27 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Echo Children - Single Review: Our Parents Fixed It All

01 Sep 2020 // A review by Mike Alexander
With the beguiling This Was Our Fault EP and the bitter-sweetness of Flowers still lingering, Echo Children are proving as alluring as they are elusive to define on their latest single, Our Parents Fixed It All.

That might be because of the melting pot of nationalities – Amanda Larsson (Sweden), Niamh O'Flynn (Canada) and Oliver Young (Scotland) – that gives them such a sense of other-worldiness, beautifully infused in songs that sparkle like rare pop gems tinged with the earthiness of country and folk.

A lazy guitar melody introduces what is essentially a thoughtful double-edged lyric line – on the one hand it evokes,  in imagery,  a sense of gratitude for what has been inherited but there’s also a darker hint in Young’s sharp but slightly lingering delivery that suggests that appearances can be deceptive.

Each generation inherits and has to fix the problems of the generations that came before them. That presupposes we haven't run out of options and there is time available.   

The pause-for-thought nature of the chorus – "And we made it to the top and landed the summit on our very first shot not bad for the new bunch of kids on the block, we were born with the luckiest, born with the luckiest lot" – is topped off with some alluring vocal harmonies.

Whatever the lyrics conjure up for each individual, Our Parents Fixed It All, has the kind of 'pulling power' that the sirens of mythology used.   It’s open to interpretation whether that’s towards destruction or renewal.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Echo Children

Following in the long tradition of innovative New Zealand indie bands, Echo Children craft a distinctive sound by melding psychedelic pop harmonies with sharp alt-country songwriting.

They released their first EP This Was Our Fault in 2017, and have since made a name for themselves in Tamaki Makaurau’s vibrant live music scene, and completed two successful national tours.

In early 2020, the band released a new single Flowerbeds and announced their much awaited second EP, working with sound wizard Vivek Gabriel (Avantdale Bowling Club, Mice on Stilts).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Echo Children

Releases

This Was Our Fault
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Mahoney Harris - Single Review: The Shifting of the Light
19 Nov 2020 // by Mike Alexander
There's an evocative image conjured up early on in The Shifting of the Light that beautifully illustrates the underlying theme of letting go. In referring to "paradise ducks made for life returning to their bowers time after time" singer-songwriter Mahoney Harris might well be talking about 'soul-mates' or a similarly intimate relationship that felt as if it was meant to last but didn't.
Read More...
Eden Iris - Single Review: I Just Can't Turn It Off
12 Nov 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Having exorcised a few ghosts, so to speak, on her soul stirring 2018 EP Demons, Eden Iris is finally set to release her debut album next year. It’s been an age since the now LA-based, singer-songwriter first came to national attention through Mike Chunn’s Play It Strange competition.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Album Review: Moonlight Madness
29 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The official release date for Lou'ana's debut album is October 30. Whether by design or accident, it’s serendipitous.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Single Review: Good Things (All We Need)
22 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Feel-good grooves are part of Raw Collective’s DNA. The Wellington-based 10-piece have been sowing sunflower seeds of optimism and cheerfulness for many a year now and it seems the well of goodness never dries.
Read More...
Naircol - Album Review: Isolate
16 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Naircol is Tauranga-based synthesiser whizz Matt Hennessey. I like that it is an anagram of clarion because this is quite the impressive calling card.
Read More...
Bartells - EP Review: Let's Go
08 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Sam Bartells has a way with words. In an interview with Darryl Baser from Muzic.
Read More...
Stretch - Album Review: Our Dreams Are Changing
30 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Anthony Stretch’s debut album Bury All Horses was one of the most poignant, lyrically honest and captivating albums of 2017. It was a 'dark horse', so to speak, forged in loss and loneliness, and at times a sense of anguish as he contemplated the direction of his life beyond the clouds that seemed as if they would never lift.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Silver Cigarette Case
30 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
A defining moment for Mini Simmons occurred almost a year ago to the day when they performed a version of Benee’s Soaked at the 2019 Silver Scroll Awards. The New Zealand charting No 1 single made the cut when the 20 finalists were whittled down to five and, as has become tradition, it was covered by another artist on the night.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem