21 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Revulva - Single Review: One Puff Wonder

15 Mar 2022 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Revulva are an eight-piece band from Wellington who describe themselves as “nu-wave, nu-jazz, nu-pop”. A jazzy-pop octet who have just released their third single One Puff Wonder, which follows on from debut singles Sniffy Lady and Turning Out and builds on the foundation for their up and coming EP Girls Gotta Eat, set to be released late March 22.


One Puff Wonder
is a story about pretending to smoke, which I didn’t even think was a thing in 2022. The motivation behind the song is the infamous San Fran balcony on Wednesday evening in Wellington. Behind the light-hearted delivery of this song is a thought-provoking message.

Revulva have a groovy, jazzy sound offering multiple textured layers which only a full band can deliver. One Puff Wonder gives you a complete jazz/blues flavour, it cruises along smoothly a perfect accompaniment for Phoebe Johnson's melodic undulating vocals and brilliant horn section.

I would be showing my age if I said, it took me a few listens to grab the vibe of the track, I had never heard of nu-jazz or nu-pop and last time I indulged in “pretend smoking” ‘was way back in the mid-eighties sitting in a tree when I accidentally inhaled and fell out from dizziness. Having said that One Puff Wonder is fresh and funky with a certain sassy appeal.

There is no doubt Revulva are a talented bunch of musicians who offer up a modern take on traditional jazz/pop combining ultra-cool and cohesive instrumentals, original engaging lyrics, and warm soothing vocals. One Puff Wonder is mixed by Toby Lloyd of Tiny Triumph Recordings and mastered by Chris Chetland of KOG Studios.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Revulva

Revulva is a femme-lead soul, funk, disco eight-piece hailing from Te Whanganui-a-Tara. Making a scene since 2020, Revulva have been turning heads at their theatrical and epic live shows performing at festivals such as 121 Festival, Tora Bombora, Nest Fest, Welcome To Nowhere, Twisted Frequency among many more.

Revulva released their debut EP Girl's Gotta Eat mid-2022 to rave-reviews and an SRN 'Best EP' nomination. Their last release This Town remained in the NZ SRN and Hot Singles charts for months while the band toured the single up and down the country. Revulva is sitting on a lot of material and are scheming to release it into the world.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Revulva

Releases

Girl's Gotta Eat
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Ersha Island - EP Review: Back To Our Roots
29 Feb 2024 // by Corinne Rutherford
Classically trained duo Dani and Tee are Ersha Island, Auckland based musicians with a contemporary style which has been described as indie-folk. They began their journey in Guangzhou, China on Ersha Island, hence their name.
Read More...
Eden Mulholland - Album Review: A Bee Might Bite My Nose
21 Dec 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Funny, Kooky and gently melancholic at times is one description of respected Australasian composer, songwriter and collaborator Eden Mulholland (Ngati Porou). His most recent release is channeled by a very cute teddy bear.
Read More...
Jessica Leigh - EP Review: Lightbeam
03 Nov 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Nelsonian, singer, songwriter and producer Jessica Leigh has recently released her third EP Lightbeam. Changing tack from her previous EP in 2021, the acoustic guitars and strings have given way to full synthpop sound with an 80's inspired vibe.
Read More...
Michèle Ducray - EP Review: Throne Of Mine
05 Oct 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mysterious and sinister themes such as horror combined with the colourful characteristics of circus life are the inspiration behind emerging dark-pop artist Michèle Ducray's debut EP Throne Of Mine. The balance of both dark and light create a fresh and original sound that is complex as it is identifiable.
Read More...
Sam Heselwood - EP Review: Home Is Where The Heart Is
19 Sep 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Ex rugby player turned singer-songwriter Sam Heselwood has recently released his 5 track EP Home Is Where The Heart Is. Originally from Christchurch, the indie-pop musician has delivered poignant, beautifully composed music which aims straight for the heart.
Read More...
Strawpeople - Album Review: Knucklebones
29 Aug 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
For the first time in 19 years, slick electro-pop duo Strawpeople (Fiona McDonald ex-The Headless Chickens, and Paul Casserly) have released an album sparking early 2000's nostalgia. Knucklebones is a fusion of their iconic sound mixed with a collection of entirely new material.
Read More...
Sofia Machray - EP Review: Language Of Flowers
01 Aug 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Sofia Machray has been described as an “eclectic master of indie singer-songwriter gone rouge,” her recently released debut EP Language Of Flowers consists of 6 ethereal indie dream-rock tracks which have been beautifully constructed. Inspired by her love of flowers in particular the similarity in evolution between human nature from tiny seed to full bloom.
Read More...
Mitch and his Guitar - Single Review: Mine In My Mind
18 Jul 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mitch and his Guitar is a solo musical artist from Hawera in Taranaki, diversifying from wedding singing to deliver original soft pop songs inspired by the likes of Ed Sheeran, Passenger and Hollow Coves. Mine In My Mind is one of three tracks which will be followed by his debut album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • SATURN
    SZA
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem