20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Julia Deans - Album Review: We Light Fire

11 May 2018 // A review by Jacquie Walters

The acclaimed Modern Fables was always going to be a tough act to follow and Julia Deans has taken her time to follow it – with a full seven-year gap between album releases. She hasn’t been resting on her laurels in between times, however, with a number of noteworthy ventures filling the space. My personal favourite was her spellbinding show paying tribute to the songs of Joni Mitchell.

Deans is in fine vocal form on We Light Fire with the opening track Clandestine providing a compelling performance. Surely Deans must be counted amongst our top contemporary female vocalists. Her control and range is impressive and I found myself hanging on every note of this mesmerising track.

Walking in the Sun will be familiar to listeners, having been released as a single last year to whet our appetites for the full album.

The middle of the album, while solid, doesn’t pack the same creative punch as the its bookend tracks. I found several of the tracks overlong and perhaps a little busy and overblown production-wise. 

The title track We Light Fire is a whole different matter, however. It’s absolutely fantastic. It’s sparse, subtle, lyrically elegant and perfectly balanced. “All I want in this life is a light to relieve me from the cold and the dark 'til the dawn,” sings Deans. At its best Deans' music provides just such a light, and this track is the stand out of the album.

Burning Cars has a riveting air of menace about it and a serpentine vocal line. Centre is a cool and slinky Sunday morning track to listen to with the windows open and the curtains billowing. Chelsea is very strongly reminiscent of Joni Mitchell and clearly a sonic homage to the great artist herself. Very few vocalists could do such a track justice in the way that Deans does. It’s simply glorious.

This is another strong album from Deans. While it’s not the breakthrough album that Modern Fables was, it’s still an excellent collection of tracks from one of our leading musical lights. When We Light Fire hits its sweet spots it’s utterly gorgeous.

★★★★ (4 stars)



Review written by Jacquie Walters

 

About Julia Deans

From honey-sweet falsetto to menacing growl, the voice of Julia Deans has offered light and shade to a variety of musical endeavours over the years. From fronting Fur Patrol’s muscular pop-rock to her electro-pop stylings with Tiki Taane; from co-conspirator with renowned supergroup The Adults to sultry chanteuse with the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra; Deans has never shied from adding new strings to her bow. After slipping off her shoes as the charismatic front woman for Fur Patrol, Julia has left her Melbourne home of ten years and returned to NZ to step effortlessly into the role of solo artist – delivering some of her most exquisite songs yet in the beautiful debut album Modern Fables.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Julia Deans

Releases

We Light Fire
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Modern Fables
Year: 2010
Type: Album
A New Dialogue
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jacquie Walters

Al Fraser - Album Review: Toitu Te Puoro
18 Nov 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Toitu Te Puoro by Al Fraser is a beautiful creation from beginning to end. It’s exquisitely presented in a well-designed CD case with accompanying booklet, which is important given the narrative it contains about Fraser’s journey with taonga puoro and its photographs and descriptions of the instruments made and played by him.
Read More...
The Flaming Mudcats - Album Review: Cut Loose
09 Nov 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
The Flaming Mudcats' Cut Loose celebrates the band's tenth anniversary in fine style. This is a solid, rocking blues album from a well-established and well-loved kiwi act.
Read More...
TUi MAMAKi - Album Review: Fly
29 Oct 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Tui Mamaki's album Fly is an ancestral crie du coeur inspired by her time spent living in Bulgaria. Tui was born in France and raised in Aotearoa/New Zealand and there is a certain global transcendence to her music.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Single/Video Review: I Got The Lonely
08 Oct 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Mel Parsons has a gift for writing great hooks - and her latest single I Got The Lonely is an excellent example of that gift in action. I Got The Lonely is a well-executed, clean, and radio-friendly teaser for Parsons' full-length album due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Albi and The Wolves - Single Review: It Ain't Easy
08 Oct 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
It Ain't Easy is a 'rollicking good time' of a single from Tui Award-winning group Albi and the Wolves. Tight-as-a-drum vocal harmonies pack a punch from the very outset and the perfect pacing of this track as a whole maintains the listener's interest throughout.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pink @ Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin - 01/09/2018
02 Sep 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Pink took Dunedin to heaven tonight, figuratively and literally, with a stellar performance featuring acrobatics, mesmerising dance, theatre, and powerhouse vocals. The crowd came ready for a good time and when Pink took to the stage slightly after 9pm she declared her intention (following a tongue in cheek fanfare on solo recorder) with Get The Party Started, the star herself swinging from a giant chandelier in a black sequined one-piece suit and singing while hanging upside down.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bob Dylan @ Horncastle Arena, Christchurch - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
“Expectation is the mother of crisis” as my father is fond of saying. Perhaps no performer visiting New Zealand of late has had the weight of expectation more firmly foisted upon him than Bob Dylan.
Read More...
Gig Review: Holly Arrowsmith @ Fairfield House, Nelson - 22/08/2018
23 Aug 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
A pure voice is hard to find. Such a voice underpinned by a soul that reaches out to mesmerise and enchant an audience is even rarer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jacquie Walters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem