20 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Valentina - Album Review: Renaissance

10 Aug 2021 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Transgressive vocalist and producer Valentina, has just released her debut album Renaissance. Described as a "Hyperpop album", it is filled with wonder, exploring a diverse range of genres such as Bubblegum Pop, UK Garage, Techno, 90's House with elements of Classical and Baroque. You know when all those elements combine, that you are in for an interesting aural experience.

Within the quirky mix of genres and candid lyrics, is still the cyber-pop sound of the artist formerly known as Hybrid Rose. Incorporating fresh progressive lyrics with tight beats, touches of soul and a futuristic sound Renaissance is a creation of many uniquely wonderful layers.

Opening track, the empowering tonight I’m Gonna Be My Own Hero is an introduction to the robotic like vocal sounds. Gently easing you into the album (or not so gently, as the case may be).

As I moved through Renaissance my initial impression was, you will either love it or you won’t. The more I listened to the album the more I heard, and the more I heard made me realise it most certainly was not black and white.

Track two ignited the old 90’s techno spark in me. The Kuntess is a solid tune with a clean, catchy dance beat. This is a personal favourite drawing me in with frank lyrics incorporating the trippy robotic sound which weaves through a majority of the tracks.

As we progress, the addition of feature artists make an appearance. Wouldn’t You Like To Know (feat. Hazel Rose), Level Up (feat. LOZ), and finally The New Empress (feat. XTIE).

The latest single and third off the ranks from her upcoming body of work, Wouldn’t You Like To Know (feat. Hazel Rose) tells "an explicit story of exploitation and fetishization around transgender-identifying people in society". Hazel Rose is a US Rapper based in San Francisco with a strong following and powerful voice. With many strings to her bow, Hazel Rose is also a talented songwriter, recording artist, producer, facilitator and multimedia creative. Wouldn’t You Like To Know is a gritty track where both artists complement each other vocally, accompanied by a backdrop of glitchy futuristic sound. This track is another strong single to be released off the album.

The title track Renaissance, appears toward the end of the album as an instrumental classical score which adds another layer of depth to this wondrously unpredictable soundscape.

Renaissance is unexpectedly weird yet wonderful in an unpredictable unique way. Loads of trippy synth and captivating beats, with a touch of fragmented ethereal low-fi. Valentina has successfully taken "celestial shimmery synth-pop from the 80's", and turned it on its head.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Valentina

Wellington based Transgressive Pop-star Valentina brings you all things soft and sweet. The up and coming artist is the epitome lovechild between Charli XCX and Haruomi Hosono. Exploring celestial shimmery synth-pop from the 80's.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Valentina

Releases

Renaissance
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Neutrikk - EP Review: E-P 2
08 Dec 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland duo Neutrikk have just released their second EP. Cleverly called E-P 2, I must admit to spending longer than I should have trying to find the name of the EP in the Bio.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Like A Movie
16 Nov 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based young singer-songwriter Sabreen Islam has just released her follow up single to Glow in the trilogy of pop-oriented singles. Like A Movie is a track firmly aimed at the youth market "capturing the rift between romcoms and real life".
Read More...
Alba Rose - EP Review: Silhouette
12 Nov 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based singer songwriter Alba Rose has released her lush four track EP, Silhouette. A beautifully rich collection of soulful jazz, contemporary in its delivery incorporating an indie-pop and neo-soul sound wrapped around playful harmonious lyrics.
Read More...
Older - Album Review: HUMAN+
31 Oct 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Waikato based British producer Jel Legg and Kiwi singer Julie Legg are Post Punk band Older. Following on from their debut album Silence (2019) is their anticipated second album HUMAN+, which is due for release 1st November 2021.
Read More...
John Martin - Album Review: Zealander
14 Sep 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Drummer/Singer and multi-instrumentalist; John Martin has just released his third album Zealander. His love of strong pop melodies and James Brown covers shine through on this album mingling with his uniquely upbeat sound.
Read More...
Disciple Pati - Single/Video Review: Serious
19 Aug 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland’s newest pop/RnB powerhouse Disciple Pati has just released her latest single Serious, along with a “revenge fantasy” style music video which the artist explains as “channeled my violent inner sadist for this moment so y’all don’t have to”. The video ultimately is about getting payback after a production meeting doesn’t go according to plan.
Read More...
Compilation Review: Blood And Wires Volume Two
20 Jul 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent record label Tauranga based Blood And Wires have released Volume Two, the second instalment in a series of original electronic and experimental tracks which takes the listener on a journey through distorted synths through to serene ambient instrumentation. Blood And Wires Volume Two combines the talent of 8 talented New Zealand artists united by the idea of an experimental approach to creating music.
Read More...
Aanvi . S - Single Review: Music Is My Religion
22 Jun 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aanvi S is possibly New Zealand’s youngest singer / songwriter, who at just nine has released her debut single Music Is My Religion. Encouragement from her family and friends has seen her blossom into a prolific songwriter inspired by her poetry.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem