27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Flow Collective - Album Review: Flow

27 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

This is a wonderful album, very New Zealand, but also very much classic singer-songwriter in a way which is not often heard these days. It took me a while to think who they remind me of, but in the end, I settled for English singer Talis Kimberly and Australian Maryen Cairns, both incredible performers who have released essential albums. This one revolves around the vocals and piano of Elizabeth de Vegt, who used poems from Airini Beautrais’ collection Flow: Whanganui River Poems as lyrical inspiration for an album and event based on the Whanganui River. Recorded live at the Royal Whanganui Opera House in January this year, she was accompanied by Elise Goodge (taonga puoro, vocals), Andrew Wetherall (electric guitar), Brad McMillan (drums), and Hamish Jellyman (bass, synth, vocals).

The accompanists are just that, there to provide additional nuances and touches on the songs which are fully formed and once can imagine Elizabeth also performing these solo without any additional instrumentation. Although there are times when Elizabeth plays acoustic, for the most part she is sat behind the piano, where she has a wonderful touch, while her vocals are always direct and full of message. The songs move between different styles, often within a traditional folk styling and one can imagine this being listened to a great deal within the UK folk circuit in particular. One item which does make it stand out is the use of Taonga Puoro (traditional Maori musical instruments), which provides a haunting quality to the music. There are times when they up the tempo, and mix it up somewhat, but the arrangements are always designed to have the vocals front and centre, even if they are more country and pop than folk.

This is such a full-formed album, with strong performances, that I cannot help but think that although this may be the debut for The Flow Collective, Elizabeth must have already recorded other albums as this is so full of confidence. I know I need to find out more about the band and only hope they will be bring this show to Auckland at some point as I would definitely be there. This is a gorgeous album, timeless in its approach, and beautiful in all facets.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Flow Collective

Flow: Beautrais x de Vegt is an album and show that celebrates the Whanganui River and the stories of its people. It is made up of fifteen original compositions by Elizabeth de Vegt using poems from Airini Beautrais’ collection Flow: Whanganui River Poems (VUP2017) as lyrical inspiration. The compositions celebrate traditional and contemporary musical forms, including jazz, working songs, sea shanties, folk, country and pop. More importantly, this unique creative collaboration, elevates the stories at its core ensuring they continue to be shared and remembered.

Flow was recorded live, in the historic Royal Whanganui Opera House in early January 2022 with accompanists Andrew Wetherall, Hamish Jellyman, Brad McMillan and Elise Goodge.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Flow Collective

Releases

Flow
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Torn Chorus - Single Review: The Meaning of Light/Rhythm of Sound
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Torn Chorus is Franklin Davis, an Auckland-based songwriter, musician, and photographer, who provides bass, various guitars, and vocals. This is about how he perceives the world through light and sound, as a photographer and musician.
Read More...
Moofish - Single/Video Review: Ash Tree Lament
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must confess to knowing very little about MOoFiSh apart from that they are a duo of Rhonda Hofmans Johnson and Chris Fish Johnson, and while Rhonda is the lead singer I don’t know if they create all the music themselves or if other musicians are involved. They have been releasing music since 2018, and my first thought on playing on this was “how on earth am I going to be able to describe this”?
Read More...
Shadowcaster - Single Review: Cast a Shadow
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is a band when it comes to performing live, in the studio Shadowcaster is a one-man affair with Trent Graham performing all manner of guitars and some keyboards. While it contains elements of the likes of Mumford & Sons there is also a very definite nod to The Levellers and our very own Albi & The Wolves (although with no violin).
Read More...
STATES - Single/Video Review: Hostage
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It has been a year since States released their last single, Relentless, but they were caught up in the COVID lockdowns and even though they recorded drum tracks at the end of 2020 they were unable to complete the songs. However, they are in the studio right now with Zorran Mendonsa (Devilskin, Coridian, City of Souls, Blacklistt) and hopefully they will be releasing material throughout the rest of the year as if this is anything to go by then we are on for a treat.
Read More...
Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem