19 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cruddy - Single Review: One Way Please

28 Jul 2019 // A review by Peter-James Dries

It’s been interesting watching this artist explore and develop their style over time. When I last checked in, I think it was around April – the track was Madre Naturaleza, Cruddy was still producing dark industrial sound-scapes. Something has changed since then. Perhaps something inside the face behind Cruddy, or perhaps it’s seasonal.

There’s one immediately noticeable difference with July’s entry in Cruddy’s (roughly) track-a-month musical journey; words. It wasn’t the voice one would expect to be behind the man who made White Polka Dot Dress. It has tones of Beatles and A Momentary Lapse of Reason-era Pink Floyd float over the choral waves of Nikki Ngatai’s vocal accompaniment.

My first reading of the lyrics went to a Near Death Experience-like narrative. Perhaps it was the angelic operatives of Ngatai’s harmony, or the ICU ambience of the music. Maybe it was because I was sitting at my work desk in the hospital. But the police scanner canvas over which this track is painted took me to a more literal and real journey, one from the provinces to the city. A more open mind will make up their own meaning; a closed one will just listen to the music.

OK, there are two noticeable differences. Though an evolving soundscape it remains, the music has taken a softer shape. The edges and peaks are snow covered. It’s colder, and less claustrophobic like stepping out of the dark comfort of a bedroom out onto the street. It’s slower, with more despair, and less disdain. Lo-fi piano and synthesised strings replace the distorted riffs and licks. Distant echoes like thunder replace the drum lines.

Winter is about to deepen. Let’s see which crossroad August’s installment in the Cruddy saga takes. Dark disdain, or cold introspection.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Cruddy

Cruddy is Miles Gillett.
Drummer for Auckland New Zealand band Oyawa.

"Got a lot of time on my hands awaiting this back surgery and fired up the ole' GB3.0.4 recording Console"
What you are hearing are the joys of creative release and the love of being unemployed.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cruddy

Releases

There are no releases to display for Cruddy.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin
29 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago. In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: Wellington - Te Upoko O Te Ika
22 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I seldom review anything with any degree of commercial appeal, on account of my conscious attempts to avoid overt radio-bate. The music consumed by the masses hasn’t spoken to me for over a decade.
Read More...
First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
Manzo - Album Review: Attachment
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
The modern music industry has embraced the practice of style over substance for a while now. We could blame streaming, the Netflix generation, or the entitled psychopaths we’ve bred through inattentive parenting, as required by dual income house-holding.
Read More...
Manzo - EP Review: Beatniks on Toast
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like every independent musician, I’ve felt the pain of checking my artist pages to find the first track is still the one with the most plays. I should be reassured that someone has put the effort in to try and listen to something I’ve spend months making.
Read More...
River - EP Review: Endless Winter
03 Jun 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m really glad music like this is still getting made. As a former bedroom rock star, borderline agoraphobic, and closet Goth, I appreciate the art form.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem