17 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Primacy - Gig Review: Primacy, Remote & Pull Down the Sun @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 12/08/2017

Primacy - Gig Review: Primacy, Remote & Pull Down the Sun @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 12/08/2017

14 Aug 2017 // A review by Sass_Metal

Last night's show was one of those really awesome ones where there are all those people you haven’t seen in what feels like a hundred years and it was definitely a night that could have gone on for a few more hours! The bands all added to that excitement though and I’m pretty sure when I see any of these bands again I will be reminded of this night and the people, music, laughter and memories. My only regret is missing the first act the solo and acoustic set by Bryce Patten but I heard very good things from those that did see him. It was also a night I wished I wasn’t reviewing numerous times because the band’s music and energy made me want to dance and headbang all night (which I did) and had to remind myself to take notes of the bands in between enjoying myself. As I write this my stomach is sore from laughing and my neck and back are sore from moshing and head banging – definitely signs of an amazing night.

Pull Down the Sun was the first full piece band and this is a band I’m so happy to know about now and I kind of feel like I’ve been under a rock not having heard or seen them before! They reminded me of so many bands – a little bit of NZ Legends Cripple Mr Onion with the crazy time signatures and very much like Meshuggah with a more ambient/psychedelic feel. It’s been a few months since I have seen a new band I haven’t seen before and it’s normally hard to dance or mosh because you don’t know where the music will go but as soon as Pull Down the Sun took to the stage and started playing I instantly wanted to move! 

Pull Down the Sun are a band in their own league there’s no way to pigeon hole them in one particular genre. Punk, Grunge, Heavy Metal, Thrash, Math Metal, subtle elements of Death Metal my notes from the show read like a glossary index of Metal and rock subgenres. Pull down the Sun take the listener on a journey as every song is so different. They put on the performance to go with the amazing music as well.  I love it when bands put effort into their shows with synchronized headbanging etc. and this was emphasised more by there not many people up the front of the bar – but Pull down the Sun didn’t care they were there to have fun and the people that were there, definitely enjoyed the set. My notes for Pull Down the Sun end with this gem I’ll leave you with – This is the kind of music that makes my soul happy.  Do yourselves a favour and get out and check out this Whanganui based band the next time they are playing in your town.

Primacy were up next. I was outside when they started and watched their first song by the outside side of stage area at the Kings Arms but it didn’t take me long to run around and join the dancing crowd. I’m glad I took the time to sit back for the first song though as it was the only time during their set I was standing still. I loved Jason’s use of the mega phone during some of their songs, it added a depth and ambience to his already amazing voice but also a depth and added element in the visual effect of the bands performance as a whole. 

Watching a Primacy set is a real treat with all of the musicians being extremely talented. I was blown away by Jason McIver’s vocal abilities. I’ve worked with previous bands he has been in and it has been maybe 4 years since I have seen him perform again. His voice has matured and he has found his style and owns it! I think it also helps that he is no longer playing guitar while performing and is now able to focus on his abilities as a vocalist, he is definitely one of NZ’s best vocalists.

The song that stands out for me the most from Primacy’s set was their new song they played for the first time in Auckland called Scorpion was played live for the 2nd time last night, with the first time being at Down the Rabbit Hole event. I absolutely loved it! It was probably the heaviest song of their set and with the double kicks featuring prominently it was awesome to see Will let loose behind the kit. It had a much darker ambience to it than other Primacy songs and with the distorted bass and guitars all combine to make one dark masterful song. Primacy are playing next weekend at The Brutalitees Birthday bash and I really hope they pull out Scorpion for the crowd again!

Last it was time for Remote who are celebrating 20 years of music this year! I’ve seen them a few times over the years at various sized venues and last night was one of the best performances I’ve seen from them. The band was on fire! Rob is a shredding machine! Most definitely one of New Zealand’s best guitarists. I love Andy’s voice and it’s easy to forget what a powerful presence he is on stage, when you talk to him off stage as he is one of those chameleons who go from friendly, kind soul off stage to brutal beast on stage – THOSE GROWLS! So powerful! Remote also features Will Stairmand on drums (also in Primacy) and last night I came to the realisation that if this man is behind the drums any band he performs in will be amazing!

We were in for a treat last night with brand new songs not heard before! Remote are currently working on a new EP that will be released in the next few months. There was two songs off it that I loved - A Team and Red Hat. A Team was a song that took you on a journey through the history of rock music I felt. Parts of it with a grungy tone, then psychedelic then on to funky bass and guitars. I loved it when they did a cheeky stop towards the end and the crowd all cheered thinking it was over but nope! Just a little cheeky stop. Red Hat which will be their next single they release started how I LOVE – with bass and drums and was another song where I found my self-captivated by Will’s masterful drums. 

This is a night I could have relived many times. For a show organized in such a short amount of time it was one of the better ones I’ve been to this year. I can’t wait to see the bands live again! Check them out if you haven’t! Well worth it.

 

About Primacy

Introducing Primacy, a 5-piece Groove Metal band hailing from West Auckland. Primacy formed in mid 2014 after the split of well know local bands The Blacklight Configuration, Overhaile and Heathen Eyes – the timing was right, the songs were right and the team was right, Primacy came together as a collective around guitarist Adrian Brausch's new and unused material from his former band Overhaile.

Primacy's set takes you on a journey through the metal genre, from songs inspired by bands such as Lamb Of God and American Headcharge to their softer side inspired by bands such as A Perfect Circle and Alice In Chains.

Primacy played their first show to a packed Eden Bar in Auckland city and after 3 shows the band found themselves being hand picked to open for Head Casey at a private industry showcase featuring former Dio guitarist Tracy G.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Primacy

Releases

III
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Failure and Sacrifice
Year: 2016
Type: EP
The Demos
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Sass_Metal

Gig Review: Plum Green @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 1/02/2019
08 Feb 2019 // by Sass_Metal
Occasionally a show happens where every single performance artist is on fire, performing from the soul, baring everything, connecting with the audience and feeding off the audience, in that magical, etheric zone where performing artist and audience becomes one. Right from the first note of Shoddy the crowd was dancing, their attentions on the various rituals occurring before them.
Read More...
Gig Review: Slash w/ Myles Kennedy and Devilskin @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 26/01/2019
27 Jan 2019 // by Sass_Metal
As per usual I was running late to the show, so I missed the first few opening songs of (not so local, now) legends Devilskin. Writing this now I am so gutted I didn’t get to witness their powerful set in its entirety as, in my opinion, they showed up the headliners and it was clear from the amount of Devilskin merch that fans were wearing around the show and from the crowd response that this was indeed Devilskin’s night.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - EP Review: One by One & Two by Two
16 Nov 2018 // by Sass_Metal
About 10 years ago if I had heard this EP I wouldn’t have been able to appreciate its complex intricacies. As I write this, I’m on my 5th listen and I keep noticing more; more layers, depth, complexities I missed the previous times I’ve listened to it.
Read More...
Levi Lights On Project - Gig Review: Levi with The Free Wind @ Wine Cellar, Auckland
18 Sep 2018 // by Sass_Metal
I have seen both Brendon and Levi perform with their Rock bands before – Brendon Thomas & the Vibes and Tribal State and knew how talented and how sonically stunning their voices are but I wasn’t prepared for how these two truly talented musicians would sound with the emphasis being more on their voices, than being backed by full bands. Normally I find myself getting bored with too much clean singing and often prefer death metal growls to clean singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Katy Perry @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/08/2018
21 Aug 2018 // by Sass_Metal
This is the story of how a heavy metal journalist ended up surprisingly enjoying themselves at a POP show – the amazing extravaganza that is Katy Perry’s ‘Witness’ tour. I knew that as a pop show it would be an amazing show - that’s an understatement!
Read More...
Gig Review: Left or Right @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 13/07/2018
10 Aug 2018 // by Sass_Metal
After 6 months of traveling Europe and the UK I’ve found it an adjustment coming back to NZ for a number of reasons – one of which being shows not having the first band on till 9pm, when in UK and England 9pm would be the 2nd to last band as most shows finish around 11pm which is AMAZING – especially on a week night, another adjustment is that in New Zealand (well for 4/5 shows I’ve attended, worked or reviewed in the last two weeks) is that there’s hardly anyone at the show for the first band. It’s so hard going first in Auckland, as it’s common to pre-drink and not make it out till 10, but Leighton Fairle did an amazing job.
Read More...
Farandicus - Single Reviews: Blue Funk and What to Give
04 May 2018 // by Sass_Metal
Farandicus are a 7-piece soul funk band from Whangarei combing their different backgrounds to create a unique sound that will get your soul singing and feet tapping. They have recently released two new singles Blue Funk and What to Give, and I think are both songs everyone can relate to – especially their lyrical content.
Read More...
His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sass_Metal
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times I’ve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutalitee’s Birthday Bash and of course all the times I’ve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sass_Metal

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem