20 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ben Ruegg - Album Review: The Road (Remastered)

22 May 2019 // A review by Lou Clement
Auckland-based musician Ben Ruegg’s album The Road, frets through emotion-laden lyrics and surges from an acoustic-indie tone to a rockier bent with nostalgic guitar solos and drums. The album is stitched together with Ruegg’s refined and considered vocals.


Ten years on, Ben Ruegg has remastered and re-released this eight-track album. I imagine this is a chance for an artist to reflect on their influences and to see how their music has developed in the intervening time. Personally, when I look back I can see the seed of ideas for other work, sort of a subconscious adventure into the past.

On first listen, I didn’t know the music was ten years old and I liked the tracks immediately. From the get-go, it made me feel a bit cosy, actually. I’m about the same age as Ruegg and so it harks back to a shared era in music.

After a slightly spooky opening, the title track The Road is full of indie influences: long crescendos of electric guitars and pained lyrics. Whilst in Invisible the strings section simmer and soar with lyrics of longing and a voice delicate and evocative. Try, Try, Try slows the pace down, a love song and a rock ballad. Ruegg’s voice breaks over the notes, before a key change and big electric guitar lifts the song briefly in an anthemic direction; a strong card in the suit. It’s the emotions at play in the lyrics that have shaped the composition and although not seamless, to me, this track articulates an authentic feeling. Again, in I Wish, the electric guitar solo ramps up and takes centre stage, vocals are tested, with an energetic and more experimental feel.

The hidden track Sure, Tea? I’m going to call cosmic-indie, distorted vocals, float between synthesisers and it’s not short of the powerful guitar composition, common to many of the tracks on this album. It’s a playful, parody, maybe? It made me smile anyway. Listening to his 2018 record I can hear this has continued to have an influence on his work too. Ruegg’s mind wasn’t quite made up on the genre of his music in The Road. I’m not sure that’s a bad thing. It pulls on threads of music from an era rich in new genres and it goes beyond tribute to a testing bed for an obviously eager artist.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ben Ruegg

My name is Ben Ruegg. I have been writing and performing since I was around 8. My love for music is endless. I don't say I like just one style of music because all music is different and reflects an artists current state of mind. That is exactly what my music does.
I love to tap into my inner self and reveal things I even keep secret from myself.

I hope you enjoy the passion as much I enjoy getting it to come out and end up in the recording and songs.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ben Ruegg

Releases

If I Had A DeLorean
Year: 2019
Type: EP
The Road - Remastered
Year: 2019
Type: Album
The Journey
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Villainy - Villany @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 27/07/2019
31 Jul 2019 // by Lou Clement
The Powerstation was packed and as the clocked ticked on, the anticipation felt almost palpable. Villainy were there to play the last date on their tour, which was named after their new and third album Raised In The Dark, which, four years after the last one, was unleashed into the hands of their fans only three weeks prior.
Read More...
Gig Review: Broods @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 16/05/2019
19 May 2019 // by Lou Clement
Broods have found international fame and success and welcoming them back to home turf was an enthusiastic crowd at the grand setting of Auckland Town Hall. Well known sister and brother duo, Georgia and Caleb Nott are Broods, and for this gig they were joined on stage by other musicians to accompany their set.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mermaidens @ Neck of the Woods - 13/04/2019
17 Apr 2019 // by Lou Clement
It was Record Store Day, and vinyl fans across the country were treated to special events and special releases from musicians who year on year support the event. Across Auckland, independent record stores opened their doors following advertising campaigns on the run up to day.
Read More...
Gig Review: Milk & Honey @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 08/03/2019
11 Mar 2019 // by Lou Clement
International Women’s Day, in my experience, is often not marked by celebrations other than something official in the news – something with flowers and over-privileged celebrity-like figures at the mic. It’s the first year I’ve lived in Auckland for it though, and to find that celebrations planned for the occasion with music performances taking place as part of a curated event were exciting.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cross Street Festival @ Cross Street, Auckland - 02/03/2019
05 Mar 2019 // by Lou Clement
It’s a balmy March day and the sun lit the side streets of central Auckland. I arrived at Cross Street, a road parallel to Karangahape Road.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Lou Clement
Laneway was a different kind of festival. It’s an international touring event, taking in Australia and Singapore.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Little Penny @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 25/01/2019
27 Jan 2019 // by Lou Clement
Three-piece Dead Little Penny were the second act on stage and headlining at the Whammy Bar on Friday evening, launching their new single Depression. The venue was packed out and the fans did little to reduce the temperature of the basement venue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem