22 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Bloodnut - Album Review: St. Ranga

27 Jul 2017 // A review by Sarah Sampson

I’ve heard a lot of albums in my time but there’s not many that draws you in from the first note and despite it’s unusual name Space Orangutan it is one of the best opening tracks for an album I’ve heard in a very long time. The levels in this mix capture the live, raw sound of Bloodnut perfectly which is also very rare in NZ Metal recordings (the amount of times I’ve had my music on shuffle and had to turn it up for NZ Metal bands then to have my speakers almost explode when an International band comes on drives me crazy every time!). The first two minutes are my favourite part on the whole album and I’ve listened to the intro SO MANY TIMES and I know whenever I’m listening to this song in the future I’ll be skipping back to the start to hear it many times more!  It’s musical genius m/

This is an album for everyone that likes their music on the heavier side. It show cases the members backgrounds and musical abilities perfectly from the stoner doom sound they are most well-known for to covering so many other sub genres like Punk, Thrash, Speed Metal and there’s probably a whole lot more I’ll pick up as I listen to this album more in the future – this is going to be an album I’m going to be spinning for AGES to come! Each song is different in that each one also showcases the different members at different times with individual solos which is something I love about this band. It is a band of 3 very talented musicians in their own right, they aren’t relying on one amazing guitarist and their solos or one amazing drummer – they are all supremely talented musicians and this album captures that talent and showcases it superbly. 

From the fast intro in Mark of the Outcast to the punk/thrash metal sound of The Fire Inside this is a masterful album and there isn’t anything that I’ve picked up that could be changed from start to finish.  From the epic opening track of SpaceOrangutan to the brain melting wizardry of the closing track Song of Fire and Ice hands down the best new album I’ve heard in 2017. St Ranga is a must have album – not just for Kiwi metal fans but for anyone who loves their music hard and in your face. Bloodnut are off overseas playing two shows in Melbourne on August 4th and 5th and will be playing more shows in New Zealand too – keep an eye on their Facebook page for when you can catch them live. St Rangais available from: Bloodnut.bandcamp.com, Real Groovy, I-tunes, Amazon next Tuesday August 1st. 10% of each album sold – digital and physical – will be going to the Melanoma Foundation of New Zealand.

 

About Bloodnut

Noun: Bloodnut
Etymology: Blood (red) + nut (head)
1. (Australasian, informal) A person with red hair, a redhead.

Combining big riffs, catchy hooks and more soul than you would expect from a band of gingers, New Zealand based stoner sludge band Bloodnut have been infecting people with groove since their formation in 2012. They fought like warrior poets through a steady flow of gigs and their fare share of line-up changes as the band began to build a decent following while playing alongside Corrosion of Conformity, Torche, Red Fang, Black Tusk, The Sword, Windhand, Cough, Brant Bjork and Beastwars.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bloodnut

Releases

St. Ranga
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Blues From The Red Sons
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Sarah Sampson

Gig Review: Plum Green @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 1/02/2019
08 Feb 2019 // by Sarah Sampson
Occasionally a show happens where every single performance artist is on fire, performing from the soul, baring everything, connecting with the audience and feeding off the audience, in that magical, etheric zone where performing artist and audience becomes one. Right from the first note of Shoddy the crowd was dancing, their attentions on the various rituals occurring before them.
Read More...
Gig Review: Slash w/ Myles Kennedy and Devilskin @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 26/01/2019
27 Jan 2019 // by Sarah Sampson
As per usual I was running late to the show, so I missed the first few opening songs of (not so local, now) legends Devilskin. Writing this now I am so gutted I didn’t get to witness their powerful set in its entirety as, in my opinion, they showed up the headliners and it was clear from the amount of Devilskin merch that fans were wearing around the show and from the crowd response that this was indeed Devilskin’s night.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - EP Review: One by One & Two by Two
16 Nov 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
About 10 years ago if I had heard this EP I wouldn’t have been able to appreciate its complex intricacies. As I write this, I’m on my 5th listen and I keep noticing more; more layers, depth, complexities I missed the previous times I’ve listened to it.
Read More...
Levi Sesega - Gig Review: Levi with The Free Wind @ Wine Cellar, Auckland
18 Sep 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
I have seen both Brendon and Levi perform with their Rock bands before – Brendon Thomas & the Vibes and Tribal State and knew how talented and how sonically stunning their voices are but I wasn’t prepared for how these two truly talented musicians would sound with the emphasis being more on their voices, than being backed by full bands. Normally I find myself getting bored with too much clean singing and often prefer death metal growls to clean singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Katy Perry @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/08/2018
21 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
This is the story of how a heavy metal journalist ended up surprisingly enjoying themselves at a POP show – the amazing extravaganza that is Katy Perry’s ‘Witness’ tour. I knew that as a pop show it would be an amazing show - that’s an understatement!
Read More...
Gig Review: Left or Right @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 13/07/2018
10 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
After 6 months of traveling Europe and the UK I’ve found it an adjustment coming back to NZ for a number of reasons – one of which being shows not having the first band on till 9pm, when in UK and England 9pm would be the 2nd to last band as most shows finish around 11pm which is AMAZING – especially on a week night, another adjustment is that in New Zealand (well for 4/5 shows I’ve attended, worked or reviewed in the last two weeks) is that there’s hardly anyone at the show for the first band. It’s so hard going first in Auckland, as it’s common to pre-drink and not make it out till 10, but Leighton Fairle did an amazing job.
Read More...
Farandicus - Single Reviews: Blue Funk and What to Give
04 May 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
Farandicus are a 7-piece soul funk band from Whangarei combing their different backgrounds to create a unique sound that will get your soul singing and feet tapping. They have recently released two new singles Blue Funk and What to Give, and I think are both songs everyone can relate to – especially their lyrical content.
Read More...
His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times I’ve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutalitee’s Birthday Bash and of course all the times I’ve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sarah Sampson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem