19 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm

21 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here. Right from the first notes I was hugely impressed, which got me wondering what else the guys may have done, as I was convinced there must be a huge catalogue I was missing out on, so I jumped over to Spotify to have a look. There are some more tracks there, and the one which stood out straight away was King of Wishful Thinking, and as soon as I saw that, this EP made even move sense, as while I had already picked up on the likes of Steve Earle, Marc Cohn and Steve Knightley as influences, the missing element was Go West.

There is something about an acoustic guitar and vocals, which to my mind it is one of the purest forms of music there is, with no room for anyone to hide. When combined with good material and strong production it can be an incredibly powerful emotional experience, and that is certainly what we have here. Based around Joe and Chris, the band is completed by drummer Damian Hilt and bassist Jake Love, with these guys understanding that it is often won’t they don’t play as much as what they do which makes the difference. This means we have arrangements which keep Chris always to the fore, providing support but never dominating his voice, but providing the contrast and dynamics to lift it even further. This is particularly true of Too Far Away, where the full band are involved, with Joe even giving us some delicate Chris Rea/David Gilmour style electric, and Chris allowing some roughness to come into his voice.

Opening track Love Like That is the highlight, with the guitar and vocals emphasized by some gentle keyboards and female backing vocals. It commences gently with picked acoustic and plenty of vocal reverb, but as the song builds it becomes more dramatic, until Joe is riffing, and Chris is starting to push. This is one of those songs which hits the listener within the first few seconds, yet just continues to develop. Jake and Damian are in for the second verse, an electric guitar comes in near the end of the chorus, and although the song drops in emphasis for each verse, it is always at a higher level than it was previously. Towards the end this song has become huge, with a massive sound and dynamics, and then it suddenly drops away to what it was at the beginning. Not only is this a wonderful song, with great hooks, but it has a superb arrangement.

The only issue with this four-track EP is simply that, it is an EP., there is not a week song to be heard, with every one of them a gem. I am so looking forward to hearing a full album from these guys, but until then, this EP is simply essential.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ravenhall

With a profound blend of passionate acoustic guitar-driven tunes and poignant storytelling, Ravenhall, hailing from the heart of New Zealand, speaks directly to the hearts of their listeners. Founding members Joe Ravenhall and Chris Brebner, both seasoned veterans of Auckland's vibrant music scene, have been collaborating for years, bringing a wealth of experience to their project. Ravenhall isn't just a band; it's a musical journey, an exploration of emotional lyricism and open-hearted melodies that drew them to music in the first place. Together, they've crafted over a hundred songs, each contributing a dynamic personality to enrich the band's distinctive sound.

Officially debuting in 2015 with the release of their single Everything To Me, Ravenhall has since expanded their signature sound through a series of singles, cultivating a devoted audience across New Zealand. In 2021, they released their EP The Coming Storm, showcasing their intricately crafted songwriting and reaching new listeners both in their home country and beyond.

Excitingly, Ravenhall is gearing up for a major milestone with the release of their much-anticipated 10-song debut album Brother, scheduled for February 9th, 2024. Their previous project, Live at Brebs Bar, a live album featuring accompanying videos, hit all digital platforms in May 2023. Ravenhall continues to push the boundaries of traditional singer/songwriter music, creating a sound that is not only wholly authentic but also entirely unique. Get ready to embark on a musical journey with Ravenhall, where every note is an invitation to connect and feel.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ravenhall

Releases

Brother
Year: 2024
Type: Album
Live at Brebs Bar
Year: 2023
Type: Album
The Coming Storm
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Wild Hearts
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Straight Up
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem