19 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Aro - Album Review: Manu

29 Nov 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project. It is, in short, delightful.

Having met Charles and Emily and seen Aro play live, when I listened to this album my first thought was this is the perfect fit for them. Combining Charles (Ngapuhi) first learnt language of Te Reo with English, this album captures the fun and cheeky essence of the couple whilst also telling stories inspired by native bird song.

It all started with the song of a Tui and evolved into a magical album of storytelling inspired by nature.

The captivating and hauntingly beautiful sound of taonga puoro played by Shane Mclean can be heard weaving its magical sound throughout the album. The duo effortlessly moves between Te Reo and the English languages creating a fresh sound “through songs that are memorable with words that are encouraging and fun to sing”. This is a sound which should appeal to the target audience of a younger crowd “this uniquely ‘Kiwi’ album can help young people feel proud of who they are”.

These are catchy songs which incorporate the personality of each bird. Each one of the birds which are featured on this album is distinctive to New Zealand. The melodies and rhythms of these native birds can be heard clearly coming through in each track. The couple’s voices complementing one another, creating layers of vocal harmonies on top of each other. “Engaging narrative and vivacious lyrics “The essence of the native birds of Aotearoa has been captured in the narrative of each song through vocal hooks, Maori rhythms, chants and expressive instrumentation”.

As I type this there is a Tui singing to me from the tree outside. Possibly one of the most beautiful sounds you can hope to hear.

Also, as I am in the process of collating my thoughts about Manu, I came across Aro's interview by Lora (also of Muzic.net.nz). I loved what Charles had to say in the very last line “Making this album has been like making a waka that you don’t know what it could do until you put it out to sea”

This is lively and cheerful yet at the same time inspiring and engaging. I was completely captivated by the stories told through the birds and I very much look forward to seeing Aro perform this album live.

This is currently my go-to album to take a break from the world and let the music wash over me. I heard the love which went into making Manu, filter through the music.

Aro suits this couple perfectly ‘Aro mai, Aro atu, Aroha’ To face, to be faced, to love.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Aro

Aro consists of husband and wife Charles (Ngapuhi, Te Rarawa, Ngati Te Ata, Te Ati Awa) and Emily Looker (nee Rice). The pair share a passion for the power of language and music to tell stories and remind us of our cultural identity. The duo were finalists for the Maioha Award at the Silver Scrolls (2019) and the APRA Best Children’s Song Award for their song Korimako (2020).




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Aro

Releases

He Manu Ano
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Manu
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Van Jams
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Aro
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Eden Iris - Album Review: The Fuchsia & The Grey
07 Apr 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
LA based New Zealand musical artist Eden Iris has just released her debut album The Fuchsia &The Grey; an evocative eleven track album of beautifully crafted indie-folk songs, which "showcases the evolution of an artist who is highly dedicated to her craft". Eden has been growing her fanbase with a steady release of singles in between major projects, ever since moving to Los Angeles when she was nineteen.
Read More...
wells* - EP Review: Tape 3
24 Mar 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based singer, song writer and producer Wells* (Josh Naley) has just released the latest and final instalment in a three part series of mini EPs. Tape 3 concludes his unique personal project.
Read More...
SHAYNA - Single Review: Alchemy Feat. Rei
26 Feb 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch singer-songwriter SHAYNA has teamed up with Wellingtonian hip-hop artist Rei to create a slick new single Alchemy. Described as "Pop & RnB hooks over a progressive bass line & glittery high-level production", this is a track which flows seamlessly.
Read More...
Grace Duncan - EP Review: Ruminations
25 Feb 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally from Hawkes Bay and currently residing in Wellington is composer and singer-songwriter Grace Duncan who has just released her eight track EP, Ruminations. Offering delicate layers of sound and graceful vocals, making this a haunting yet serenely beautiful collection of previously released singles.
Read More...
JANG - EP Review: COPS
31 Jan 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based, energetic three piece punk outfit JANG have just released their debut EP COPS. The band’s sound described as "Surf Punk Slam" is summed up in this catchy tumultuous wave of five tracks, which took almost two years to complete.
Read More...
Anthony Coulter - Album Review: Memories
18 Jan 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga based singer, song writer and musician Anthony Coulter has just released his debut album Memories. Twelve tracks resplendent in smooth melodic vocal style and theatrical wonder.
Read More...
Iris Zhang - Single Review: Small Ache
14 Dec 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Iris Zhang is a lawyer by qualification, but a musician by heart. She is an incredibly talented young lady, not only academically but also in the musical arts.
Read More...
Jennifer K. Austin - Album Review: Journey
07 Dec 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
American born Kiwi singer Jennifer K. Austin has recently released her second studio album Journey, following on from the release of the first three singles (Shadow, Misery and Old Gin), this beautiful ten track album is highly influenced by her life story.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem