14 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Eight Eyed Orchid - EP Review: One by One & Two by Two

16 Nov 2018 // A review by Sarah Sampson

About 10 years ago if I had heard this EP I wouldn’t have been able to appreciate its complex intricacies. As I write this, I’m on my 5th listen and I keep noticing more; more layers, depth, complexities I missed the previous times I’ve listened to it. One thing I know for sure is that I absolutely wish this was a full length - I can’t wait for that to come, when it does.

None of the 3-tracks are the same and each track moves through many different emotions, genres and influences I could easily write 1000 words on only these 3 songs. I try not to draw similarities with other artists but the complex layers in these songs makes me want to as it’s easier to put into words in relation to other artists like Opeth, Anathema, Sixes, Cripple Mr Onion, Shepherds of Cassini and Meshuggah to name a few. I didn’t read the accompanying press release until after I had listened to it and after reading their about influences and different musical backgrounds all of the layers now make perfect sense. The hectic time signatures nods both to the Jazz and classical backgrounds of the members, while also effortlessly blending into the heavier elements of metal and hard rock. The Press Release mentions prog - rock numerous times but I’d hesitate to call them this, they are way more hectic and heavier.

This is an uncharacteristically short review for me, the layers and complexities are almost impossible to pull apart and put into words. If you like your music tasty, complex, yet haunting while also being heavy as fuck then One by One and Two by Two is the EP for you! Not everyone will understand this complex piece of work, but it’s worth the ear worms! Eight Eyed Orchid have a release show is on the 22nd November at Valhalla, Wellington - if you are in Wellington please go and tell me what they are like live. This is a band now on my bucket list to see live when I am back in New Zealand.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Eight Eyed Orchid

Wellington alt-metal quartet Eight Eyed Orchid deal in dense, dynamic song journeys. Though the members of EEO come from a range of musical backgrounds—extreme metal, neo-soul, jazz, contemporary classical—they share a love of progressive rock. Hence, epic riffs are pulled through winding song structures with restless rhythmic shifts, guided by versatile vocals that range from soaring melodicism to cathartic screams to dexterous throat singing.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eight Eyed Orchid

Releases

There are no releases to display for Eight Eyed Orchid.

Other Reviews By Sarah Sampson

Levi Sesega - Gig Review: Levi with The Free Wind @ Wine Cellar, Auckland
18 Sep 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
I have seen both Brendon and Levi perform with their Rock bands before – Brendon Thomas & the Vibes and Tribal State and knew how talented and how sonically stunning their voices are but I wasn’t prepared for how these two truly talented musicians would sound with the emphasis being more on their voices, than being backed by full bands. Normally I find myself getting bored with too much clean singing and often prefer death metal growls to clean singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Katy Perry @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/08/2018
21 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
This is the story of how a heavy metal journalist ended up surprisingly enjoying themselves at a POP show – the amazing extravaganza that is Katy Perry’s ‘Witness’ tour. I knew that as a pop show it would be an amazing show - that’s an understatement!
Read More...
Gig Review: Left or Right @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 13/07/2018
10 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
After 6 months of traveling Europe and the UK I’ve found it an adjustment coming back to NZ for a number of reasons – one of which being shows not having the first band on till 9pm, when in UK and England 9pm would be the 2nd to last band as most shows finish around 11pm which is AMAZING – especially on a week night, another adjustment is that in New Zealand (well for 4/5 shows I’ve attended, worked or reviewed in the last two weeks) is that there’s hardly anyone at the show for the first band. It’s so hard going first in Auckland, as it’s common to pre-drink and not make it out till 10, but Leighton Fairle did an amazing job.
Read More...
Farandicus - Single Reviews: Blue Funk and What to Give
04 May 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
Farandicus are a 7-piece soul funk band from Whangarei combing their different backgrounds to create a unique sound that will get your soul singing and feet tapping. They have recently released two new singles Blue Funk and What to Give, and I think are both songs everyone can relate to – especially their lyrical content.
Read More...
His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times I’ve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutalitee’s Birthday Bash and of course all the times I’ve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review: Static Era @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 9/09/2017
16 Sep 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
I had been looking forward to this show for a good month, if not longer. It was a FREEZING cold night outside with wind and rain and when I first got to the show I wondered if it was going to keep people away but by the time Animalhead took to the stage the venue was filling up nicely and temperatures were rising as everyone jammed in and started rocking out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy, Remote & Pull Down the Sun @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 12/08/2017
14 Aug 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
Last night's show was one of those really awesome ones where there are all those people you haven’t seen in what feels like a hundred years and it was definitely a night that could have gone on for a few more hours! The bands all added to that excitement though and I’m pretty sure when I see any of these bands again I will be reminded of this night and the people, music, laughter and memories.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tribal State @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 28/07/2017
29 Jul 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
It was a cold, wet night, my nose was running and I couldn’t stop sneezing and coughing. I wasn’t feeling up to going out on such a miserable night but I’m more than happy that I did.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sarah Sampson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem