20 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Disciple Pati - Single/Video Review: Serious

19 Aug 2021 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland’s newest pop/RnB powerhouse Disciple Pati has just released her latest single Serious, along with a “revenge fantasy” style music video which the artist explains as “channeled my violent inner sadist for this moment so y’all don’t have to”. The video ultimately is about getting payback after a production meeting doesn’t go according to plan.


The song took some time before it kicked in, but I could see instantly which direction it was going.

I was delighted to hear the track finally emerge after the lengthy verbal prologue into a rich bassy sound, which after a few spins started to grow on me.

My guess is the lyrics came from personal experience. She is pissed off. If you doubted that for even a second, watch the video. It was directed and choreographed well, however if I do have a violent inner sadist, it stubbornly refused to be channeled. Not to say that others won’t love it, apparently revenge fantasy is the latest in hot music videos.

There was another suspense building moment around 3.17 when the music starts to fade out quietly before belting out into sexy pop infused crescendo.

She has a powerful RnB voice which can easily bridge genres. With a rich musical heritage, listening to her father and brothers perform with different instruments and “jamming to artists like Steely Dan and the Doobie Brothers”, Disciple Pati has developed the ability to develop her own unique sound as a singer songwriter, whilst incorporating her influences with the music.

Created with producer Edy, Serious is a fierce track aiming to make a strong point without pulling any punches.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Disciple Pati

My name is not actually Disciple, it's Pati. I have Disciple in my handle because I be taking you to church.

Photo Credit: Chris Zwaagdyk @ ZED Pics


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Disciple Pati

Releases

There are no releases to display for Disciple Pati.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Neutrikk - EP Review: E-P 2
08 Dec 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland duo Neutrikk have just released their second EP. Cleverly called E-P 2, I must admit to spending longer than I should have trying to find the name of the EP in the Bio.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Like A Movie
16 Nov 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based young singer-songwriter Sabreen Islam has just released her follow up single to Glow in the trilogy of pop-oriented singles. Like A Movie is a track firmly aimed at the youth market "capturing the rift between romcoms and real life".
Read More...
Alba Rose - EP Review: Silhouette
12 Nov 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based singer songwriter Alba Rose has released her lush four track EP, Silhouette. A beautifully rich collection of soulful jazz, contemporary in its delivery incorporating an indie-pop and neo-soul sound wrapped around playful harmonious lyrics.
Read More...
Older - Album Review: HUMAN+
31 Oct 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Waikato based British producer Jel Legg and Kiwi singer Julie Legg are Post Punk band Older. Following on from their debut album Silence (2019) is their anticipated second album HUMAN+, which is due for release 1st November 2021.
Read More...
John Martin - Album Review: Zealander
14 Sep 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Drummer/Singer and multi-instrumentalist; John Martin has just released his third album Zealander. His love of strong pop melodies and James Brown covers shine through on this album mingling with his uniquely upbeat sound.
Read More...
Valentina - Album Review: Renaissance
10 Aug 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Transgressive vocalist and producer Valentina, has just released her debut album Renaissance. Described as a "Hyperpop album", it is filled with wonder, exploring a diverse range of genres such as Bubblegum Pop, UK Garage, Techno, 90's House with elements of Classical and Baroque.
Read More...
Compilation Review: Blood And Wires Volume Two
20 Jul 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent record label Tauranga based Blood And Wires have released Volume Two, the second instalment in a series of original electronic and experimental tracks which takes the listener on a journey through distorted synths through to serene ambient instrumentation. Blood And Wires Volume Two combines the talent of 8 talented New Zealand artists united by the idea of an experimental approach to creating music.
Read More...
Aanvi . S - Single Review: Music Is My Religion
22 Jun 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aanvi S is possibly New Zealand’s youngest singer / songwriter, who at just nine has released her debut single Music Is My Religion. Encouragement from her family and friends has seen her blossom into a prolific songwriter inspired by her poetry.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem