19 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Beth Danelle - Single Review: Hold On

12 May 2019 // A review by Jacquie Walters

Beth Danelle's new single Hold On is a balanced and well-produced pop track. It has a good hook in the chorus and it will appeal to anyone who is feeling out of sync with their current life situation. Listening to the track I wasn't quite sure what the angst at the heart of it was about and it wasn't particularly clear to me from watching the video either.

I found it difficult to hear the words at times and Danelle's voice was a bit pitchy, not quite reaching and coming in slightly under the higher notes, which detracted from the track a little for me.

Musically however the drums and electric guitar carry the single along well. I felt that a little more editing in studio would have been helpful to make sure that vocals were on point throughout and thus better serving for the overall sound.

Danelle is on a mission chasing a career in music and this is a solid offering whilst on that journey.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Beth Danelle

Auckland Singer/Songwriter Beth Winks has been making a name for herself in the New Zealand music industry with her pop infused ballads.

“I am a pop ballad singer but I have a lot of soul and heart in my music,” says Singer/Songwriter Beth Danelle.

Even from her early stages of life, music has always been a focal part of Beth’s life. “I have been singing for as long as I can remember and it has always been a huge part of my life. I started to pursue a music career in 2012. “This is when I really came out of my shell!” say Beth.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Beth Danelle

Releases

There are no releases to display for Beth Danelle.

Other Reviews By Jacquie Walters

Gig Review: Jackie Bristow @ The Boathouse, Nelson - 14/02/2020
15 Feb 2020 // by Jacquie Walters
There was a lot to love about Jackie Bristow’s performance at The Boathouse in Nelson. The Boathouse has got to be one of the most spectacular settings in New Zealand for a music venue.
Read More...
Levi Lights On Project - Single Review: Like A Tie
14 Nov 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Levi Lights On Project have a knack for writing material that captures the zeitgeist and their latest single is no exception. Moody, gritty and evocative, Like a Tie is the perfect song for a television or film soundtrack with a Walter Mitty-esque theme of an office worker or corporate executive who dreams of throwing off the shackles of the 9 to 5 and living a more colourful existence.
Read More...
Albi & The Wolves - Gig Review: Albi and the Wolves @ Room Twenty5, Nelson
26 Oct 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Auckland-based trio Albi and the Wolves have made a real impression on the festival scene both here and overseas, especially since their Best Folk Artist of the Year Tui Award win in 2018. Just days ago, the group were named in the line-up for WOMAD 2020, a well-deserved nod for the very hardworking and talented Chris Dent, Micheal Young, and Pascal Roggen.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tami Neilson @ Nelson Arts Festival - 21/10/2019
22 Oct 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Tami Neilson is outrageously excellent. Her voice is full, powerful, nuanced and rich.
Read More...
Adam Hattaway and The Haunters - Album Review: Crying Lessons
17 Sep 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Crying Lessons is a ripper of a second album from Adam Hattaway and the Haunters. Full of sass, soul, and purr it veers from 1960's Ray Columbus and the Invaders territory in Until The Right Time to my hands-down favourite the rollicking Rolling Stones-esque good time that is Heartbreak Heart.
Read More...
Gig Review: Hollie Smith @ The Playhouse, Nelson - 22/09/2019
23 Aug 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Hollie Smith has a lovely voice and is a highly-regarded singer known to many for her work with TrinityRoots and Fly My Pretties, and for her vocals on the Don McGlashan penned hit Bathe In The River. Smith has also had significant success in her solo career to date.
Read More...
Albi & The Wolves - Album Review: This Is War
19 Jul 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
This Is War is the second album from Auckland-based, folk-inspired trio Albi and The Wolves and it’s every bit as delightful as you’d expect it to be if you’ve had the pleasure of seeing the group live. Albi and The Wolves have a compelling energy and dynamism to their sound.
Read More...
Andrew Masseurs - Album Review: Traveller In The Sky
02 Jul 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Andrew Masseurs’ new album Traveller In The Sky is so good I almost want him to pull a U2-type stunt and add it to everyone’s playlists for free (no just kidding, you need to buy it so Masseurs gets rewarded for his efforts). Masseurs has always had a tremendous voice, but it wasn’t quite matched entirely by his material or production choices on his debut album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jacquie Walters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem