10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Gig Review: Come Together: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road - Civic Theatre, Auckland - 17/07/2021

Gig Review: Come Together: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road - Civic Theatre, Auckland - 17/07/2021

18 Jul 2021 // A review by Roger Bowie

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road was never my favourite Elton John record, even though it turns out to be everyone else’s.

At 76 minutes, it was long for its day, a ramshackle, mixed metaphor affair which reflected the prolific nature of the John/Taupin creative partnership in the early 70s, seven albums in five years, too many songs and too much excitement to attempt to cull and reject. My recall is that once you got to side 3, you wanted to stop, hence in those vinyl days the first few songs (sides 1 & 2) were the ones I heard. I never even bought the bloody album, I’d had enough after the dizzy heights of Tumbleweed Connection and the recovery from two average efforts with Don’t Shoot Me, I’m Only The Piano Player, an album which exceeded even the promise of its title. Didn’t need to buy it, everyone else had it! And I was diving deeper into prog while Elton was heading towards disco via rock n roll, and so we parted company, as if he cared.

But as the years went by, and the anthems became anthems, especially after Funeral For a Friend (how did he know?) I felt the need to revisit my apathy and ended up with a bloody CD, which was poor quality at that, and so did little by way of resurrection. At least I got to know sides 3 and 4.

So tonight, as Liberty Stage brought another classic album to the stage, with a cluster of New Zealand’s finest and newest, will this coming together bring redemption?

Redemption for Elton John came to me in the late 80’s, with Sleeping with the Past, after trying a couple of early 80’s efforts and saying, in the vernacular of the time, today’s yeah, nah. And then in the early noughties, I saw him in Hong Kong, just him and a big white grand, with an orchestra under the lid. Not a concert I would have jumped at, but a ticket was on offer, and so I suspended disbelief, and was amazed at the resilience of the repertoire, hit after hit after hit, in intimate splendour, in a modest hall in China. And you would have sworn there was indeed an orchestra under the lid, such was the purity and lushness of the sound.

There’s no great white tonight, but the piano is stage left and centre, as a sombre entourage slips quietly on stage behind a trailing cloak, to reveal Matthias Jordan (Pluto) as the first version of Elton as the band sets us off with Funeral For a Friend, segueing into Love Lies Bleeding. Yes, this is classic after all; how many albums start off with 10 minutes like this? And Matthias (Jordan) John can sing !

Musical Director Jol Mulholland is on bass, Alastair Deverick on drums, there’s Guy Harrison (Miltones) on synth and occasional trumpet, and the ubiquitous Brett Adams on fabulous guitar. And behind them a bevy of Elton's, boys and girls and divas and rockers, testament to the vocal range and musical styles which the young Elton (the real one) mastered in his heyday.

Candle in the Wind: everyone knows it’s Marilyn, but everyone’s thinking of Di, and whose eyes go moist? And introducing Deva Mahal, daughter of Taj, who brings true diva quality to the song.

Laughton Kora is Benny, Luke Buda brings a suave and slightly camp Elton to the title track, Mel Parsons sings a song with no title, just words and a tune, and on comes the showman Elton, none other than Jon Toogood with a Grey Seal.

There’s a Sweet Painted Lady in the bevy, occasionally strumming on acoustic, and finally she comes forward, without any intro or outro (who forgot to do that?), but my neighbour saves the day with a “go Lou” and I correctly divine that this is Lou’ana, and she is indeed divine.

And on it goes, with the songs matching the strength of the singers, and of course they can all sing. And of course JT gets all the songs with the unwoke lyrics, songs you might not write today, because he’s a naughty boy anyway, and a splendid show-off. And as the album gets into the doldrums of sides 3 & 4, the strength of the band, and the interpretations of the singers, finally brings songs like All the Girls Love Alice, and Roy Rogers, and Social Disease, and Harmony to the fore, and all is forgiven, if not redeemed.

The album is over, and probably just in time, as the audience needs a break, in anticipation that the greatest hits are yet to come.

And so it does, The Bitch is Back, none other than Jon Toogood, and then everyone gets a turn at yet more greatest hits. Mel is just perfect as Daniel, Luke Buda John sits like a princess on an electric chair and yet someone does Save his life, Laughton Kora gets the biggest applause of the night (and there’s lots of it) by not letting the sun go down and finally, finally we get some classics from the first two albums, with Border Song and Take it to the Pilot just nailed by Deva Mahal, and Luke Buda with tremendous support from the choir on Tiny Dancer, probably the best song of the night.

Bennie and all his Jets come back for the finale and it’s over.

Marvellous night, great songs, great musicians, great singers. Everyone’s having a ball, and this Saturday night is definitely not for fighting.

Where did this show go………?

Maybe Lou’ana just stole it…….


Photos courtesy of Morgan Creative.
View the full gallery here.

 

Other Reviews By Roger Bowie

Jodi Vaughan - Album Review: For The Love of Country
05 Aug 2022 // by Roger Bowie
The moment Tennessee Dancing strikes up, we know we are in a deep country space. Somewhere just out of Nashville, maybe a famous farm, maybe an even more famous figure, but actually, no, fooled you, we’re in the country alright, but close to home, in our very own Waikato country.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Album Review: Tug of War
12 Jul 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Jenny Mitchell releases her third album on July 22nd. It’s Tug of War, a collection of sweet songs which see Jenny wear her heart on her sleeve and talk about all the pushes and pulls of a still young life where “things don’t always work out the way they do in your mind”.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miles Calder @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 2/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Roger Bowie
There’s a warm and welcoming atmosphere tonight in the Wine Cellar. It seems to be lighter along with the mood.
Read More...
Arun O'Connor - Album Review: Songs From The Reading Room
17 Jun 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Arun O’Connor is as good as gold when I speak to him in dark and gloomy Invercargill about his new album, his debut album, Songs From The Reading Room, which came out sneakily in late April.  You can see my interview with Arun in my interview series, ‘It’s a Wrap with Roger” here, but the dark and gloomy winter afternoon seems appropriate when you play the first song on the album, When the Darkness Comes Around.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tuning Fork Birthday @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 01/06/2022
03 Jun 2022 // by Roger Bowie
It’s the Tuning Fork’s birthday although it’s unaware. Inertness.
Read More...
Phil Doublet - Album Review: Journeyman
02 Jun 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Phil Doublet is yet another of our unsung heroes in terms of New Zealand musicians plying their trade under the radar. For forty years.
Read More...
Al Park - Album Review: Pony
26 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Last year it was a Rooster. This year it’s a Pony.
Read More...
Samuel Philip Cooper - Single Review: Forever Loved
12 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Somewhere, over the rainbow, Samuel Philip Cooper’s Nana is still sitting in her favourite chair, a grey-haired old lady with a hint of a smile enjoying the late afternoon sun dappling into her garden. In reality Samuel’s Nana passed away during lockdown and he never got to say goodbye.
Read More...
View All Articles By Roger Bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem