23 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Cross Street Festival @ Cross Street, Auckland - 02/03/2019

05 Mar 2019 // A review by Lou Clement
It’s a balmy March day and the sun lit the side streets of central Auckland. I arrived at Cross Street, a road parallel to Karangahape Road. It’s well known for its eclectic market and today it played host, for the first time, to a one-day street festival. The street was lined on one side by a car park and on the other side, by the back of the shops and bars which bordered one side of K Road. It’s sort of an unlikely space for a festival; it’s concrete, brutalist and with high rises on both sides. But it turns out it’s the perfect place for an ever so slightly hip street party takeover. There are colourful murals on the walls and the tropical themed graphics of the festival posters were the perfect contrast to the dark street corners. The line-up for this event includes hip hop and soul act Ladi6, psychedelic rockers Racing and creative and electronic music wonder Julien Dyne, amongst others.

The street had been set up with places to sit, buy food as well as a long bar, the stage filling one end of the street. The indoor market was also open, full of interesting ephemera, handmade perfumes and, for future note, an excellent spot for a coffee. There was a relaxed atmosphere as people danced to Auckland-based four piece Racing who took to the stage with their brand of big beat, raucous, energetic and noisy rock. Worth noting was that the sound system used throughout the event was spot on.

At dusk, the festival vibe really began to come alive. I think I felt and saw what the director envisioned when she designed this event. There was a fun, relaxed atmosphere. This was perhaps because the crowd had been warmed up and the place had really filled up, but not to the point where it was too busy; it was enough to get lost in your own dance moves, which I happily did. The benefit of attending an event like Cross Street Festival, was that I felt like I was in my own neighbourhood, and I was being treated to a well curated day of outdoor live music and an atmosphere which felt both jubilant, cool and exciting. As well as the acts there was a DJ playing remixes between sets, and a few hip hop classics were sampled which I particularly enjoyed.

Julien Dyne was an unlikely live act hit for me. I liked his clever and interesting electronic sound, but the performance was about entertainment and even more about an expert talent. In front of a backdrop of glamourous disco-influenced yellow lights a drum kit was set up. Dyne came on stage and unceremoniously began to play, while in the background recordings of his electronic compositions played. The dancing picked up pace. Soon after the set began a little girl dressed in pink came on stage. She started dancing. I assumed it was Dyne’s daughter, but I’m not sure. It was pretty charming, she was a little shy, but, reflecting the tone of the event, soon the crowd were happily copying her moves as she, encouraged, playfully jumped, swung her arms around and spun about. Surely nothing beats the joy of a child dancing around, and it was a vibe we all embraced. It was pretty wonderful. The music, I’m happy to say, was just brilliant.

It was time for food and drink, and then the evening continued and included a standout performance from Ladi6. Her vocals reminded me of a lot of my favourite soul and urban female singers. An after party was booked across the street at Neck of the Woods, where although I’m sure the party vibe continued, I didn’t make it to - next year I hope. Cross Street Festival was perfect pocket sized city event, with a varied and intelligent curation of artists, as well as the event overall, it offered a local celebratory summer experience. For me importantly the space to take a breather from the dancing too.

 

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Ben Ruegg - Album Review: The Road (Remastered)
22 May 2019 // by Lou Clement
Auckland-based musician Ben Ruegg’s album The Road, frets through emotion-laden lyrics and surges from an acoustic-indie tone to a rockier bent with nostalgic guitar solos and drums. The album is stitched together with Ruegg’s refined and considered vocals.
Read More...
Gig Review: Broods @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 16/05/2019
19 May 2019 // by Lou Clement
Broods have found international fame and success and welcoming them back to home turf was an enthusiastic crowd at the grand setting of Auckland Town Hall. Well known sister and brother duo, Georgia and Caleb Nott are Broods, and for this gig they were joined on stage by other musicians to accompany their set.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mermaidens @ Neck of the Woods - 13/04/2019
17 Apr 2019 // by Lou Clement
It was Record Store Day, and vinyl fans across the country were treated to special events and special releases from musicians who year on year support the event. Across Auckland, independent record stores opened their doors following advertising campaigns on the run up to day.
Read More...
Gig Review: Milk & Honey @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 08/03/2019
11 Mar 2019 // by Lou Clement
International Women’s Day, in my experience, is often not marked by celebrations other than something official in the news – something with flowers and over-privileged celebrity-like figures at the mic. It’s the first year I’ve lived in Auckland for it though, and to find that celebrations planned for the occasion with music performances taking place as part of a curated event were exciting.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Lou Clement
Laneway was a different kind of festival. It’s an international touring event, taking in Australia and Singapore.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Little Penny @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 25/01/2019
27 Jan 2019 // by Lou Clement
Three-piece Dead Little Penny were the second act on stage and headlining at the Whammy Bar on Friday evening, launching their new single Depression. The venue was packed out and the fans did little to reduce the temperature of the basement venue.
Read More...
Gig Review: Soaked Oats @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 19/01/2019
24 Jan 2019 // by Lou Clement
Dunedin-based Soaked Oats took the stage on a warm Saturday evening, as part of their Shuggah Doom tour. The four piece are made up of lead vocalist Oscar Mein, guitarist Henry Francis, Max Holmes on bass and Conor Feehly on drums.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem