10 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Devilskin - Gig Review: Devilskin, Halestorm & City of Souls @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 7/01/2017

Devilskin - Gig Review: Devilskin, Halestorm & City of Souls @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 7/01/2017

11 Jan 2017 // A review by Sarah Sampson

What an EPIC gig to kick start my 2017 year of gig attendance! Being on the first weekend of January I didn’t expect a very big turn out as Auckland is a ghost town normally at this time of year, but I was proven wrong with over 1000 Rockers in attendance at the Devilskin, Halestorm and City of Souls Gig at the Logan Campbell Centre in Auckland on the 7th January. It was a show of many firsts for me – the venue and first time seeing Halestorm and City of Souls, I most definitely wasn’t disappointed with amazing lightshows for all the bands, high energy sets and plenty of distortion.

The first band to take the stage was Auckland band City of Souls, which is a band name I have heard a lot of over the last year or two, and a band that I HAD to check out live. After knowing Steve, Trajan and Corey from their work in other notable bands – In Dread Response and 8 Foot Sativa (to name a few), I knew that it would be a good show. I wasn’t disappointed! Often bands with atmospheric backing music on recordings loose the ambience in a live setting, but this didn’t happen with this new powerhouse 6-piece.

Initially, during their cover of Love Will Tear Us Apart I thought the crowd were maybe saving their energy for the later bands, but after their original White Ghost, I was proven very wrong indeed and the crowd came to life with a lot more energy. This could have also been because Trajan (who is known for his on stage antics) walked off the stage right up to the barrier for a guitar solo above the crowd, which the crowd LOVED and from there on out the crowd was full of the energy I had been expecting.

City of Souls’ perfect blend of harmonies, doom rifts, solos, double kicks and atmospheric guitar tones got this metal head hooked m/ If you haven’t seen them live yet then you are definitely missing out!  You can get their music online from iTunes and you can check out their music and videos on Facebook and YouTube. 

Next up was Halestorm from Red Lion, Pennsylvania. I have to admit I wasn’t very familiar with their music other than checking out some of their videos on YouTube before the show. The first thing that struck me with Halestorm was when Lizzy opened her mouth and started singing…. I immediately got a shiver down my spine and goosebumps all over my arms. Lizzy has one of the most amazing, soulful, beautiful and powerful voices I’ve ever had the pleasure of hearing live. The recordings and videos on YouTube most definitely do not do her vocal range justice.   

Hailstorm’s set was high energy and judging from the crowd response they played a lot of crowd favourites as everyone was singing along, which instantly made me regret my lack of knowledge of the songs. When Lizzy stopped the band to address the crowd instead of doing the usual welcome talking to the crowd she instead sang the welcome and REALLY got the crowd going and got them singing back to her. This was followed by the drum solo. This was the best drum solo I have seen since Tommy Clufetos from Black Sabbath, which was my favourite international gig of 2016. 

Finally the headliners of the evening – Devilskin took the stage. I hadn’t seen them for two years, since they played at a Music in Parks event in Auckland and before that in 2011 at the Beyond the Black New Year’s festival in Wellington.  I’ve always been a huge Devilskin supporter, I say supporter, because until Saturday I wasn’t a fan, I respected them but sat on the fence comfortably acknowledging their success so far and being proud of my old friend Paul, but I am now proudly part of the Devilskin Army and I have a new hoodie and singlet top to prove it.

I first saw Devilskin at The Rising Sun Bar on K’rd in 2010 then again in 2011 at Black Salt Bar in New Lynn. If I had been asked to do a review of those early shows I would have mentioned how high energy and promising the shows were but would have had to mention how sometimes Jennie struggled to maintain the power behind the growls or long notes (not anymore!!). It has been amazing watching Devilskin go from where so many bands have been, playing small pubs to 20 people, too 6 years later playing to 1000 screaming fans who know the words to the songs and chant along to them. 

As soon as the first note sounded when Devilskin took the stage the energy in the room was ecstatic and brimming with excitement. They started with crowd favourite Start A Revolution and instantly the crowd threw themselves into the show, singing along at the top of their lungs – mirroring the high energy that Devilskin put into their show – out of all the bands Devilskin used the entire stage jumping off the drum riser and Paul and Nail regularly swapping sides with each other. Devilskin definitely had the best sound of the night which is something that really bugs me about some of the larger gigs where the headliners get a better mix of sound that the support bands. In this case on Saturday the bass and kick drums were definitely muddy with the first two bands (especially the kick drums during the solos – muffled and muddy) which is my only critique of the event.

Highlights of Devilkin’s set for me was Elvis Presley Circle Pit which they dedicated to City of Souls – it was the first time I had seen it performed live and it is one of the songs I’ve always liked while The Rock was pumping Little Pills and Start A Revolution I was wishing they would play EPCP. I even got in trouble starting one of my radio shows with the song because of the early time frame and swearing – no regrets!

The most personally touching and significant song for me was Never See The Light which was written for Shoki – the bassist for NZ Metal Legends Cripple Mr Onion (made all the more poignant for me after seeing Cripple Mr Onion at 3 out of their 5 last ever NZ Shows last year) and was also dedicated to Richard ‘Dreads’ Pearce, who passed away last year and is greatly missed by the NZ Metal Community. I felt so many different emotions – I wanted to cry and but also felt ecstatically happy to be surrounded by people all singing along and moshing and head banging (sorry for the people around me when I pushed up to the front of the crowd for the song). Shoki your heart is indeed still with us and you will continue to always live on in those who you touched with your music. 

The other notable song from Devilskin was just after Never See The Light and it was Fade these songs are both off their 2014 release We Rise. Fade suits Jenny’s vocal style perfectly and was another song that gave me chills and goosebumps. The rest of the set was mostly from their new release Be Like The River, which I am not that familiar with but will most definitely be purchasing sooner than later. 

From here my notes from the night read ‘I wish I could feel like this all the time and head banging and epicness from here on out’ m/ m/ and it most definitely was a night of head banging and epicness.

For me it doesn’t always matter of the genre of music it is the bass and drum beat which attracts me to an artist. Tonight had 3 of the best live Rock bands I’ve ever had the pleasure of seeing. Members of City of Souls and Devilskin have been a strong part of my music journey working with bands in NZ and I’m so incredibly proud of how far they have come. To all the people who don’t like Devilskin and haven’t seen them…. Do yourself a favour and get out to one of their gigs – you will not be disappointed, and even pleasantly surprised – like me you might even find yourself a fan. As I write this review it’s Monday afternoon, two days after the show and my body feels like I’ve been in a Death Metal mosh pit – be prepared for the carnage (I wasn’t).

My only regret from Saturday night?  Is that the show had to end.

 

About Devilskin

Devilskin is a four piece band from Hamilton New Zealand formed in June 2010, they already have guts, class, kudos and confidence. The sum total of a determined and accomplished group of musicians who know what they want, the music is organic, dynamic and real.

The band features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By Sarah Sampson

Eight Eyed Orchid - EP Review: One by One & Two by Two
16 Nov 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
About 10 years ago if I had heard this EP I wouldn’t have been able to appreciate its complex intricacies. As I write this, I’m on my 5th listen and I keep noticing more; more layers, depth, complexities I missed the previous times I’ve listened to it.
Read More...
Levi Sesega - Gig Review: Levi with The Free Wind @ Wine Cellar, Auckland
18 Sep 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
I have seen both Brendon and Levi perform with their Rock bands before – Brendon Thomas & the Vibes and Tribal State and knew how talented and how sonically stunning their voices are but I wasn’t prepared for how these two truly talented musicians would sound with the emphasis being more on their voices, than being backed by full bands. Normally I find myself getting bored with too much clean singing and often prefer death metal growls to clean singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Katy Perry @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/08/2018
21 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
This is the story of how a heavy metal journalist ended up surprisingly enjoying themselves at a POP show – the amazing extravaganza that is Katy Perry’s ‘Witness’ tour. I knew that as a pop show it would be an amazing show - that’s an understatement!
Read More...
Gig Review: Left or Right @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 13/07/2018
10 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
After 6 months of traveling Europe and the UK I’ve found it an adjustment coming back to NZ for a number of reasons – one of which being shows not having the first band on till 9pm, when in UK and England 9pm would be the 2nd to last band as most shows finish around 11pm which is AMAZING – especially on a week night, another adjustment is that in New Zealand (well for 4/5 shows I’ve attended, worked or reviewed in the last two weeks) is that there’s hardly anyone at the show for the first band. It’s so hard going first in Auckland, as it’s common to pre-drink and not make it out till 10, but Leighton Fairle did an amazing job.
Read More...
Farandicus - Single Reviews: Blue Funk and What to Give
04 May 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
Farandicus are a 7-piece soul funk band from Whangarei combing their different backgrounds to create a unique sound that will get your soul singing and feet tapping. They have recently released two new singles Blue Funk and What to Give, and I think are both songs everyone can relate to – especially their lyrical content.
Read More...
His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times I’ve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutalitee’s Birthday Bash and of course all the times I’ve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review: Static Era @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 9/09/2017
16 Sep 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
I had been looking forward to this show for a good month, if not longer. It was a FREEZING cold night outside with wind and rain and when I first got to the show I wondered if it was going to keep people away but by the time Animalhead took to the stage the venue was filling up nicely and temperatures were rising as everyone jammed in and started rocking out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy, Remote & Pull Down the Sun @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 12/08/2017
14 Aug 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
Last night's show was one of those really awesome ones where there are all those people you haven’t seen in what feels like a hundred years and it was definitely a night that could have gone on for a few more hours! The bands all added to that excitement though and I’m pretty sure when I see any of these bands again I will be reminded of this night and the people, music, laughter and memories.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sarah Sampson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem