12 Oct 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Mundivagrants is a weird release. Probably one of the strangest I’ve had to review.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Single Review: 360
29 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Take some heartbreak. Write it down.
Read More...
Comf - Single Review: Do You Feat. Ilena
12 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Water, Clay, and Ceramic. If the sonic possibilities of these three textures are the question, then Comf’s triptych of EPs, The Texture Tapes, are the proposed hypothesis.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - EP Review: Vengeful Millennial
05 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
You’re sitting in an average suburban home. A family is sitting at the dinner table in front of you.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: Silence Speaks
24 Jul 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Hard to believe it’s been seven years since I heard my first Scalper track My Blood Your Blood. Harder to believe it was only last year I reviewed Scalper’s The Beast & The Beauty.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem