12 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

I Am Giant - Album Review: Life in Captivity

02 Apr 2018 // A review by ShelleySketch

I Am Giant are back with a new album, Life in Captivity, which is also their last.

It has a simple but strong album cover. The silhouette of a female is breaking up into birds. The blue tinge, sky background and birds help provide a feeling of freedom.

The album as a whole seems to blur together due to all the tracks being rather similar, however, it is a grungy rock album that is a great listen nonetheless. Each instrument sounds like it has a platform of its own. You can clearly distinguish Aja Timu’s guitar riffs, Paul Matthews' bass picks and Shelton Woolright’s solid drum hits. The first track, Just A Fucking Lie, has a small spoken intro before it dives straight in and is somewhat of a screaming statement that kicks off the album. Sex Sex Sex doesn't feel like a track either, it’s more of an interlude, with a male speaking about being friends with benefits and how it affects his decision to travel. I didn’t really get it, but it definitely helps to break up the album a bit.

The track that caught me off guard was the cover of the Dragon classic Rain, as I did not expect a cover, although it is very well done. A track that stood out for me would have to be Don’t Look Back. It’s a simple track but seems to resonate with me the strongest. The vocals on this album are great with the clean vocals being complimented by incredible rough, raw screams. Aja, Shelton and Paul are definitely going out with a bang!

I Am Giant are doing a NZ tour for the album but also as a goodbye and thank you. Be sure to give the new album a listen and catch them at a show near you!


Review written by Shelley Te Haara.

 

About I Am Giant

With an impressive 70,000+ loyal fans on Facebook and over 1,000 international members of their ‘IAG Army’, I Am Giant have amassed a huge worldwide following with four #1 rock singles and a certified gold album in New Zealand, music videos featuring skate and surfing icons Tony Hawk and Kelly Slater, opening for Slash in Australia, a UK tour with Taking Back Sunday, performances at Big Day Out in Auckland and Sydney, opening for Stone Temple Pilots in Singapore, touring throughout Asia several times, and playing the prestigious Viper Room and Mercury Lounge in the US.

Their debut album The Horrifying Truth, was recorded with acclaimed producer Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Dead Letter Circus, The Butterfly Effect). I Am Giant bound together what they describe as “a collection of stories, thoughts, observations and exploration” into a cohesive and hard-hitting explosion of sound and melody. From the first song Purple Heart to closer After The War, the sharp lyrical themes draw the listener into the band’s growing awareness of mortality and loss of innocence. The Horrifying Truth is pure, unadulterated rock, with its heart on its sleeve and an unquenchable fire in its soul.

October 2012 saw I Am Giant release The Horrifying Truth in the UK and Europe, where their single Purple Heart won support on BBC Radio One as Zane Lowe's ‘Next Hype’ , XFM, Kerrang! Radio and Q Radio as well as hitting the No 1 spot on Polish Radio Eska Rock.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for I Am Giant

Releases

Life In Captivity
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Science & Survival
Year: 2014
Type: Album
The Horrifying Truth
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
City Limits/Neon Sunrise
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By ShelleySketch

ABRZY - EP Review: Night Fall
11 Jul 2018 // by ShelleySketch
After interviewing ABRZY, I knew I had to be the one to review his brand-new EP Night Fall. This short EP consists of three tracks; his most recent single Top Down, which has been reviewed here, and two new previously unreleased tracks Night Fall kicks off with the enterprising track, Rock Your Body.
Read More...
Times x Two - EP Review: Late Night Legacy
26 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
Times x Two have been somewhat of a staple in the New Zealand festival scene for a while, but they have now stepped up and are showing NZ just how big they can be with the release of their new EP Late Night Legacy. The EP cover art is strong and regal, with Cader and Zee against a rich red background; somewhat of a reflection of the objective of the EP itself, as there are some solid tracks that are sure to blow up.
Read More...
Thomston - Single & Video Review: Acid Rain
25 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
Thomston has been rather absent from the public eye lately but decided to surprise us by releasing a new single and video for Acid Rain.  The single cover art has somewhat a very retro feel, thanks to the clothing choices of a metallic button up with cream pants used in the image.
Read More...
Janine - Album Review: 99
12 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
Kiwi songstress Janine has been hustling hard since jumping overseas and it seems to be paying off. After releasing a few singles in the lead up, her debut album 99 is finally here.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Galatos, Auckland - 02/06/2018
05 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
It’s a damp night, it was 8pm and the doors opened. The crowd began to pack in and I’ll admit there was more than I expected.
Read More...
Seth Haapu - Single Review: New Wave
03 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
In his first release since Volume II in 2107, Seth Haapu returns with his beautiful new singe New Wave. I’ve noticed Seth sticks to a theme of nature that has been a part of his previous releases and is a part of who he is.
Read More...
Mitch James - Single Review: 21
03 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
With his most recent single release in 2017, Mitch James has returned with a beautiful acoustic track entitled 21. The music is a simple accompaniment of a piano and a guitar, with what sounds like a finger snap or clap.
Read More...
Gig Review: Josh Leys @ Mt Eden Village Centre, Auckland - 18/05/2018
02 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
As part of NZ Music Month, Auckland local Josh Leys played an intimate show at Mt Eden Village Centre. The atmosphere made me feel a bit like I was at a school dance.
Read More...
View All Articles By ShelleySketch

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem