20 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Swerve City - Single/Video Review: Dangerous

08 Aug 2020 // A review by Kris Raven

My first initial thoughts after hearing & viewing the debut single by alternative rock collective Swerve City was how lead vocalist JP Carroll (Arrays, ex-Armed in Advance) has further elevated his frontman persona and status in a relatively new (2019) band full of strong and diverse musicians. His vocal approach particularly in the chorus I found was a big take away from previous known material and he is singing a little out of his comfort zone which is very cool to hear (and see). There is some aggression but he is having fun with it. Having the addition of a second guitar when utilised well is always a bonus, and having that in lead guitarist and vocalist Kevin Jack (ex-Fire at Will) has created a solid dynamic, a united duel guitar assault. The great part about this song is how it builds and introduces elements and players as it forms. I thought It was a very smart way to introduce their band to the world with a cover, so many massive bands and artists have started with this route and it can expose you to a bigger realm of listeners, particularly people searching for Big Data and similar electronic artists and then being thrown a rock alternative curve ball.

Swerve City has delivered it well. I particularly enjoyed bassist Shannon Collumb's (Impostor Syndrome) bass tone, it’s effectively a third guitar. Slick, crunchy and while distorted, it's not messy or overbearing. Never underestimate the sound of a good sounding bass or bass player for that matter. The bass drives the track while Kevin's guitar carries the melodic weaving licks and leads that have been well layered. Drummer Adam Forsyke is a strong force and carries the song in a relatively refined and effortless approach, however, I am definitely curious to see how he will take to the skins in future recordings.

In my musical ignorance I did know the original version of Dangerous prior to this review. Having listened since, I was further impressed by the Swerve City version and I have JP singing the chorus in my head over and over. I appreciate that they stayed true to initial rhythmic flow of the song in terms of the bass and the simple but effective drum patterns. But like any good cover or adaption, they put their mark all over it, I liked the half time chorus which breaks it up a little and Kevin's solo at the end gave the song further elevation without taking away from the overall vibe.

The video for this track is simple, which I think It needed to be. It introduces Swerve City to the world and we get to be on the first wave with them. The addition of their logo/mascot from the start is a brilliant idea. The menacing character lurking in the corner, slowly moving around in the background - I really liked the silhouettes on the members as they played, particularly the three guitarists. Some cool colour palates, and just like the song, the video showcases a solid live performance of the band in their element. I feel like this song is just a tease, a taste of bigger things to come, and I cannot wait to see what comes next. Be sure to check the single and video out, follow the band and check them out at their next show!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Swerve City

Swerve City are an exciting new rock band from Auckland featuring members from Fire At Will, Armed in Advance, Sematics and Saints of Taboo.

Swerve City possesses a sound that blends Melodic Rock with undertones of Metal and Pop sensibilities.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Swerve City

Releases

There are no releases to display for Swerve City.

Other Reviews By Kris Raven

Pull Down The Sun - Album Review: Of Valleys and Mountains
11 Sep 2020 // by Kris Raven
Whanganui's Pull Down The Sun are about to drop one of the best progressive metal albums of the year Of Valleys and Mountains. While not necessarily a ‘concept album’ the album as a whole, feels very cohesive, with every song having a point and place and the way the songs flow, taking the listener on an emotive journey that is both brutal and beautiful.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: Empty Body
27 Aug 2020 // by Kris Raven
Eclectic post metallers Spook the Horses have released their 4th full length album Empty Body. Formed in 2009, this Wellington based 6-piece have spent the last 11 years creating artistically diverse and genre bending music, whether it be 2017's beautifully haunting and a little more chill album People Used To Live Here or their recent single releases where they have delivered unrelenting, progressively heavy soundscapes, shaping their impending new album.
Read More...
Banks Arcade - EP Review: Fever Dreams
10 Jun 2020 // by Kris Raven
NZ/Aussie 5-piece Banks Arcade recently released their game changing second EP and follow up to their debut EP, 2018’s Endnote. A lot has changed for the band in three years, members have come and gone, a move across the ditch and an incredible evolution in their sound and focus.
Read More...
City of Souls - Album Review: Synaesthesia
30 Apr 2020 // by Kris Raven
Alright people, it’s here, it’s finally here!5 years in the making.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Album Review: This Is Not A Future
15 Apr 2020 // by Kris Raven
These Four Walls, a household name in NZ rock since the mid 2000's, the now Australian-based alt rock four piece are about to release their third album This Is Not A Future and the timing feels eerily perfect, an album name never seemed more real right now. Beginning with The Sound, the opening lyric "All my life I've lived this song" is a hauntingly introverted revelation that gives you an indication on where this album will take you.
Read More...
Devilskin - Album Review: Red
01 Apr 2020 // by Kris Raven
On album number four, RED is both a warning and a statement and Devilskin are here to deliver it in their most diverse and creative outing yet. Four years have passed since the release of their 2016 award-winning second album Be Like The River and as they come off the back of heavy national and international touring; Devilskin, one of NZ’s most beloved Rock/Metal bands is about to release their highly anticipated album in amongst the chaos of 2020.
Read More...
Crooked Royals - Single Review: Copacetic
19 Mar 2020 // by Kris Raven
Crooked Royals are back! With brand new single Copacetic about to be released, Auckland progressive metalcore five-piece Crooked Royals are continuing their meteoric rise and adding to an already brilliant 2020 of music (and its only March!
Read More...
City of Souls - Single Review: Shimmer
27 Feb 2020 // by Kris Raven
The time is drawing ever closer to the impending, highly anticipated release of NZ Prog/Alt Rock Metal legends City of Souls debut album Synaesthesia. Off the back of several (SIX) epic single releases in the last five years, we received not one, but two brand new singles this week, the beautifully haunting White Ghost and the groove inducing heavy banger Shimmer, which is out today!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kris Raven

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem