5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jeivenchy - Single Review: 360

29 Sep 2021 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Take some heartbreak. Write it down. Sing it alongside an upbeat synthy track. Profit $$$.

Such is the method of Te Whanganui a Tara / Wellington’s Jeivenchy (not to be confused with Givenchy, the high-end fashion and fragrance house).

The result is a solid pop banger in the same vein as The Weeknd.

What does that mean? Imagine a catchy 00’s Pop/R&B soundtrack behind the moment before a breakup.

But, despite the subject matter, it’s not all whinge, not least because of the danceablity of the track. There’s some clever word play in there too. It’s refreshing to see modern terms like ‘seenzone’ – i.e. when your message is seen by the other person, but they don’t respond – used in music.

Recommended for fans of Jeivenchy’s previous album, Seenzoned, or those familiar with toxic relationships.

You can find Jeivenchy’s 360 on Spotify. Be sure to also listen out for their work on Wellington Indie darling's Hybrid Rose’s new release.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Jeivenchy

Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses. His sound combines the elements of pop, dance, electronic and R&B. In 2021, Jeivenchy released I’m Leavin, an angsty rap track which spawned 2000 streams and 360, described by muzic.net as "00’s Pop/R&B soundtrack, a solid pop banger in the same vein as The Weeknd".

Jeivenchy is set to release a new single Mario Kart on 29 October, a sensual hyper pop track from his upcoming album, Baggage Claim. Baggage Claim is set for release on February 2022, produced by Wellington Indie’s darling, Hybrid Rose.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jeivenchy

Releases

Fatal Attraction
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Seenzoned
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Bite the Wax Tadpole
14 Sep 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
The Hopkinsville Goblins is always a challenging review. If you want it done right, you really need some hard-broiled journalist from a bygone era on the job, not some gumshoe with a grudge like me.
Read More...
Young Moon - EP Review: Paraverbal Orchids
06 Sep 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is this Japanese art form called Kintsugi – Golden Joinery – which is a method of mending cracks in broken pottery with gold. The idea is that the broken pieces are part of the object’s history, so are something to remember rather than something to hide.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: Locksmith
31 Aug 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
Across their body of work, Imposter Syndrome have been known for their blurring of the lines between sub-genres and laying waste to the traditional ideas of song structure. Well, that’s what they’re known for to me at least.
Read More...
Rhombus - Album Review: After Party
26 May 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I was wearing a New Zealand Music Month hoodie the other week. Upon seeing it, my niece gleefully exclaimed “You’ve got the year I was born on your hoodie.
Read More...
Fear Up Harsh - Album Review: Fear Up Harsh (II)
28 Mar 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a rumour that, when played simultaneously, Fear Up Harsh (II) syncs perfectly with Jim Jarmusch’s The Limits of Control. The rumour is a lie of course, like many rumours are, but you’d be forgiven for believing it.
Read More...
Western Dip - Album Review: Warm Ups
08 Feb 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been over a decade since I thought “I might listen to some techno”. Probably longer since EDM was even called techno… And even then, the genre was never the main event.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Closer
08 Dec 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Here is yet another track that takes me back to the early-90;s. The days of our family following Vince Leatherby, the Happy Wanderer, around the Kiwi country music circuit.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Mundivagrants
12 Oct 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Mundivagrants is a weird release. Probably one of the strangest I’ve had to review.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem