24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Beth Danelle - Single Review: Hold On

12 May 2019 // A review by jacquiew

Beth Danelle's new single Hold On is a balanced and well-produced pop track. It has a good hook in the chorus and it will appeal to anyone who is feeling out of sync with their current life situation. Listening to the track I wasn't quite sure what the angst at the heart of it was about and it wasn't particularly clear to me from watching the video either.

I found it difficult to hear the words at times and Danelle's voice was a bit pitchy, not quite reaching and coming in slightly under the higher notes, which detracted from the track a little for me.

Musically however the drums and electric guitar carry the single along well. I felt that a little more editing in studio would have been helpful to make sure that vocals were on point throughout and thus better serving for the overall sound.

Danelle is on a mission chasing a career in music and this is a solid offering whilst on that journey.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Beth Danelle

Auckland Singer/Songwriter Beth Winks has been making a name for herself in the New Zealand music industry with her pop infused ballads.

“I am a pop ballad singer but I have a lot of soul and heart in my music,” says Singer/Songwriter Beth Danelle.

Even from her early stages of life, music has always been a focal part of Beth’s life. “I have been singing for as long as I can remember and it has always been a huge part of my life. I started to pursue a music career in 2012. “This is when I really came out of my shell!” say Beth.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Beth Danelle

Releases

There are no releases to display for Beth Danelle.

Other Reviews By jacquiew

Chris Lake - EP Review: Explore
13 Jul 2020 // by jacquiew
Christchurch singer-songwriter Chris Lake establishes a pleasurable groove from the outset on his EP Explore. As the title suggests, Lake explores the many moods and twists and turns of love, but never in a self-indulgent way.
Read More...
Belladonna - Single Review: Calling Out Your Name
25 Mar 2020 // by jacquiew
Wellington-based singer-songwriter Belladonna’s second single Calling Out Your Name is a refreshing and surprisingly upbeat piece of work, especially given its topic of clinging on to the past. Belladonna has a gift for writing a catchy hook, and she employs that talent to great effect here.
Read More...
Jen Turner - Single Review: Singing With Whales
12 Mar 2020 // by jacquiew
Singing with Whales by Jen Turner is a real gem of a single. Reflective and introspective in the particular way that break up songs tend to be, it’s also seriously catchy.
Read More...
Ria Hall - Album Review: Manawa Wera
27 Feb 2020 // by jacquiew
Ria Hall’s new collection of songs Manawa Wera is everything anyone could want from a new release. Hall is without doubt one of Aotearoa’s finest female vocalists and her material is thought-provoking and moving without ever being strident or preachy.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jackie Bristow @ The Boathouse, Nelson - 14/02/2020
15 Feb 2020 // by jacquiew
There was a lot to love about Jackie Bristow’s performance at The Boathouse in Nelson. The Boathouse has got to be one of the most spectacular settings in New Zealand for a music venue.
Read More...
Levi Lights On Project - Single Review: Like A Tie
14 Nov 2019 // by jacquiew
Levi Lights On Project have a knack for writing material that captures the zeitgeist and their latest single is no exception. Moody, gritty and evocative, Like a Tie is the perfect song for a television or film soundtrack with a Walter Mitty-esque theme of an office worker or corporate executive who dreams of throwing off the shackles of the 9 to 5 and living a more colourful existence.
Read More...
Albi & The Wolves - Gig Review: Albi and the Wolves @ Room Twenty5, Nelson
26 Oct 2019 // by jacquiew
Auckland-based trio Albi and the Wolves have made a real impression on the festival scene both here and overseas, especially since their Best Folk Artist of the Year Tui Award win in 2018. Just days ago, the group were named in the line-up for WOMAD 2020, a well-deserved nod for the very hardworking and talented Chris Dent, Micheal Young, and Pascal Roggen.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tami Neilson @ Nelson Arts Festival - 21/10/2019
22 Oct 2019 // by jacquiew
Tami Neilson is outrageously excellent. Her voice is full, powerful, nuanced and rich.
Read More...
View All Articles By jacquiew

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem