18 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bevan Mical - Album Review: Exhausting The Muse

07 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

For anyone who has come across Bevan Mical’s single, Weekend, we now have an album which is very similar in style and approach to that song, which is one of the 11 songs in the set. When I reviewed that previously, I said it needed repeated playing to get the most out of it, but somewhat strangely the familiarity throughout the album works in the same way, so that the more one gets through this the more there is to enjoy. Bevan famously said that he is inspired by all forms of music from Fraggle Rock to Eminem, Crowded House to P!nk, and one can certainly imagine this music being featured on Jim Henson’s show. It may be naive, with some dated drum machine at times, but the vocals and acoustic guitar combined with keyboards is incredibly catchy and there are plenty of hooks and fun to be had.

There are little lyrical and musical jokes here and there as well. For example, during Me, there is the line Silence is Golden, so the song immediately stops for a couple of seconds and then starts up again as if nothing had happened. Contrast the lyrics in that song to You!!!, which are far more suitable to hardcore or extreme metal than pop, although again there is a twist in the last line. It is only by listening to a complete album that one really understands Bevan’s approach, in that while there are strong similarities in the songs which carry throughout, this adds to the homeliness and instead of diminishing, adds to the overall effect.

This is lightweight alternative pop music which must be enjoyed for what it is, simple and with no deep layers to be uncovered. That in itself is somewhat refreshing, as what you hear from Bevan in the first song is pretty much what you are going to get through the whole album. There is no show, this is straightforward, with Bevan being honest, so what you hear is what you get and this certainly grows on you by the end.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Bevan Mical

Moved to his Grandparents in Thames, New Zealand after his Mother died at a young age.
Raised by a conservative family but he has developed his own semi liberal way of looking at life.
Music was discovered all alone and by himself alongside being taught how to work hard and look after yourself.
Kind, caring and humble, he is married to a supportive & loving wife.
Bevan works a regular 9 to 5 during the week & every chance he gets he likes to infuse his music with a little bit of everything.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bevan Mical

Releases

Exhausting The Muse
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Swinging Through Trees
Year: 2020
Type: Album
One At A Time
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Sam Bartells - Single Review: Bring You Down
17 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam Bartells is back with his new single Bring You Down, which finds him taking quite a different approach to Where We'll Go, which also featured Mema Wilda. Whereas he normally sits quite happily within alt country, here we see him using that as a base and then moving in a much rockier direction.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - EP Review: Deceit
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that a band can say they have had the same line-up for more than 10 years, but Auckland metal act Downfall of Humanity can claim just that. Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums) have a reputation for always delivering the goods, and I count myself lucky to have caught them a few times in the last year.
Read More...
The Rocky Bay Midnights - Album Review: Songs About People We Know
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Rocky Bay Midnights are a Waiheke Island-based group who first started some three years ago when Meredith Wilkie (vocals, percussion) and Kyla Dyresen (keyboard/piano) were both independently looking for musicians, to work with, and decided to form a band together. It took quite a while for them to settle on the current line-up of Simon McDowell (drums), Dione Denize (bass) and Julion Wright (guitar, saxophone) and now they have just released their debut album.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Obsessed
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although Iveta & Simone have been around for a few years, this single is the first time I have come across them. When it commenced, I felt we were in for some sort of electronic dance music, but I soon realized that in many ways they remind me much more of the Eighties band Yazoo.
Read More...
Shihad - Album Review: Old Gods
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt that Shihad are the Kiwi rock band who should have broken America 20 years ago, and if it wasn’t for a series of unfortunate events such as the attack on the Twin Towers, which caused the band to change their name (Shihad being too close to Jihad, but while Pacifier may have seemed a good idea on paper, it wasn’t and they eventually switched back), or accidently upsetting virtually every record label at a showcase gig, then they would have been. The first time I saw Shihad was at Western Springs opening for AC/DC, and there is no doubt that the guys were blown away by the reaction, as it seemed that although everyone was there for the main event, they were all diehard Shihad fans as well, singing along to every song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem