6 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Swerve City - Single/Video Review: Dangerous

08 Aug 2020 // A review by Kris Raven

My first initial thoughts after hearing & viewing the debut single by alternative rock collective Swerve City was how lead vocalist JP Carroll (Arrays, ex-Armed in Advance) has further elevated his frontman persona and status in a relatively new (2019) band full of strong and diverse musicians. His vocal approach particularly in the chorus I found was a big take away from previous known material and he is singing a little out of his comfort zone which is very cool to hear (and see). There is some aggression but he is having fun with it. Having the addition of a second guitar when utilised well is always a bonus, and having that in lead guitarist and vocalist Kevin Jack (ex-Fire at Will) has created a solid dynamic, a united duel guitar assault. The great part about this song is how it builds and introduces elements and players as it forms. I thought It was a very smart way to introduce their band to the world with a cover, so many massive bands and artists have started with this route and it can expose you to a bigger realm of listeners, particularly people searching for Big Data and similar electronic artists and then being thrown a rock alternative curve ball.

Swerve City has delivered it well. I particularly enjoyed bassist Shannon Collumb's (Impostor Syndrome) bass tone, it’s effectively a third guitar. Slick, crunchy and while distorted, it's not messy or overbearing. Never underestimate the sound of a good sounding bass or bass player for that matter. The bass drives the track while Kevin's guitar carries the melodic weaving licks and leads that have been well layered. Drummer Adam Forsyke is a strong force and carries the song in a relatively refined and effortless approach, however, I am definitely curious to see how he will take to the skins in future recordings.

In my musical ignorance I did know the original version of Dangerous prior to this review. Having listened since, I was further impressed by the Swerve City version and I have JP singing the chorus in my head over and over. I appreciate that they stayed true to initial rhythmic flow of the song in terms of the bass and the simple but effective drum patterns. But like any good cover or adaption, they put their mark all over it, I liked the half time chorus which breaks it up a little and Kevin's solo at the end gave the song further elevation without taking away from the overall vibe.

The video for this track is simple, which I think It needed to be. It introduces Swerve City to the world and we get to be on the first wave with them. The addition of their logo/mascot from the start is a brilliant idea. The menacing character lurking in the corner, slowly moving around in the background - I really liked the silhouettes on the members as they played, particularly the three guitarists. Some cool colour palates, and just like the song, the video showcases a solid live performance of the band in their element. I feel like this song is just a tease, a taste of bigger things to come, and I cannot wait to see what comes next. Be sure to check the single and video out, follow the band and check them out at their next show!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Swerve City

Swerve City are an exciting new rock band from Auckland featuring members from Fire At Will, Armed in Advance, Sematics and Saints of Taboo.

Swerve City possesses a sound that blends Melodic Rock with undertones of Metal and Pop sensibilities.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Swerve City

Releases

There are no releases to display for Swerve City.

Other Reviews By Kris Raven

Arrays - Album Review: Light Years
25 Nov 2020 // by Kris Raven
Arrays, the all in one independent vision of Auckland musician JP Carroll (ex-Armed in Advance, Swerve City) has grown from strength to strength, consistently putting out material over the last few years and imprinting the Arrays name as its own unique force in the NZ music community. While earlier material may have been a little reminiscent of previous outfits, the new album Light Years, which is all produced, written and played by Carroll himself has become its own defined musical machine, weaving influences of modern metal, post hardcore, grunge and alternative rock, among others.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Blinders
13 Oct 2020 // by Kris Raven
Wellington's Curlys Jewels have gone from strength to strength over the last few years, out lasting many a fallen Wellington scene rock bands and delivering their third Greg Haver (Ekko Park, The Feelers, OpShop) produced rock anthem Blinders. The core line up has remained solid since their first few EP’s and ever since dropping their 2019 single Absentee which saw them debut on mainstream radio and touring NZ, they have become a heavy hitting staple in the independent rock community.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: The Machine
06 Oct 2020 // by Kris Raven
There must be something in the water, brewing magic in Whanganui. Eclectic rock/metal 5-piece DRXNES have just dropped their new single The Machine and it is HUGE.
Read More...
Animalhead - Album Review: Blood, Sweat & Beers
24 Sep 2020 // by Kris Raven
After five years of blood, sweat and beers, notorious West Auckland 3-piece Animalhead are dropping their debut album. For those who have followed the band over the last half decade, this album represents a culmination of all their hard work laid out over ten diverse, mega tunes, as well as their previously released epic singles including 2018 runaway hit Rabbit Hole.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Album Review: Of Valleys and Mountains
11 Sep 2020 // by Kris Raven
Whanganui's Pull Down The Sun are about to drop one of the best progressive metal albums of the year Of Valleys and Mountains. While not necessarily a ‘concept album’ the album as a whole, feels very cohesive, with every song having a point and place and the way the songs flow, taking the listener on an emotive journey that is both brutal and beautiful.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: Empty Body
27 Aug 2020 // by Kris Raven
Eclectic post metallers Spook the Horses have released their 4th full length album Empty Body. Formed in 2009, this Wellington based 6-piece have spent the last 11 years creating artistically diverse and genre bending music, whether it be 2017's beautifully haunting and a little more chill album People Used To Live Here or their recent single releases where they have delivered unrelenting, progressively heavy soundscapes, shaping their impending new album.
Read More...
Banks Arcade - EP Review: Fever Dreams
10 Jun 2020 // by Kris Raven
NZ/Aussie 5-piece Banks Arcade recently released their game changing second EP and follow up to their debut EP, 2018’s Endnote. A lot has changed for the band in three years, members have come and gone, a move across the ditch and an incredible evolution in their sound and focus.
Read More...
City of Souls - Album Review: Synaesthesia
30 Apr 2020 // by Kris Raven
Alright people, it’s here, it’s finally here!5 years in the making.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kris Raven

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem