21 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight

30 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.

2017 has been quite a year for this talented musician, with two California tours, a 18 date national tour of New Zealand, the release of her first two singles King For A Day and Sold (Take A Shot)and her debut solo album Taking Flight, not to mention all the other amazing experiences and people she has met along the way.

Emma, formerly the front woman of Kiwi rock band Static Era (Victor Pesch, Chris Yong and Dave Rhodes) is not only a talented musician, but she also comes across as a genuine and down to earth person and this is reflected in her music.

Having reviewed King For A Day, I was almost expecting a Pop/Hip-Hop vibe to this album. But I was wrong. Four songs into it and it became clear that this is an album of honest emotion, it is strong and raw and quite frankly beautiful “A lot of my stuff these days is a little more Pink meets Adele meets Tracy Chapman, which I like. It's got a hint of aggression and sassiness but with a funky edge”.

Emma's writing is inspired by life and this shines through on each of the 8 tracks. This is real meaningful storytelling.

Sold (Take A Shot) Feat. Tony G is a strong start to this album with a powerful message of 'my body my choice'. This track has the Hip-Hop tone I was expecting but as I start to work through the songs track 3 made me sit up and really take notice. Be Brave has a beautiful melody and lyrics which are thought provoking “Open your mind won't you dream a little bigger” this is moving, elegant and captivating “Even the strongest sometimes have their days, just be brave”. Spine tingling, one of those songs which give you a slap across the face and wake you up from the daily fog which clouds your mind. In my opinion this is a hit waiting to pounce on a unsuspecting or perhaps suspecting public.

Track 4 I Can See You, speeds things up a notch and shows the diversity of Emma's musical talent. Catchy is how I would describe it, “Losing all control in the rock and roll”.

Emma G has a powerful voice and this is evident in each of the tracks. I thought nothing could top Be Brave, but then came track 8 It Was Only You, An original mix of drum n bass with a classical twist combined with her stunning voice, haunting, dramatic and infused with that bone shaking bass which I am slightly addicted to. This track has been mixed faultlessly. Close your eyes and crank up the volume on this one.

An album of many faceted layers, showcasing Emma's diverse talent. Stunning from beginning to end.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Emma G

A combination of Adele and Pink, with Tracy Chapman as Godmother; Emma G describes her sound as soul pop-rock.

Musician, singer, songwriter, Emma G's sultry tones are punctuated with a gutsy quality that hammers home her messages of empowerment, love and respect.

After releasing eight singles, and successfully charting a number 10 album on the New Zealand Top 40 with her band, Static Era; Emma G moved to Washington DC from Auckland, New Zealand to pursue a solo career in music in November 2015. Working full time as a street performer, she also plays in various clubs, bars and community events throughout the city - and often far beyond. In the last year, she has played The Whitehouse, The Kennedy Center, The National Cherry Blossom-, and Smithsonian Folklife festivals, The Atlas Performing Arts Theater, toured California twice (including iconic music venues The Mint and The Viper Room), released two solo acoustic EP's, her debut studio single King for a Day, been featured three times on Fox5, in Washingtonian Magazine's "Best of DC" edition, and had some radio play.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Emma G

Releases

Taking Flight
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Justin 'Firefly' Clarke - Single Review: Astral Tumbleweed
14 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Justin Firefly is a Master's Graduate of the New Zealand School of Music and seasoned guitarist based in Wellington. He has traversed the globe performing with such acts as The Woolshed Sessions, Fly My Pretties, Fat Freddy’s Drop and Jess Chambers and the Firefly Orchestra.
Read More...
Scott MCB - Single Review: That Day
10 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Scott MCB is a singer songwriter from Auckland and a member of The Local Musician’s Music Network (LMM). He has been busy developing his music style and has just released his latest single That Day along with his second video.
Read More...
JCK - Album Review: Input/Output
25 Aug 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Kiwi hip-hop artist JCK has just dropped a mean double album. Input/Output is 19 tracks of varying styles of hip-hop and rap which should be enough to satisfy even the most discerning hip-hop connoisseur.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - LP Review: Raw Selfie
08 Aug 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based musician Darryl Baser released the Raw Selfie LP back in 2016 on Zelle Records and Powertool Records. ‘Selfie’ relating to the modern obsession with taking photos of yourself and posting to social straight away.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Super Heavy Rap Shit Feat. Pakkz Tha General & Alpha
28 Jul 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
This is the continuation of a journey for me, delving into the world of Rap. And because I never do anything by half, I have jumped in boots and all.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Cutting Strings
27 Jul 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mecuzine is a five-piece Indie rock band from Auckland, and they're making a name for themselves in the music world for their dynamic and exciting mix of music genres “Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules”. The band has just released their debut album Cutting Strings which was recorded at Silverpoint Studios, Auckland and mastered in Nashville, engineered by Kane Bennett.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: Reach Out
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
LA Thompson (Shirley Howe), the founder of Local Musicians Music (LMM), has released another beautiful single titled Reach Out, from her album New Sun Rising. This is a song about love and light and it was written for the people she loves.
Read More...
Laconic Zephyr - Single Review: Cools You Down
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Laconic Zephyr have certainly made themselves heard with their release Cools You Down. This five-piece band from New Plymouth have rocketed to a number one spot on the New Zealand iTunes Rock Chart, with a song which only took 20 minutes to write by the bands lead vocalist and bass guitarist Joss Bines.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • THE RINGER
    Eminem
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • FALL
    Eminem
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem