28 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Rhombus - Album Review: After Party

26 May 2022 // A review by Peter-James Dries

I was wearing a New Zealand Music Month hoodie the other week. Upon seeing it, my niece gleefully exclaimed “You’ve got the year I was born on your hoodie.” It was from 2012…

If that didn’t make me feel old, then hearing the name Rhombus again was sure going to.

Rhombus are still ‘round?!
That’s more of a shaped-based pun twenty years in the making, than a genuine question.
I’m listening to a preview of their new album, After Party, so I know the answer already.
Rhombus are back, and they’re bringing a boat-load of nostalgia with them.

As if in the interests of nostalgia, the album kicks off with Interlude III. For the Netflix-generation, which would denote a sequel or re-quel of 2005’s Future Reference. Unlike a Netflix reboot, After Party doesn’t kill any goodwill or memories held for the original.

After Party is how you do a reboot properly, though it is less a reboot and more a continuation.
Wobbly bass, frenetic drum lines, and echoed synth; Rhombus are still the masters of their distinctive and unique hybrid Dub n’ Bass sound. It’s a sound that has always reminded me of the sea, and being shooed out to the garden when Aunty needs some quiet time with Uncle.

However, the true highlight, as with all Rhombus albums, is the choice and contributions of the guest instrumentalists and singers. To flog a dead metaphor, it’s the true icing on the cake, speaking to those that want to listen rather than feel the music.

For some context and perspective, their most iconic track, Clav Dub, came out when I was in high school. The track is now old enough to graduate from University with an Arts degree. If you’re not… Well the track is such an iconic Kiwi staple that you’ve probably heard it playing in your dad’s garage while he’s out there ‘brewing’, or on your uncle’s car stereo when he rocked up to your family BBQ late. Perhaps even at that one pub in your provincial town that hasn’t updated their Saturday night playlist since 2003.

If you’re looking for a Father’s Day gift idea, and the Rhombus self-titled is their last CD on your Dad’s shelf, I’m sorry to tell you he’s not missing any. Until the new singles Your Love and Treat You So Right dropped in 2020 and 2022 respectively, the music charts hadn’t really heard from Rhombus since 2008. They’re not one of those groups that continued releasing albums for the past decade in secret. Read “in secret” as albums no-one heard because no-one promoted them. You know those follow-up albums that become the death knell of bands that once took up every second music video slot on every single music video show.

The music climate has changed a lot since then, both in terms on content and how it’s digested. You can’t really make it big by having your Goodbye Pork Pie inspired music video plastered over music centric TV shows anymore. I don’t even know if music centric TV shows still exist. I guess there’s Juice TV, but that’s only there to fill the silence in KFC.

I don’t know if that was Rhombus’ scene anyway. The true Rhombus experience was at their shows. Here’s hoping this reunion gets them back out on the road. That’s where they’ll win over the kids. The music is made to be moved to. Spotify will never do it justice.

I have a good feeling about After Party. As it gets colder, this tropical oasis of a record is what the country needs. The Rhombus name is going to bring in the old listeners. The Rhombus sound will get the rest. Five starts of five.

You can find Rhombus on Bandcamp.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Rhombus

One of Aotearoa’s finest ensemble of musicians...

The Rhombus sound is a seamless blend of hip-hop, soul, funk, dub and bass roots-reggae, spliced together with socially conscious lyrics.

They've forged a well-deserved reputation as one of New Zealand's most original and energetic live acts, selling out shows and festivals across the country.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Rhombus

Releases

After Party
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Rhombus
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Future Reference
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Bass Player Special Edition
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Bass Player
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Ben Lloyd - Album Review: Leap of Faith
26 May 2024 // by Peter-James Dries
For over 30 years, this self-taught rocker from Mt Maunganui has been writing music. Now, for the first time since 2013, we finally get to hear his songs.
Read More...
Yann Le Dorré - Album Review: The Circus is Closed
19 Dec 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
“We are Sex Bob-Omb and we're here to make you think about death and get sad and stuff!” - Scott Pilgrim vs.
Read More...
Sanoi - Album Review: Echoes Of Home
25 Nov 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
Electronica offers no escapism for me. It’s more of what I already have.
Read More...
Throng - EP Review: Decoherence
20 Oct 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
You know that thing where the letter B has a personality, or words have textures and colours? That’s called synaesthesia.
Read More...
Fortress Europe - Album Review: Old World
10 Oct 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
Have you ever been torn between listening to Mozart or Periphery? Does Epica have too much of that darn singing for your tastes?
Read More...
Yurt Party - Album Review: Yurt Party
07 Sep 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
It sure isn't summer, and this is really not the Balkans, but Yurt Party’s new self-titled album refutes that. Back with another one of them Balkan rocking beats, Yurt Party’s debut is jazzy, erratic, and full of zest and energetic grooves, with flavour notes of ska, dub, and bergamot.
Read More...
day13n - Album Review: /7/13/7/
06 Aug 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m too old for this world. We’ve devolved to the point where music is only as good as the soundtrack to your 10 second TikTok, and the thirty thousand copies recycling the idea.
Read More...
The New Existentialists - Single Review: Invocation
16 Jul 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
The New Existentialists, a doom metal band known for their dark and atmospheric soundscapes, have just… Wait a minute… No. The New Existentialists are really not a doom metal band, and they’re really not known for their dark soundscapes… They’re more known as stalwarts of a bygone era.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem