27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin

29 Aug 2019 // A review by Peter-James Dries

This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago.

In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.

The coffin’s final nail came when the gatekeepers of the mass music media realised they could tap into the true holders of a household’s purse strings; tweens. This has had the cultural effect of sculling drain cleaner.

But Mojo Alice isn’t a band that play for the media, or the unenlightened held in its thrall. If they were we wouldn’t be hearing music like this. This is a boot stomping blues rock band for fans of music before whinging became cool. A time when we idolised anarchy, not realising that this future world is the physical embodiment. A time when Lemmy was still with us.

Liquid Sin, Mojo Alice’s debut, reminds me of Lemmy. The vocalist has a voice that sounds like she spent a lifetime gargled gravel, yet at the same time has a touch of that whiskey sweetness before the burn hits.

It reminds me of Motorhead in general actually. No pretence, not gimmicks, this album is a tight set that would translate directly to the live stage.

The band play off each other’s strength. The powerful back-breaking, hard-hitting drums, the eye-popping growls and wails behind the microphone, the bone-shattering driving bass, and the face-peeling riffage and shredding licks of the guitar come together as one beast. Obeying the riff and groove, a single big ego in four leather jackets. Hey ho, let’s go Ramones style. Walking out of the mosh pit to pick up their instruments for their set. You don’t hear music like this anymore, not outside a bar.

They’re not here to piss about. Mojo Alice know what they’re doing and they do it well.

It has the unapologetic balls of AC/DC, the darkness and soul of Robert Johnson, and the tightness of Led Zeppelin. It’s music to drink and raise hell to

Dust off your leather jacket. Put on your Doc Martins. Put on Liquid Sin. Rock out. Five out of five.

A free download of the first single Liquid Sin is available here.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Mojo Alice

Mojo Alice is an original four-member blues/rock band from Wellington. Formed in May 2016, they a guitar-based rock band with a heavy blue groove. Some of the band's influences include AC/DC, ZZ Top, Motorhead, Pantera, Warlock and Halestorm.

Individually very experienced and proficient musicians in their own right,  collectively the band are a force of nature.  Their following is growing quickly because of the consistently tight energetic live performances and engaging the audience with their infectious riffs, powerful vocals, and heavy grooves.

Brodie, the guitar wizard, defines our theme with the thunderous riffs and magic he performs on the guitar;

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mojo Alice

Releases

Liquid Sin
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Rhombus - Album Review: After Party
26 May 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I was wearing a New Zealand Music Month hoodie the other week. Upon seeing it, my niece gleefully exclaimed “You’ve got the year I was born on your hoodie.
Read More...
Fear Up Harsh - Album Review: Fear Up Harsh (II)
28 Mar 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a rumour that, when played simultaneously, Fear Up Harsh (II) syncs perfectly with Jim Jarmusch’s The Limits of Control. The rumour is a lie of course, like many rumours are, but you’d be forgiven for believing it.
Read More...
Western Dip - Album Review: Warm Ups
08 Feb 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been over a decade since I thought “I might listen to some techno”. Probably longer since EDM was even called techno… And even then, the genre was never the main event.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Closer
08 Dec 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Here is yet another track that takes me back to the early-90;s. The days of our family following Vince Leatherby, the Happy Wanderer, around the Kiwi country music circuit.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Mundivagrants
12 Oct 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Mundivagrants is a weird release. Probably one of the strangest I’ve had to review.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Single Review: 360
29 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Take some heartbreak. Write it down.
Read More...
Comf - Single Review: Do You Feat. Ilena
12 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Water, Clay, and Ceramic. If the sonic possibilities of these three textures are the question, then Comf’s triptych of EPs, The Texture Tapes, are the proposed hypothesis.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - EP Review: Vengeful Millennial
05 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
You’re sitting in an average suburban home. A family is sitting at the dinner table in front of you.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem