18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Biobird - EP Review: Tribes

19 Sep 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Tribes is the debut EP from Biobird, it is inspired by all things bass. If my investigative skills are on form, Biobird is Caleb Bird, based in the Waikato and handy on the mixing desk.

This EP caters to those who love that feeling you get when vibrations from the sound work their way through your body and make your teeth rattle, this album seems to always be just on the edge of an decent base drop. Electronica, Drum & bass mixed with dubstep and chill. There is some nice deep booming bass mixed with a chilled out vibe, however it is not for the fainthearted, but if low slow body throbbing EDM (I am using this as an umbrella term) is your thing then Tribes is definitely worth a listen.

4 tracks ranging between 3 and 4 minutes, so you get a decent amount of music on this EP.

“Good music is music that can be felt physically” - I reckon if you cranked this up on gear which would satisfy any respectable audiophile, then you will feel it in your bones.

Those in the know will make up their own minds about Tribes; there are sub-categories within sub-categories throughout the electronica genre, which I don’t dare try to pretend and sound knowledgeable about, but I do like a bit of bass and have many years of waiting for the  beat drop so I recommend this is worthy of a listen.

Tribal drums on steroids. Play it loud, on decent speakers. “Music is not what we do. It’s who we are”.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Biobird

Releases

Balance LP
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Counter Productive
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Tribes
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem