24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Odds & Ends - Single Review: City of Sails

28 Sep 2019 // A review by Lexa.Dixon

Odds & Ends have just released their latest breath-taking track, City of Sails, and just like their last track, Tasty, this is another one of those feel good tracks that make you want to groove. These young lads have some remarkable music skills!

Not only are the vocals incredible (Koen can easily hold a note for a good length of time) but when it is accompanied by the impressive sounds of the guitar, bass and drums, this is truly a track I could listen to over and over again, just as I have done while writing this review.

My only issue is, because it’s such a remarkable song, it feels too short. I could easily listen to Odds & Ends every day, and with this track I can imagine their forthcoming EP would also put me in a feelgood space. City of Sails is definitely something I could listen to when I am in a bad spot; I can imagine it easily picking my spirits back up.

If they keep playing the way they are, the future for Odds & Ends is bright and I believe they will go a long way.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Odds & Ends

With four principal songwriters and influences drawn from alt-rock, indie-pop, jazz, and funk, Odds & Ends are truly unique. The four musicians’ fusion of genres makes for a cohesiveness moving through the many sides this four-piece possesses. With countless local shows under their belt, these four musicians are ready to take on whatever challenge is tossed at their feet.

"If there is one thing I have noticed in the past time with the guys it’s that Odds and Ends put on shows that are anything but cliche. With numerous influences, we tie genres together from indie all the way to funk." ~ Max Earnshaw

Based in the depths of Auckland, New Zealand, Odds & Ends pride themselves in the fusion of multiple melodies and harmonies at the high-energy level of their live performance. All this is achieved while the four friends stay completely human, down to earth, and are the friendliest band you will meet in today’s scene.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Odds & Ends

Releases

Odds & Ends
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Lexa.Dixon

Konarucchi - Single Review: They Follow
07 May 2020 // by Lexa.Dixon
Picture this: 7am on a Wednesday morning. I'm outside having a vape and checking out Facebook.
Read More...
City of Souls - Single Review: Ferryman
15 Oct 2019 // by Lexa.Dixon
The boys from City of Souls have smashed it out of the park again; this time releasing another stunningly epic track Ferryman; and just like their previous releases, Ferryman has its own impressive feel to it.This is a track that you can quite easily get behind right from the very beginning with an instrumental intro that is both captivating and inspiring, while encouraging you to head bang and rock along.
Read More...
Seismic State - EP Review: State of Things
17 Sep 2019 // by Lexa.Dixon
Wellington four-piece band Seismic State have just released their first EP State of Things, and if this is what they sound like, they have a big and bright future ahead of them. State of Things is an outstanding four-track EP, with each and every song giving a little bit more oomph than the previous track.
Read More...
Seismic State - Single Review: Since We Last Spoke
19 Aug 2019 // by Lexa.Dixon
Wellington is no stranger to the world of rock, and with a slick intro that captivates you from the beginning, Seismic State's new single Since We Last Spoke is nothing short of exceptional.The catchy lyrics and outstanding instrumentals make this one tune that I could listen to over and over again.
Read More...
Gig Review: Villainy @ San Fran, Wellington - 20/07/2019
22 Jul 2019 // by Lexa.Dixon
The night was Saturday, 20th July and a crowd was lined up ready to enter San Fran for a night of their lives, because none other than New Zealand rock legends, Villainy, were about to set the roof on fire! Opening with Raised In The Dark, the crowd was full of energy and it was quickly proven that having Raised In The Dark as the first song of the night was a very wise choice!
Read More...
Gig Review: Lucifer Gunne @ Valhalla, Wellington - 19/07/2019
21 Jul 2019 // by Lexa.Dixon
Banding Together: Rock and Metal for Christchurch, a charity event for the victims of the Christchurch mosque shootings took place on the 19th of July at a little venue called Valhalla. This event included five of Wellington's most iconic Rock and Metal bands.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lexa.Dixon

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem