12 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ben Hazlewood - Album Review: Bloodline

27 Jul 2020 // A review by Mike Alexander

Ben Hazlewood is a songwriter for those big moments that we all encounter when we fall in and out of love.

For all the potential for joy, intimacy, belonging and fulfilment, when things fall apart there’s also the potential for deception, heartbreak, bewilderment and sadness.

On his debut album Bloodline, he’s certainly not afraid to wear his heart on his sleeve. A song such as the sweetly touching first single Lay Me Down typifies his openness and honesty.

It opens gently enough with a lovely guitar melody and a steady drum beat under-pinning the almost yearning lyric "holding out for everything that I have missed, the pull is strong, surrendering into it./ Reaching out and aiming true to be with you is my only desire". Then it deftly turns into a power pop anthem with a rousing chorus echoing around the sentiment of the song "I need a night, I need a night of whispers, come lay me down". The chorus echoes around Hazlewood’s plaintive multi-layered vocals, giving it an additional emotional surge.

Lover and The Way You Do are also fully charged 'love' songs to let your thoughts and feelings get lost in. They might idealise the object of their affection but it’s that common touch, with his own unique perspective that gives them, and the pumping but thoughtfully reflective Damned, their appeal.

Hazlewood, who cites David Bowie, Stevie Nicks, Jim Morrison and Janis Joplin among his influences, also throws up some insightful lyrics into 'the human condition' particularly on the stunning Fear Is Catching, which wouldn’t sound out of place in a U2 concert.

The lyric "I fall, I break like anyone else" is suggestive enough but the real pause for thought moment is in the line "I know the strength it takes to win the fight against myself". It’s always difficult to face up to ourselves and the choices we keep making, particularly when we find ourselves falling into the same old patterns and mistakes. It is that tiny spark of self-honesty that fires up Fear Is Catching into a song that could so easily have wallowed in self-centredness but, instead, turns into something cathartic.

Bloodline is a bold and refreshing opening statement that has commercial appeal in aces. If Hazlewood was a poker player, you could argue that he’s easy to read but perhaps that’s just the confidence of knowing that you are holding a winning hand.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ben Hazlewood

Ben Hazlewood is the rare artist with a voice dynamic enough to captivate almost completely on its own.

As an anthemic alt-pop artist, raised on artists like Jim Morrison, David Bowie, Stevie Nicks, and Janis Joplin, his music channels an outrageous vocal strength and an emotive soul filled force. a force matched only by his magnetic stage presence and glam-rock-inspired fashion sensibilities.

His debut album Bloodline is the culmination of years of hard work. A journey that started near Wellington, New Zealand, then ventured to London for three years, where Ben fronted a rock band, before relocating to Australia, where Ben now calls Melbourne home.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ben Hazlewood

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ben Hazlewood.

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Antipodeans - Single Review: Lights Out
09 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
In the not so distant past, a Kiwi – Sam Shirley - and a mate from across the ditch – Paul Hutton - teamed up to form Antipodeans and were last heard of signing off in Singapore. At first, I thought they had finally resurfaced but it turns out these Antipodeans, are both Kiwis – Dave Hodgson and Guy McIndoe - who played together in Palmerston North’s infamous Noddy On The Cross (props to the brashly delightful F@ck Off Rugbyhead), but now live on either side of the world.
Read More...
Gareth Thomas - Single Review: My Dog
09 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Gareth Thomas has always had a knack with words and a persuasive way of weaving them into appealingly off-kilter pop songs. Think back to the days of Goodshirt and the delicately spun and woozy Sophie, and Fazerdaze's churning guitar epic Misread or the gentle rush of The Google Song from his 2010 debut solo album Lady Alien.
Read More...
PRINS - EP Review: Magnetic
03 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
If 2019 was the year when BENEE ruled the New Zealand pop charts, then 2020 could well be the year of another emerging talent, PRINS. It’s would be a bit cute to add an -ess, as in PRINC-ess, but, nevertheless, the Christchurch based singer and songwriter has the style and substance to wear the mantle of dance pop princess and wear it well.
Read More...
Infinity - Album Review: Icy Blue Planet
16 Jul 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Infinity suggests the probability of all possibilities and the possibility of all probabilities. It's an apt name for this Hawke's Bay duo - multi instrumentalist Pateriki Hura and drummer Cameron Budge - who have now shown on two albums that their musical sweep is broad and astonishingly expansive for a duo.
Read More...
Gramsci - Album Review: Inheritance
06 Jul 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Paul McLaney has, metaphorically speaking, found his voice again. After a series of largely conceptual electronic albums as The Impending Adorations, he has rebooted Gramsci, the songwriting alias that has lain dormant since the release of Like Stray Voltage in 2005.
Read More...
Compilation Review: Home Alone: Winter 2020
02 Jul 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Wellington boutique label Home Alone has developed an exceptional roster of artists since it announced itself to the world in 2006. And while the creative backbone of the label has always been the triumvirate of Timothy Blackman, who actually launched the label in Dunedin with his debut EP, Lake South and French For Rabbits' Brooke Singer, it has expanded its repertoire and reach with such as internationalists Helena Massey and Shenondoah Davis.
Read More...
Sunny Ray - Album Review: Sentient Compass
16 Jun 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The transformation in Sunny Ray has always seemed inevitable since she made her debut in 2010 with the delightfully visionary EP Mindlessness. Here was a voice that spoke to us of the journey of the soul and the process of its awakening.
Read More...
Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: You Found Me Too
03 Jun 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The retooled Ignatia : Rising continue to surprise with their latest release - a quiet stunner, which is perhaps a reflection of these times when we have all been forced to look deep within ourselves. After three singles that made it almost impossible to pigeon-hole their style or swagger, You Found Me Too is an acoustic ballad "an ode to unconditional love".
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • MY FUTURE
    Billie Eilish
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem