30 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cruddy - Single Review: One Way Please

28 Jul 2019 // A review by Peter-James Dries

It’s been interesting watching this artist explore and develop their style over time. When I last checked in, I think it was around April – the track was Madre Naturaleza, Cruddy was still producing dark industrial sound-scapes. Something has changed since then. Perhaps something inside the face behind Cruddy, or perhaps it’s seasonal.

There’s one immediately noticeable difference with July’s entry in Cruddy’s (roughly) track-a-month musical journey; words. It wasn’t the voice one would expect to be behind the man who made White Polka Dot Dress. It has tones of Beatles and A Momentary Lapse of Reason-era Pink Floyd float over the choral waves of Nikki Ngatai’s vocal accompaniment.

My first reading of the lyrics went to a Near Death Experience-like narrative. Perhaps it was the angelic operatives of Ngatai’s harmony, or the ICU ambience of the music. Maybe it was because I was sitting at my work desk in the hospital. But the police scanner canvas over which this track is painted took me to a more literal and real journey, one from the provinces to the city. A more open mind will make up their own meaning; a closed one will just listen to the music.

OK, there are two noticeable differences. Though an evolving soundscape it remains, the music has taken a softer shape. The edges and peaks are snow covered. It’s colder, and less claustrophobic like stepping out of the dark comfort of a bedroom out onto the street. It’s slower, with more despair, and less disdain. Lo-fi piano and synthesised strings replace the distorted riffs and licks. Distant echoes like thunder replace the drum lines.

Winter is about to deepen. Let’s see which crossroad August’s installment in the Cruddy saga takes. Dark disdain, or cold introspection.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Cruddy

Cruddy is Miles Gillett.
Drummer for Auckland New Zealand band Oyawa.

"Got a lot of time on my hands awaiting this back surgery and fired up the ole' GB3.0.4 recording Console"
What you are hearing are the joys of creative release and the love of being unemployed.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cruddy

Releases

There are no releases to display for Cruddy.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team
24 Sep 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
Torn Chorus - Single Review: Brave New World
14 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Lockdown was a true test of one’s fight-or-flight instinct, a show of one’s character. For some, it was an artist’s paradise.
Read More...
Michael Ferriss and Hedley Marks - Album Review: Interlude In The House Of Life
01 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When released, Ghosts I – IV was one of the more obscure Nine Inch Nails releases in an expansive discography. Instrumental and cinematic, lacking the abrasive angst and grit of all that came before, it felt out of step compared to their previous releases.
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album Review: The Red Masquerade
16 Apr 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Fan fiction.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem