4 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

John Martin - Album Review: Zealander

14 Sep 2021 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Drummer/Singer and multi-instrumentalist; John Martin has just released his third album Zealander. His love of strong pop melodies and James Brown covers shine through on this album mingling with his uniquely upbeat sound. Zealander was just the musical tonic I needed to combat any “Groundhog Day” blues.


Years of playing James Brown covers has given John Martin's music a smooth retro pop vibe and has helped him develop his own refreshing, funky pop electronica sound which shines on this 11-track album. Album artwork was taken by John of a custom 3D model of himself “the Zealander” in a variety of spectacular Wellington locations, which is engaging.

John Martin has an era of musical expertise which has broadened to include the keyboard, bass and guitar. When he felt the urge to write his own music he could “barely string three chords together” however following the punk ethos of ‘I’ll just do it anyway’, John set out to write and record his music. The result is smooth vocals over well written lyrics reflecting his own viewpoint on life. Tight instrumentals and clean recording lend for an enjoyable listening experience.

Launching into it with The Best Song In The World with a strong indication that this was going to be some good nostalgic sounding original 80s synth pop recrafted into a modern 2021 sound.

Moving through Zealander, I could hear the James Brown influence was strong, particularly on Living The Dream, an electronic pop song with a good amount of synth, cowbell and happy vibes.

Track 5 Man Child offered up a curve ball, from the very first chord I was reminded of Talking Heads. More David Byrne, less James Brown.

Each track threw out a funky pop vibe laden with synth. I found Zealander to be refreshing and multidimensional, I heard tones of James Brown, David Byrne and even a hint of David Bowie on the last track, Put It In A Song. This album was like a long walk on the beach during a warm Summer day, it made me feel sunny inside. Which is what we all need right about now.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About John Martin

Hailing from the south coast of Wellington, multi-instrumentalist song writer John Martin uses his years of experience playing in a multitude of bands to produce his own unique blend of music.

Starting out in the nineties as the singing drummer for Wildside act Emulsifier, John has gone on to produce his own albums with his third and latest, Zealander featuring a video for the single The Best Song In The World. Several years in the making, these songs reflect John's outlook on life and a certain punk DIY attitude towards the label multi-instrumentalist as well as a new found sense of identity in this Covid world. The album artwork is a series of photographs taken by John of a custom 3D model of himself, "the Zealander" in a variety of spectacular Wellington locations. The album is available for stream/download from MeotropeMusic on Bandcamp.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for John Martin

Releases

Zealander
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Colette Rivers - Single/Video Review: Memory Lake
08 May 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand-American indie folk artist Colette Rivers has just released a video for her latest song Memory Lake. The video was filmed on the shores of Lake Taupo and is also the theme of her song.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Album Review: Hyperkunt
14 Apr 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based electronic artist Hybrid Rose has just dropped her fifth album which goes by the no nonsense name of Hyperkunt. A futuristic cyberspace like character with attitude occasionally courting controversy, Hybrid Rose continues to deliver inspiring original dance tunes infused with an abundance of attitude.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Count Me Out
31 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based young singer-songwriter Sabreen Islam, has just released the third and final instalment of her “pop trifecta” the last of three songs called Count Me Out. A light and airy original based around being stood up on a first date.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: One Puff Wonder
15 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Revulva are an eight-piece band from Wellington who describe themselves as “nu-wave, nu-jazz, nu-pop”. A jazzy-pop octet who have just released their third single One Puff Wonder, which follows on from debut singles Sniffy Lady and Turning Out and builds on the foundation for their up and coming EP Girls Gotta Eat, set to be released late March 22.
Read More...
David Kirby - EP Review: Songs To Depress Your Dog
09 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally from Middlesbrough UK now based in Wellington, David Kirby is a singer/songwriter focusing on the unusual musical combination of folk/folk-punk acoustic songs. Songs to Depress Your Dog is Kirby's second EP, following on from his 2020 debut EP Can’t Move For Doom.
Read More...
Little Ripples - Single Review: Little Bee
23 Feb 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Little Ripples are a children's music act from Whangarei Heads comprising of Sam and Emily Benges, plus their youngest son Arlo. The trio have recently released the first song from their album In My Garden.
Read More...
The Wax Birds - Single Review: Kansas
11 Feb 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Based in Oxford Canterbury, smooth sounding acoustic duo The Wax Birds have just released their latest single Kansas. This is the follow up to their first album Slow Rise released in 2020, which impressed me with a lush country/folk mix of beautiful harmony and gentle flowing guitar.
Read More...
Neutrikk - EP Review: E-P 2
08 Dec 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland duo Neutrikk have just released their second EP. Cleverly called E-P 2, I must admit to spending longer than I should have trying to find the name of the EP in the Bio.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem