18 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight

30 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.

2017 has been quite a year for this talented musician, with two California tours, a 18 date national tour of New Zealand, the release of her first two singles King For A Day and Sold (Take A Shot)and her debut solo album Taking Flight, not to mention all the other amazing experiences and people she has met along the way.

Emma, formerly the front woman of Kiwi rock band Static Era (Victor Pesch, Chris Yong and Dave Rhodes) is not only a talented musician, but she also comes across as a genuine and down to earth person and this is reflected in her music.

Having reviewed King For A Day, I was almost expecting a Pop/Hip-Hop vibe to this album. But I was wrong. Four songs into it and it became clear that this is an album of honest emotion, it is strong and raw and quite frankly beautiful “A lot of my stuff these days is a little more Pink meets Adele meets Tracy Chapman, which I like. It's got a hint of aggression and sassiness but with a funky edge”.

Emma's writing is inspired by life and this shines through on each of the 8 tracks. This is real meaningful storytelling.

Sold (Take A Shot) Feat. Tony G is a strong start to this album with a powerful message of 'my body my choice'. This track has the Hip-Hop tone I was expecting but as I start to work through the songs track 3 made me sit up and really take notice. Be Brave has a beautiful melody and lyrics which are thought provoking “Open your mind won't you dream a little bigger” this is moving, elegant and captivating “Even the strongest sometimes have their days, just be brave”. Spine tingling, one of those songs which give you a slap across the face and wake you up from the daily fog which clouds your mind. In my opinion this is a hit waiting to pounce on a unsuspecting or perhaps suspecting public.

Track 4 I Can See You, speeds things up a notch and shows the diversity of Emma's musical talent. Catchy is how I would describe it, “Losing all control in the rock and roll”.

Emma G has a powerful voice and this is evident in each of the tracks. I thought nothing could top Be Brave, but then came track 8 It Was Only You, An original mix of drum n bass with a classical twist combined with her stunning voice, haunting, dramatic and infused with that bone shaking bass which I am slightly addicted to. This track has been mixed faultlessly. Close your eyes and crank up the volume on this one.

An album of many faceted layers, showcasing Emma's diverse talent. Stunning from beginning to end.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Emma G

A combination of Adele and Pink, with Tracy Chapman as Godmother; Emma G describes her sound as soul pop-rock.

Musician, singer, songwriter, Emma G's sultry tones are punctuated with a gutsy quality that hammers home her messages of empowerment, love and respect.

After releasing eight singles, and successfully charting a number 10 album on the New Zealand Top 40 with her band, Static Era; Emma G moved to Washington DC from Auckland, New Zealand to pursue a solo career in music in November 2015. Working full time as a street performer, she also plays in various clubs, bars and community events throughout the city - and often far beyond. In the last year, she has played The Whitehouse, The Kennedy Center, The National Cherry Blossom-, and Smithsonian Folklife festivals, The Atlas Performing Arts Theater, toured California twice (including iconic music venues The Mint and The Viper Room), released two solo acoustic EP's, her debut studio single King for a Day, been featured three times on Fox5, in Washingtonian Magazine's "Best of DC" edition, and had some radio play.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Emma G

Releases

Taking Flight
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Release: Not Another Ballad
22 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian-born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released a brand new single Not Another Ballad - an energetic and cheery number, guaranteed to get you moving your booty across the dance floor. Conceived from the willingness to placate her band with the promise of “not another ballad”, the song of the same name was born.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - Single Review: Between The Lines
15 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based RnB sensation with the breath-taking soulful voice; Bailey Wiley has just released her latest single Between The Lines. This track gives fans a glimpse inside Bailey's mind as she falls in love.
Read More...
Jan Hellriegel - Album Review: Sportsman Of The Year
06 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Jan Hellriegel is somewhat of an NZ musical icon, Songwriter, performer, producer, music publisher, copyright expert, mother and now author she has a name many of us of a certain age would have heard of. Her latest body of work Sportsman Of The Year appears to be a defining moment in not only her musical life, but also her personal one.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters and James Wilkinson - Single Review: Spaces Between Words
25 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Nelson based singer songwriter Jacquie Walters is about to release an alluring new single Spaces Between Words, featuring James Wilkinson on bass and Jacquie on guitar and vocals. Jacquie and James have shared many musical memories spanning over 25 years.
Read More...
Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem