24 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cruddy - Single Review: One Way Please

28 Jul 2019 // A review by Peter-James Dries

It’s been interesting watching this artist explore and develop their style over time. When I last checked in, I think it was around April – the track was Madre Naturaleza, Cruddy was still producing dark industrial sound-scapes. Something has changed since then. Perhaps something inside the face behind Cruddy, or perhaps it’s seasonal.

There’s one immediately noticeable difference with July’s entry in Cruddy’s (roughly) track-a-month musical journey; words. It wasn’t the voice one would expect to be behind the man who made White Polka Dot Dress. It has tones of Beatles and A Momentary Lapse of Reason-era Pink Floyd float over the choral waves of Nikki Ngatai’s vocal accompaniment.

My first reading of the lyrics went to a Near Death Experience-like narrative. Perhaps it was the angelic operatives of Ngatai’s harmony, or the ICU ambience of the music. Maybe it was because I was sitting at my work desk in the hospital. But the police scanner canvas over which this track is painted took me to a more literal and real journey, one from the provinces to the city. A more open mind will make up their own meaning; a closed one will just listen to the music.

OK, there are two noticeable differences. Though an evolving soundscape it remains, the music has taken a softer shape. The edges and peaks are snow covered. It’s colder, and less claustrophobic like stepping out of the dark comfort of a bedroom out onto the street. It’s slower, with more despair, and less disdain. Lo-fi piano and synthesised strings replace the distorted riffs and licks. Distant echoes like thunder replace the drum lines.

Winter is about to deepen. Let’s see which crossroad August’s installment in the Cruddy saga takes. Dark disdain, or cold introspection.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Cruddy

Cruddy is Miles Gillett.
Drummer for Auckland New Zealand band Oyawa.

"Got a lot of time on my hands awaiting this back surgery and fired up the ole' GB3.0.4 recording Console"
What you are hearing are the joys of creative release and the love of being unemployed.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cruddy

Releases

There are no releases to display for Cruddy.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Album Review: Various Artists - Mansfield
18 Feb 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
As an English major, it is my duty to know Mansfield. She sits on my shelf, somewhere between Lawrence and Woolf.
Read More...
Government Pest - Album Review: Disengage
30 Jan 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
My favourite local album, in both a national and regional sense, is probably 2006’s Dawn of a Grey Winter. The compilation of $lave Recordings bands and beyond is a showcase of the best Palmy had to offer at that point in history.
Read More...
dharmarat - Album Review: WLKNZ
24 Dec 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This review took a long time. This isn’t my usual genre.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady
29 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next. After their first single Oh My Goth (O.
Read More...
Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe
23 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem