21 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Louis Baker - Album Review: Open

02 Jul 2019 // A review by Jacquie Walters

Louis Baker’s newest album Open is a lush, sonorous collection of immaculately assembled tracks.

Baker’s voice is lovely – it’s clear, poised, and in perfect pitch throughout. If you’re after a sensuous experience turn this music up and listen to it with headphones on, and let the sound wash over you. It's truly music to fall in love with and to.

The songs themselves are reasonably diverse. Some are languid, such as the title track Open which ends the album, others, such as the soulful Silver Scroll-nominated Black Crow have a funky, rumbling groove, reminiscent of Fat Freddy’s Drop.

Baker's vocals in Just A Memory reminded me strongly of Sam Smith. The quality of Baker's singing just as good and the track features some lovely work on keys.

My favourite tracks were the opener, The People with its fantastic message and its slick, pop production. It’s a really catchy track, and let’s face it we all need to take the song's central message on and run with it; “We are the people, we have a choice. We are the problem. We are the solution. We are the people. We have a voice. I want to make a change starting today.”

I also loved Alive – again with a powerful message of being awake and conscious and not letting the years pass you by.

Open is a very well crafted, high-quality body of work. Baker will be touring the album around Aotearoa/New Zealand in August – it’ll be well worth catching a gig to hear this material live.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Louis Baker

Soulful singer-songwriter Louis Baker possesses a voice that can register as an intimate croon or soar to dizzying heights. And when twinned with his prodigious fretwork that he’s cultivated over many years as both a student and a teacher of the guitar, his voice is a tool that he’s able to wield to jaw-dropping effect.

Emerging from the rich musical landscape of Wellington – a city that’s given the world singular musical voices like Fat Freddy’s Drop, The Black Seeds and TrinityRoots – Baker has been announced down under as one of the leading voices of a new school of Kiwi soul music.

Crafting his work with a deep artistic integrity, Louis has gathered a loyal following that spans the world over. Everyone from India Arie (“Louis Baker, you sing my soul,”) to the international music community (BBC 6 Music, Clash Magazine, The Line of Best Fit, Earmilk) have shown love for what he is, and has become.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Louis Baker

Releases

Open
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Louis Baker
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jacquie Walters

Levi Lights On Project - Single Review: Like A Tie
14 Nov 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Levi Lights On Project have a knack for writing material that captures the zeitgeist and their latest single is no exception. Moody, gritty and evocative, Like a Tie is the perfect song for a television or film soundtrack with a Walter Mitty-esque theme of an office worker or corporate executive who dreams of throwing off the shackles of the 9 to 5 and living a more colourful existence.
Read More...
Albi & The Wolves - Gig Review: Albi and the Wolves @ Room Twenty5, Nelson
26 Oct 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Auckland-based trio Albi and the Wolves have made a real impression on the festival scene both here and overseas, especially since their Best Folk Artist of the Year Tui Award win in 2018. Just days ago, the group were named in the line-up for WOMAD 2020, a well-deserved nod for the very hardworking and talented Chris Dent, Micheal Young, and Pascal Roggen.
Read More...
Gig review: Tami Neilson @ Nelson Arts Festival - 21/10/2019
22 Oct 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Tami Neilson is outrageously excellent. Her voice is full, powerful, nuanced and rich.
Read More...
Adam Hattaway and The Haunters - Album Review: Crying Lessons
17 Sep 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Crying Lessons is a ripper of a second album from Adam Hattaway and the Haunters. Full of sass, soul, and purr it veers from 1960's Ray Columbus and the Invaders territory in Until The Right Time to my hands-down favourite the rollicking Rolling Stones-esque good time that is Heartbreak Heart.
Read More...
Gig Review: Hollie Smith @ The Playhouse, Nelson - 22/09/2019
23 Aug 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Hollie Smith has a lovely voice and is a highly-regarded singer known to many for her work with TrinityRoots and Fly My Pretties, and for her vocals on the Don McGlashan penned hit Bathe In The River. Smith has also had significant success in her solo career to date.
Read More...
Albi & The Wolves - Album Review: This Is War
19 Jul 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
This Is War is the second album from Auckland-based, folk-inspired trio Albi and The Wolves and it’s every bit as delightful as you’d expect it to be if you’ve had the pleasure of seeing the group live. Albi and The Wolves have a compelling energy and dynamism to their sound.
Read More...
Andrew Masseurs - Album Review: Traveller In The Sky
02 Jul 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Andrew Masseurs’ new album Traveller In The Sky is so good I almost want him to pull a U2-type stunt and add it to everyone’s playlists for free (no just kidding, you need to buy it so Masseurs gets rewarded for his efforts). Masseurs has always had a tremendous voice, but it wasn’t quite matched entirely by his material or production choices on his debut album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mitch James @ Theatre Royal, Nelson - 28/06/2019
29 Jun 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
A youthful capacity crowd packed out Nelson’s Theatre Royal to welcome Mitch James as part of his national Bright Blue Skies tour. Seating had been cleared to allow for audience members to stand and dance up close to the band, but the ushers took a dim view of the enthusiasm in the room when it got to the point of people being raised on top of their friends’ shoulders – the venue isn’t quite ready for that kind of crowd just yet.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jacquie Walters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem