17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Valentina - Album Review: Renaissance

10 Aug 2021 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Transgressive vocalist and producer Valentina, has just released her debut album Renaissance. Described as a "Hyperpop album", it is filled with wonder, exploring a diverse range of genres such as Bubblegum Pop, UK Garage, Techno, 90's House with elements of Classical and Baroque. You know when all those elements combine, that you are in for an interesting aural experience.

Within the quirky mix of genres and candid lyrics, is still the cyber-pop sound of the artist formerly known as Hybrid Rose. Incorporating fresh progressive lyrics with tight beats, touches of soul and a futuristic sound Renaissance is a creation of many uniquely wonderful layers.

Opening track, the empowering tonight I’m Gonna Be My Own Hero is an introduction to the robotic like vocal sounds. Gently easing you into the album (or not so gently, as the case may be).

As I moved through Renaissance my initial impression was, you will either love it or you won’t. The more I listened to the album the more I heard, and the more I heard made me realise it most certainly was not black and white.

Track two ignited the old 90’s techno spark in me. The Kuntess is a solid tune with a clean, catchy dance beat. This is a personal favourite drawing me in with frank lyrics incorporating the trippy robotic sound which weaves through a majority of the tracks.

As we progress, the addition of feature artists make an appearance. Wouldn’t You Like To Know (feat. Hazel Rose), Level Up (feat. LOZ), and finally The New Empress (feat. XTIE).

The latest single and third off the ranks from her upcoming body of work, Wouldn’t You Like To Know (feat. Hazel Rose) tells "an explicit story of exploitation and fetishization around transgender-identifying people in society". Hazel Rose is a US Rapper based in San Francisco with a strong following and powerful voice. With many strings to her bow, Hazel Rose is also a talented songwriter, recording artist, producer, facilitator and multimedia creative. Wouldn’t You Like To Know is a gritty track where both artists complement each other vocally, accompanied by a backdrop of glitchy futuristic sound. This track is another strong single to be released off the album.

The title track Renaissance, appears toward the end of the album as an instrumental classical score which adds another layer of depth to this wondrously unpredictable soundscape.

Renaissance is unexpectedly weird yet wonderful in an unpredictable unique way. Loads of trippy synth and captivating beats, with a touch of fragmented ethereal low-fi. Valentina has successfully taken "celestial shimmery synth-pop from the 80's", and turned it on its head.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Valentina

Wellington based Transgressive Pop-star Valentina brings you all things soft and sweet. The up and coming artist is the epitome lovechild between Charli XCX and Haruomi Hosono. Exploring celestial shimmery synth-pop from the 80's.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Valentina

Releases

Renaissance
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Big Scout - Single Review: How Lovely
07 Jul 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Self-proclaimed “Hillbillies in Hiluxes” Big Scout from Blenheim (Jim Tannock, Mathew Hellriegel and Gregg Slatter) are an original 3-piece band full of loud fast paced energy that may (or may not) be post punk (not to be pigeonholed). The band's third single off their up-and-coming debut album Council Sport is How Lovely, an assault on your senses in the best way.
Read More...
Colette Rivers - Single/Video Review: Memory Lake
08 May 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand-American indie folk artist Colette Rivers has just released a video for her latest song Memory Lake. The video was filmed on the shores of Lake Taupo and is also the theme of her song.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Album Review: Hyperkunt
14 Apr 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based electronic artist Hybrid Rose has just dropped her fifth album which goes by the no nonsense name of Hyperkunt. A futuristic cyberspace like character with attitude occasionally courting controversy, Hybrid Rose continues to deliver inspiring original dance tunes infused with an abundance of attitude.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Count Me Out
31 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based young singer-songwriter Sabreen Islam, has just released the third and final instalment of her “pop trifecta” the last of three songs called Count Me Out. A light and airy original based around being stood up on a first date.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: One Puff Wonder
15 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Revulva are an eight-piece band from Wellington who describe themselves as “nu-wave, nu-jazz, nu-pop”. A jazzy-pop octet who have just released their third single One Puff Wonder, which follows on from debut singles Sniffy Lady and Turning Out and builds on the foundation for their up and coming EP Girls Gotta Eat, set to be released late March 22.
Read More...
David Kirby - EP Review: Songs To Depress Your Dog
09 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally from Middlesbrough UK now based in Wellington, David Kirby is a singer/songwriter focusing on the unusual musical combination of folk/folk-punk acoustic songs. Songs to Depress Your Dog is Kirby's second EP, following on from his 2020 debut EP Can’t Move For Doom.
Read More...
Little Ripples - Single Review: Little Bee
23 Feb 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Little Ripples are a children's music act from Whangarei Heads comprising of Sam and Emily Benges, plus their youngest son Arlo. The trio have recently released the first song from their album In My Garden.
Read More...
The Wax Birds - Single Review: Kansas
11 Feb 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Based in Oxford Canterbury, smooth sounding acoustic duo The Wax Birds have just released their latest single Kansas. This is the follow up to their first album Slow Rise released in 2020, which impressed me with a lush country/folk mix of beautiful harmony and gentle flowing guitar.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem