17 Nov 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shapeshifter - Album Review: Stars

11 Jan 2017 // A review by Sarah Sampson

Stars is the latest offering from New Zealand Drum and Bass heavyweights Shapeshifter and it is their much anticipated release since their 2013 offering Delta. Shapeshifter is famous for their multi-layering of different sound effects and instruments and Stars is no different showing their love for pushing the boundaries and trying new sounds and effects. This album is a journey from start to finish with so many different styles and influences from smooth Jazz tones, to industrial and Hard House this album has something for every Drum and Bass fan.

The title track of the album is also the first song on the album and instantly draws the listener in with its etheric, carnival type atmosphere. It is a summer anthem song and over my travels this summer it is definitely a song I have heard multiple times from cars with their windows down and occupants singing along having the time of their life. 

For me it doesn’t matter what the genre of music is that I’m listening to – it is always the Drums and the Bass that turn me on (or off) to an artist, which makes the third track of the album Her my absolute favourite song as it has the most amazing drum sound of the entire album and it’s a song I’ve come back to every time I’ve finished a play through of the album.

I mentioned before the blend of Jazz and Industrial sounds in the album the Jazz sounds and instrumental ambience is perfectly blended in So Long and is perfectly placed in the album as a break for the heavier tracks which follow.

For those craving heavier, distorted tones then the 6th track Fake Charmer is for you. When I first heard this song I was instantly transported, in my mind, to the Super Top at Big Day Out with thousands of people jumping up and down around me with glow sticks.  This is most definitely a song you could not just stand and watch, live… it is one that will make you move regardless of wanting to or not.

The album, for me, was mostly filled with amazing new sounds and experiments but some of the songs I thought had too much going on in them for me to really be able to follow what was happening, or what the artists are trying to convey with the music. I’m a classically trained musician and while my history is largely with heavy metal (the more technical the better) I definitely got lost trying to follow some of the songs on this album – namely Occulus and Heart of Bones.

The majority of songs I absolutely loved – my favourites being Stars, Her, Drive and Fake Charmer. For Drum and Bass fans this album will not disappoint and for Shapeshifter fans I’m sure they will overlook my lack of liking ALL the songs on the album – as any music fan will tell you, how each person feels about a recording is always personal to that person.  One thing this album has made me want to do – Get out of the house and see Shapeshifter live – feeling the bass in Her and Fake Charmer is something I’m almost craving. This album deserves to be TURNED UP LOUD!

 

About Shapeshifter

New Zealand's best live act is an extraordinary spectacle you can't miss.

Shapeshifter has been heralded as a musical phenomenon on their ground breaking live shows and unique blend of heavy Soul/Drum n Bass. Their reputation as pioneers of modern music was built by an unique approach to Electronic music which had previously been restricted to computer based studio musicians and has earned them widespread critical and commercial acclaim.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shapeshifter

Releases

Stars
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
SSXUB
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Delta
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
System Remix
Year: 2011
Type: Album
The System Is A Vampire
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Shapeshifter Live
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Soulstice
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Riddim Wise
Year: 2004
Type: LP
Styles
Year: 2003
Type: EP
Been Missing / Relocator
Year: 2003
Type: EP
D.N.A.
Year: 2001
Type: EP
Realtime
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Sarah Sampson

Eight Eyed Orchid - EP Review: One by One & Two by Two
16 Nov 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
About 10 years ago if I had heard this EP I wouldn’t have been able to appreciate its complex intricacies. As I write this, I’m on my 5th listen and I keep noticing more; more layers, depth, complexities I missed the previous times I’ve listened to it.
Read More...
Levi Sesega - Gig Review: Levi with The Free Wind @ Wine Cellar, Auckland
18 Sep 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
I have seen both Brendon and Levi perform with their Rock bands before – Brendon Thomas & the Vibes and Tribal State and knew how talented and how sonically stunning their voices are but I wasn’t prepared for how these two truly talented musicians would sound with the emphasis being more on their voices, than being backed by full bands. Normally I find myself getting bored with too much clean singing and often prefer death metal growls to clean singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Katy Perry @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/08/2018
21 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
This is the story of how a heavy metal journalist ended up surprisingly enjoying themselves at a POP show – the amazing extravaganza that is Katy Perry’s ‘Witness’ tour. I knew that as a pop show it would be an amazing show - that’s an understatement!
Read More...
Gig Review: Left or Right @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 13/07/2018
10 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
After 6 months of traveling Europe and the UK I’ve found it an adjustment coming back to NZ for a number of reasons – one of which being shows not having the first band on till 9pm, when in UK and England 9pm would be the 2nd to last band as most shows finish around 11pm which is AMAZING – especially on a week night, another adjustment is that in New Zealand (well for 4/5 shows I’ve attended, worked or reviewed in the last two weeks) is that there’s hardly anyone at the show for the first band. It’s so hard going first in Auckland, as it’s common to pre-drink and not make it out till 10, but Leighton Fairle did an amazing job.
Read More...
Farandicus - Single Reviews: Blue Funk and What to Give
04 May 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
Farandicus are a 7-piece soul funk band from Whangarei combing their different backgrounds to create a unique sound that will get your soul singing and feet tapping. They have recently released two new singles Blue Funk and What to Give, and I think are both songs everyone can relate to – especially their lyrical content.
Read More...
His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times I’ve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutalitee’s Birthday Bash and of course all the times I’ve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review: Static Era @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 9/09/2017
16 Sep 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
I had been looking forward to this show for a good month, if not longer. It was a FREEZING cold night outside with wind and rain and when I first got to the show I wondered if it was going to keep people away but by the time Animalhead took to the stage the venue was filling up nicely and temperatures were rising as everyone jammed in and started rocking out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy, Remote & Pull Down the Sun @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 12/08/2017
14 Aug 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
Last night's show was one of those really awesome ones where there are all those people you haven’t seen in what feels like a hundred years and it was definitely a night that could have gone on for a few more hours! The bands all added to that excitement though and I’m pretty sure when I see any of these bands again I will be reminded of this night and the people, music, laughter and memories.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sarah Sampson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem