17 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Single Review: Reflections

15 May 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
So by now a whole bunch of you probably know who Coridan are, or at least heard a few of their songs but for those of you wondering who the heck I am going on about, they are a tight alternative - progressive rock band from Auckland. I was pretty excited to get the chance to review their latest single, Reflections.

I want to describe this as a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating, it kind of made me all mooshy inside but on the other hand if I was 20 years younger, you probably would have found me attempting to head bang to it. The lyrics tell a tale of loss and indicate a touch of sadness, perhaps a cathartic release with bittersweet poignant words which have been accompanied by very clean and powerful instrumentation and awesome bassy tones. Dity Maharaj formerly of Mile High, has a powerful voice with impressive range which is evident on this track. The brothers Chris, Mike and Nick Raven, who are the roots of Coridan, compliment his vocals perfectly.

This is a song which has the "put on repeat and crank it up loud" vibe about it, and in my opinion is most certainly radio worthy. Reflections is going to be met with great enthusiasm. 

I look forward to photographing these guys when they celebrate the bands single release at Totara St, it will be a treat to hear live.

Produced and mixed by Zorran Mendosa (New Way Home, Set On End) and mastered by Forrester Savell (Shihad, I Am Giant, Karnivool).

Release date 15 May 2017 followed by a lyric video.
 

About Coridian

Better Off equals growth, change and adapting:

Better Off represents the next chapter for NZ’s Alt Rock brothers Coridian. This brand-new single is the beginning of Coridian’s new song cycle and the work towards their debut album, set for release in 2019. Better Off was produced by Zorran Mendonsa (Blacklistt/City of Souls) who worked on last year’s release Caldera and mastered by Systematic Productions (Architects/Intervals).

The song has been recently applauded in front of huge NZ audiences, as the band has come off recent tour cycles with Devilskin, Skinny Hobos and playing main support to US rockers POD at their Auckland show.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
Zane Nathan - Single Review: Somethings
26 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Malaysian born young New Zealand singer/songwriter Zane Nathan has just released his brand new original single, which is accompanied by a lyric video; Somethings. The song has a somewhat theatrical sound to it, which would not be out of place on a Disney musical soundtrack.
Read More...
Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Lions Fighting In A Church
25 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released her extraordinary new single with the impressive title Lions Fighting In A Church. Inspired by epic battles, fairy-tale endings and big love songs such as Bat Out Of Hell by Meatloaf , this is a dramatic and beautiful song which shoots a musical arrow straight to the heart.
Read More...
Steph Casey - Album Review: The Seats In My Car
21 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Steph Casey, the young Kapiti Coast based songwriter and musician has just released her exceptional sophomore album, The Seats In My Car, which is a captivating mix of acoustic guitar and honeyed vocals, backed by an impressive line-up of musicians. Her sound is described as a mix of indie-folk and alt-country.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem