7 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Grant Haua Trio @ Jack Dusty's, Tauranga - 03/07/2019

16 Jul 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Tauranga’s musical landscape is constantly changing and evolving, new bands morph from old bands, they get bigger and they get smaller. Some of the musicians have been around since the 1970's/80's and some are just starting out, many disappear only to re-emerge years later in a different guise. So, I was honoured to be invited to sit in on the Grant Haua Trio at their band practice session. One of Tauranga’s latest musical triads to hit the gig circuit.

This is real sexy sounding original rocking blues. These guys are seasoned musicians and well known to many, they have been around for a long time. Grant Haua ex-Swamp Thing is a local legend of rich and soulful blues. Brian Franks of such bands as Briilleaux and Toner, Franks And Beano is brilliant on the bass guitar. Jeff Nilson drummer for The Shirleybyrds and Electric Universe rounds off the tight trio perfectly.

The three friends from way back told me that they “hooked up at a party”, decided to “have a jam” and the rest was history. They have the time at present to dedicate to the newly formed band and dedicated they are judging by the disciplined way they conduct their practice. No such thing as “she’ll be right” in the way these guys play, professionalism and an obvious passion for the creative process of making music shine through.

The Grant Haua Trio are filling a void in our local music scene by offering locals exceptional funky blues music twice a month at the popular boutique beer establishment The Hop House. The hint of an album is on the cards, so there is plenty to get excited about.

Grant is magic to watch, the way he plays his guitar is rather mesmerising. It is far different watching and hearing musicians in what is essentially a lounge room setting, not a pub, club or venue. You get to see and hear everything without distraction. What was very obvious to me was the love and joy music brings to Grant, at times I saw him get lost in the music. That love radiates through in his guitar playing, vocals and harmonica.  

Brian has also been on the local music scene for number of years; widely known for his base guitar Skills playing in the high energy British style Rhythm and Blues band Brilleaux. Brian had contacted me earlier in the week with an invitation for me to sit in on the bands practice session. I am pretty lucky to have the opportunity to hear them up close and personal. Brian’s bass playing and vocals complemented Grant very well. I don’t play guitar, but if I did I reckon it would be a bass, I admire the rich warm chords produced and Brian did that effortlessly enhancing the funky blues sound.

0Jeff was the only one out of the three I didn’t recall seeing perform live although I knew of him through The Shirleybyrds and more recently drumming for Electric Universe. He provides the rhythm section for the trio and is sounding pretty tight. I look forward to hearing him play on a full kit.

The band will be playing a mix of Swamp Thing tracks which have been collaboratively restructured as The Grant Haua Trio. Collectively the trio have nine songs in their repertoire within the three months they have been jamming together, however Grant wrote all the lyrics and melodies for the numbers. We are also going to be hearing some of Grants latest solo recordings in the mix at the upcoming gigs.

The very next Wednesday at my local drinking establishment Jack Dusty’s, I was invited along to the Tauranga Blues Jam. The boys are giving Tauranga a sneak peek of what they have been working on.

This was an opportunity for me to see them in action as a trio out in the field (so to speak) and get some photos to go with my article. As some people have described it was “next level” for the trio. The boys wowed us; there is a natural cohesion in the way they play together and a slick delivery. Like I mentioned earlier on the article. Mesmerizing.

There is tangible excitement for the 20th of July, when they unleash the full force of their awesomeness on Tauranga. It has been a privilege hanging out with these guys the last few weeks. I have not only come to know them and their music, but also my eyes have been well and truly opened to the wider Tauranga blues community.


Photos courtesy of Corinne Rutherford/Pixel Faerie Photography

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Alan Brown - Album Review: Wind And Wire
18 Jun 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alan Brown’s name is entrenched in the New Zealand Jazz scene as not only an established Jazz keyboardist, but also from his highly successful Jazz-funk band in the 1990’s, Blue Train. While reputed for his keyboard and Hammond organ skills his recent work, following on from his past solo creations is titled Wind And Wire, an instrumental, atmospheric electronica based album offering up a brooding sonic soundscape.
Read More...
Grace - Single Review: Echo Thoughts
29 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young bedroom music producer from Auckland, Grace has just released the first track from her EP Music From The Cupboard. Echo Thoughts is a captivating track of ethereal vocals enveloped in a luscious techno beat.
Read More...
Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Animal
27 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand alternative post-punk inspired (Or lovelorn vet nurse shadow-pop) songwriter Hannah Curwood from Hannah In The Wars has just released a new single Animal. A unique and totally enjoyable song, which is as bizarre as it is loveable.
Read More...
Ryan Fisherman - Album Review: Vibe
26 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch musician and singer-writer Ryan Chin, goes under the name of Ryan Fisherman. He has just released his first album Vibe.
Read More...
Madeleine Howard - Single Review: No More
18 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch based singer-songwriter Madeleine Howard, has just released her catchy new single No More, The first off the ranks of consecutive single releases as she prepares to launch her debut EP, Just Reaching Out. Originally from the Hawke’s Bay, Madeleine went on to study at the University Of Otago Contemporary Performance Programme for four years, developing a characteristic Kiwi sound which shines through strongly on this single.
Read More...
Justin Sane - Single/Video Review: It’s Not Over with Huz
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
NZ electronic dance duo from Auckland, Justin Sane & Huz have recently released their brand new single It’s Not Over accompanied by a high energy bittersweet music video which is like an accelerated timeline of C-19 NZ Lockdown 2020. Justin Sane has been around for a few years, a DJ from the UK; he immigrated to New Zealand in 2001 and exploded into the public eye in 2003 by being identified as one of the hottest young properties within the NZ hardhouse scene.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Single Review: Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based musician and purveyor of the Dunedin Sound and indie folk genres Darryl Baser, has just released the first single from his up and coming sophomore album Second Selfie. Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker is an unusually named release based on a “bunch of experiences”.
Read More...
Holly Afoa - EP Review: Sister
11 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Neo-Soul singer/songwriter Holly Afoa has recently released her debut EP Sister. Five tracks of soulful, heartfelt music.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem