18 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Beth Danelle - Single Review: Hold On

12 May 2019 // A review by Jacquie Walters

Beth Danelle's new single Hold On is a balanced and well-produced pop track. It has a good hook in the chorus and it will appeal to anyone who is feeling out of sync with their current life situation. Listening to the track I wasn't quite sure what the angst at the heart of it was about and it wasn't particularly clear to me from watching the video either.

I found it difficult to hear the words at times and Danelle's voice was a bit pitchy, not quite reaching and coming in slightly under the higher notes, which detracted from the track a little for me.

Musically however the drums and electric guitar carry the single along well. I felt that a little more editing in studio would have been helpful to make sure that vocals were on point throughout and thus better serving for the overall sound.

Danelle is on a mission chasing a career in music and this is a solid offering whilst on that journey.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Beth Danelle

Auckland Singer/Songwriter Beth Winks has been making a name for herself in the New Zealand music industry with her pop infused ballads.

“I am a pop ballad singer but I have a lot of soul and heart in my music,” says Singer/Songwriter Beth Danelle.

Even from her early stages of life, music has always been a focal part of Beth’s life. “I have been singing for as long as I can remember and it has always been a huge part of my life. I started to pursue a music career in 2012. “This is when I really came out of my shell!” say Beth.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Beth Danelle

Releases

There are no releases to display for Beth Danelle.

Other Reviews By Jacquie Walters

Adam Hattaway and The Haunters - Album Review: Crying Lessons
17 Sep 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Crying Lessons is a ripper of a second album from Adam Hattaway and the Haunters. Full of sass, soul, and purr it veers from 1960's Ray Columbus and the Invaders territory in Until The Right Time to my hands-down favourite the rollicking Rolling Stones-esque good time that is Heartbreak Heart.
Read More...
Gig Review: Hollie Smith @ The Playhouse, Nelson - 22/09/2019
23 Aug 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Hollie Smith has a lovely voice and is a highly-regarded singer known to many for her work with TrinityRoots and Fly My Pretties, and for her vocals on the Don McGlashan penned hit Bathe In The River. Smith has also had significant success in her solo career to date.
Read More...
Albi & The Wolves - Album Review: This Is War
19 Jul 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
This Is War is the second album from Auckland-based, folk-inspired trio Albi and The Wolves and it’s every bit as delightful as you’d expect it to be if you’ve had the pleasure of seeing the group live. Albi and The Wolves have a compelling energy and dynamism to their sound.
Read More...
Andrew Masseurs - Album Review: Traveller In The Sky
02 Jul 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Andrew Masseurs’ new album Traveller In The Sky is so good I almost want him to pull a U2-type stunt and add it to everyone’s playlists for free (no just kidding, you need to buy it so Masseurs gets rewarded for his efforts). Masseurs has always had a tremendous voice, but it wasn’t quite matched entirely by his material or production choices on his debut album.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Album Review: Open
02 Jul 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Louis Baker’s newest album Open is a lush, sonorous collection of immaculately assembled tracks. Baker’s voice is lovely – it’s clear, poised, and in perfect pitch throughout.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mitch James @ Theatre Royal, Nelson - 28/06/2019
29 Jun 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
A youthful capacity crowd packed out Nelson’s Theatre Royal to welcome Mitch James as part of his national Bright Blue Skies tour. Seating had been cleared to allow for audience members to stand and dance up close to the band, but the ushers took a dim view of the enthusiasm in the room when it got to the point of people being raised on top of their friends’ shoulders – the venue isn’t quite ready for that kind of crowd just yet.
Read More...
Emily Rice - EP Review: Dusk
24 Jun 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Emily Rice’s EP Dusk is a gentle, beautiful excursion into the world of lovers everywhere. Rice has a voice like warm honey, reminiscent of Bic Runga and Amiria Grenell.
Read More...
Levi Lights On Project - Single Review: Eyes of a Child
20 Jun 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Levi Sesega's Lights On Project's new single Eyes of a Child is a refreshing antidote to toxic masculinity. It's got a fantastic message about a man with the strength to face himself and his demons so that he can be reborn and experience redemption as a result.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jacquie Walters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem