1 Mar 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Single Review: Reflections

15 May 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
So by now a whole bunch of you probably know who Coridan are, or at least heard a few of their songs but for those of you wondering who the heck I am going on about, they are a tight alternative - progressive rock band from Auckland. I was pretty excited to get the chance to review their latest single, Reflections.

I want to describe this as a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating, it kind of made me all mooshy inside but on the other hand if I was 20 years younger, you probably would have found me attempting to head bang to it. The lyrics tell a tale of loss and indicate a touch of sadness, perhaps a cathartic release with bittersweet poignant words which have been accompanied by very clean and powerful instrumentation and awesome bassy tones. Dity Maharaj formerly of Mile High, has a powerful voice with impressive range which is evident on this track. The brothers Chris, Mike and Nick Raven, who are the roots of Coridan, compliment his vocals perfectly.

This is a song which has the "put on repeat and crank it up loud" vibe about it, and in my opinion is most certainly radio worthy. Reflections is going to be met with great enthusiasm. 

I look forward to photographing these guys when they celebrate the bands single release at Totara St, it will be a treat to hear live.

Produced and mixed by Zorran Mendosa (New Way Home, Set On End) and mastered by Forrester Savell (Shihad, I Am Giant, Karnivool).

Release date 15 May 2017 followed by a lyric video.
 

About Coridian

Coridian is an alternative/progressive rock group from Auckland, New Zealand.

Formed in 2015, the band consists of brothers Mike Raven (Guitars/Keys), Kris Raven (Drums/Percussion), Nick Raven (Bass) and Dity Maharaj (Vocals/Lyrics/Art).

They’ve been described, "Raven brothers (Mike, Kris and Nick respectively) work as a well-oiled machine; the gear box of which is Maharaj, his vocals taking the band from a hum to a scream within seconds" (Ambient Light).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Hava
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Eldur
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Eden Mulholland - Album Review: A Bee Might Bite My Nose
21 Dec 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Funny, Kooky and gently melancholic at times is one description of respected Australasian composer, songwriter and collaborator Eden Mulholland (Ngati Porou). His most recent release is channeled by a very cute teddy bear.
Read More...
Jessica Leigh - EP Review: Lightbeam
03 Nov 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Nelsonian, singer, songwriter and producer Jessica Leigh has recently released her third EP Lightbeam. Changing tack from her previous EP in 2021, the acoustic guitars and strings have given way to full synthpop sound with an 80's inspired vibe.
Read More...
Michèle Ducray - EP Review: Throne Of Mine
05 Oct 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mysterious and sinister themes such as horror combined with the colourful characteristics of circus life are the inspiration behind emerging dark-pop artist Michèle Ducray's debut EP Throne Of Mine. The balance of both dark and light create a fresh and original sound that is complex as it is identifiable.
Read More...
Sam Heselwood - EP Review: Home Is Where The Heart Is
19 Sep 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Ex rugby player turned singer-songwriter Sam Heselwood has recently released his 5 track EP Home Is Where The Heart Is. Originally from Christchurch, the indie-pop musician has delivered poignant, beautifully composed music which aims straight for the heart.
Read More...
Strawpeople - Album Review: Knucklebones
29 Aug 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
For the first time in 19 years, slick electro-pop duo Strawpeople (Fiona McDonald ex-The Headless Chickens, and Paul Casserly) have released an album sparking early 2000's nostalgia. Knucklebones is a fusion of their iconic sound mixed with a collection of entirely new material.
Read More...
Sofia Machray - EP Review: Language Of Flowers
01 Aug 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Sofia Machray has been described as an “eclectic master of indie singer-songwriter gone rouge,” her recently released debut EP Language Of Flowers consists of 6 ethereal indie dream-rock tracks which have been beautifully constructed. Inspired by her love of flowers in particular the similarity in evolution between human nature from tiny seed to full bloom.
Read More...
Mitch and his Guitar - Single Review: Mine In My Mind
18 Jul 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mitch and his Guitar is a solo musical artist from Hawera in Taranaki, diversifying from wedding singing to deliver original soft pop songs inspired by the likes of Ed Sheeran, Passenger and Hollow Coves. Mine In My Mind is one of three tracks which will be followed by his debut album.
Read More...
Rowdy's Rose - EP Review: From The Flames
08 Jul 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
During the 2020 lockdown, many exciting independent bands came to light. Rowdy’s Rose, a husband and wife duo from the Waikato consisting of Blair and Rosie Shaw are one of them.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem