20 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Louis Baker - Album Review: Open

02 Jul 2019 // A review by Jacquie Walters

Louis Baker’s newest album Open is a lush, sonorous collection of immaculately assembled tracks.

Baker’s voice is lovely – it’s clear, poised, and in perfect pitch throughout. If you’re after a sensuous experience turn this music up and listen to it with headphones on, and let the sound wash over you. It's truly music to fall in love with and to.

The songs themselves are reasonably diverse. Some are languid, such as the title track Open which ends the album, others, such as the soulful Silver Scroll-nominated Black Crow have a funky, rumbling groove, reminiscent of Fat Freddy’s Drop.

Baker's vocals in Just A Memory reminded me strongly of Sam Smith. The quality of Baker's singing just as good and the track features some lovely work on keys.

My favourite tracks were the opener, The People with its fantastic message and its slick, pop production. It’s a really catchy track, and let’s face it we all need to take the song's central message on and run with it; “We are the people, we have a choice. We are the problem. We are the solution. We are the people. We have a voice. I want to make a change starting today.”

I also loved Alive – again with a powerful message of being awake and conscious and not letting the years pass you by.

Open is a very well crafted, high-quality body of work. Baker will be touring the album around Aotearoa/New Zealand in August – it’ll be well worth catching a gig to hear this material live.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Louis Baker

Renowned for equal parts uplifting / tear inducing live shows, Baker's achingly raw lyrics intertwined with mesmerizing melodies and an emotive vocal tone that produces shades of Motown-era soul, it leaves no question as to why international media have touted this native New Zealand singer / songwriter as one to watch.

“Baker's beautiful voice, [is] delicate and fragile, yet at the same time imbued with an emotional maturity” - The Next2Shine


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Louis Baker

Releases

Open
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Louis Baker
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Jacquie Walters

Albi & The Wolves - Album Review: This Is War
19 Jul 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
This Is War is the second album from Auckland-based, folk-inspired trio Albi and The Wolves and it’s every bit as delightful as you’d expect it to be if you’ve had the pleasure of seeing the group live. Albi and The Wolves have a compelling energy and dynamism to their sound.
Read More...
Andrew Masseurs - Album Review: Traveller In The Sky
02 Jul 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Andrew Masseurs’ new album Traveller In The Sky is so good I almost want him to pull a U2-type stunt and add it to everyone’s playlists for free (no just kidding, you need to buy it so Masseurs gets rewarded for his efforts). Masseurs has always had a tremendous voice, but it wasn’t quite matched entirely by his material or production choices on his debut album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mitch James @ Theatre Royal, Nelson - 28/06/2019
29 Jun 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
A youthful capacity crowd packed out Nelson’s Theatre Royal to welcome Mitch James as part of his national Bright Blue Skies tour. Seating had been cleared to allow for audience members to stand and dance up close to the band, but the ushers took a dim view of the enthusiasm in the room when it got to the point of people being raised on top of their friends’ shoulders – the venue isn’t quite ready for that kind of crowd just yet.
Read More...
Emily Rice - EP Review: Dusk
24 Jun 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Emily Rice’s EP Dusk is a gentle, beautiful excursion into the world of lovers everywhere. Rice has a voice like warm honey, reminiscent of Bic Runga and Amiria Grenell.
Read More...
Levi Lights On Project - Single Review: Eyes of a Child
20 Jun 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Levi Sesega's Lights On Project's new single Eyes of a Child is a refreshing antidote to toxic masculinity. It's got a fantastic message about a man with the strength to face himself and his demons so that he can be reborn and experience redemption as a result.
Read More...
Myele Manzanza - Album Review: A Love Requited
19 Jun 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
A Love Requited is the third album from drummer and composer Myele Manzanza. Having shared many concert bills with Myele’s Dad, well know percussionist Sam Manzanza, I approached Myele’s album with a high level of interest.
Read More...
Claudia Jardine - EP Review: North
03 Jun 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
North is a literal breath of fresh air from Claudia Jardine, and it's very ably assisted by producer, multi-instrumentalist, and backing vocalist Taavi Paomets.The title track North leads the charge, setting the expectation of clear yet lush production values for the five-track offering from Jardine.
Read More...
Gig Review: Graeme James @ The Boathouse, Nelson - 17/05/2019
17 May 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Every once in a while you happen to have the very good fortune to attend a truly remarkable concert. Graeme James' gig at The Boathouse in Nelson was one such event.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jacquie Walters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem