17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mitch James - Single Review: 21

03 Jun 2018 // A review by ShelleySketch
With his most recent single release in 2017, Mitch James has returned with a beautiful acoustic track entitled 21. The music is a simple accompaniment of a piano and a guitar, with what sounds like a finger snap or clap. The song somewhat makes me think of Ed Sheeran, who he recently opened for, however, Mitch has a more raspier tone. Mitch stands out in his musical talents, with his raw voice becoming the real statement of this track. I think there’s something incredible about hearing someone’s true voice rather than the polished vocals we usually hear on a lot of music these days.

21 is about how Mitch has changed over the course of a couple of years and how things were easier, which I’m sure everyone can relate to - I know I do. The single cover looks like Mitch playing an intimate bar gig of some sort, possibly making it a throwback to when he was actually 21. It looks very rustic and suits the track well.

I think this is a beautiful song which could be relatable for a lot of people. I really enjoyed listening to it and I look forward to hearing more from Mitch.

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Shelley Te Haara
 

About Mitch James

Mitch James is a 22 year old singer-songwriter currently based in Auckland.

After a whirlwind few years busking and playing small shows around Europe, Mitch signed with Sony Music and released his first EP offering, quickly racing to 20,000,000 streams in the space of a year.

His highly anticipated debut album will be available mid 2018.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mitch James

Releases

There are no releases to display for Mitch James.

Other Reviews By ShelleySketch

ABRZY - EP Review: Night Fall
11 Jul 2018 // by ShelleySketch
After interviewing ABRZY, I knew I had to be the one to review his brand-new EP Night Fall. This short EP consists of three tracks; his most recent single Top Down, which has been reviewed here, and two new previously unreleased tracks Night Fall kicks off with the enterprising track, Rock Your Body.
Read More...
Times x Two - EP Review: Late Night Legacy
26 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
Times x Two have been somewhat of a staple in the New Zealand festival scene for a while, but they have now stepped up and are showing NZ just how big they can be with the release of their new EP Late Night Legacy. The EP cover art is strong and regal, with Cader and Zee against a rich red background; somewhat of a reflection of the objective of the EP itself, as there are some solid tracks that are sure to blow up.
Read More...
Thomston - Single & Video Review: Acid Rain
25 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
Thomston has been rather absent from the public eye lately but decided to surprise us by releasing a new single and video for Acid Rain.  The single cover art has somewhat a very retro feel, thanks to the clothing choices of a metallic button up with cream pants used in the image.
Read More...
Janine - Album Review: 99
12 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
Kiwi songstress Janine has been hustling hard since jumping overseas and it seems to be paying off. After releasing a few singles in the lead up, her debut album 99 is finally here.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Galatos, Auckland - 02/06/2018
05 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
It’s a damp night, it was 8pm and the doors opened. The crowd began to pack in and I’ll admit there was more than I expected.
Read More...
Seth Haapu - Single Review: New Wave
03 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
In his first release since Volume II in 2107, Seth Haapu returns with his beautiful new singe New Wave. I’ve noticed Seth sticks to a theme of nature that has been a part of his previous releases and is a part of who he is.
Read More...
Gig Review: Josh Leys @ Mt Eden Village Centre, Auckland - 18/05/2018
02 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
As part of NZ Music Month, Auckland local Josh Leys played an intimate show at Mt Eden Village Centre. The atmosphere made me feel a bit like I was at a school dance.
Read More...
Sons Of Zion - Album Review: Vantage Point
28 May 2018 // by ShelleySketch
Sons of Zion have been rather quiet since their 2017 EP, The Jukebox Suite, but after the release of their single Drift Away, you could really sense something great was coming. That something is their new album Vantage Point.
Read More...
View All Articles By ShelleySketch

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem