19 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Aro - Album Review: Manu

29 Nov 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project. It is, in short, delightful.

Having met Charles and Emily and seen Aro play live, when I listened to this album my first thought was this is the perfect fit for them. Combining Charles (Ngapuhi) first learnt language of Te Reo with English, this album captures the fun and cheeky essence of the couple whilst also telling stories inspired by native bird song.

It all started with the song of a Tui and evolved into a magical album of storytelling inspired by nature.

The captivating and hauntingly beautiful sound of taonga puoro played by Shane Mclean can be heard weaving its magical sound throughout the album. The duo effortlessly moves between Te Reo and the English languages creating a fresh sound “through songs that are memorable with words that are encouraging and fun to sing”. This is a sound which should appeal to the target audience of a younger crowd “this uniquely ‘Kiwi’ album can help young people feel proud of who they are”.

These are catchy songs which incorporate the personality of each bird. Each one of the birds which are featured on this album is distinctive to New Zealand. The melodies and rhythms of these native birds can be heard clearly coming through in each track. The couple’s voices complementing one another, creating layers of vocal harmonies on top of each other. “Engaging narrative and vivacious lyrics “The essence of the native birds of Aotearoa has been captured in the narrative of each song through vocal hooks, Maori rhythms, chants and expressive instrumentation”.

As I type this there is a Tui singing to me from the tree outside. Possibly one of the most beautiful sounds you can hope to hear.

Also, as I am in the process of collating my thoughts about Manu, I came across Aro's interview by Lora (also of Muzic.net.nz). I loved what Charles had to say in the very last line “Making this album has been like making a waka that you don’t know what it could do until you put it out to sea”

This is lively and cheerful yet at the same time inspiring and engaging. I was completely captivated by the stories told through the birds and I very much look forward to seeing Aro perform this album live.

This is currently my go-to album to take a break from the world and let the music wash over me. I heard the love which went into making Manu, filter through the music.

Aro suits this couple perfectly ‘Aro mai, Aro atu, Aroha’ To face, to be faced, to love.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Aro

‘Aro mai, Aro atu, aroha’
To face, to be faced, to love.

Aro are a blend of stories in song expressing the people, the culture and the land of Aotearoa.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Aro

Releases

Manu
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Van Jams
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Aro
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Casey Evans - Single Review: Somewhere
07 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A Southern girl from the Catlins, Casey Evans, formally of energetic pop duo ChanTilly, has gone out on her own with her unique blend of soulful country. Somewhere is her debut single, and it has already been added to the Hatchlings playlist on Spotify.
Read More...
Emily Riordan - Single Review: Breathe
01 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It is not often a single stops me in my tracks. But that is what Emily Riordan has done with the acoustic reworking of Breathe from her EP Waves, which was released earlier in 2019.
Read More...
EP Review: Planet Hunter
01 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington four piece Planet Hunter describe themselves as stoner/alternative/prog. Named after the Planet Hunter Satellite which was launched the very same day.
Read More...
Isla - EP Review: Weirdo
30 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of Isla's single release of Kids Like Me, is her new EP Weirdo. This EP follows through with the fresh and quirky sound that we were recently introduced to.
Read More...
The Kendals - Single Review: Mistakes
24 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland three-piece pop group The Kendals have released their second single Mistakes. An atmospheric analogue sounding track with a distinctive synth-pop sound.
Read More...
Isla - Single Review: Kids Like Me
21 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based indie/folk singer songwriter Isla has just released a catchy new single, Kids Like Me. She is the new "kid" on the block adding a fresh funky twist to the NZ indie pop/folk scene.
Read More...
Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - EP Review: Emergency Procedures
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington based student band who describes themselves as “indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4 piece project”. They have just released their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, which took four years in the making; it is a precursor and little teaser to the band’s full length album which will possibly be released mid-2020.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem