24 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Zed Brookes - Album Review: O Sweet Cacophony

27 Nov 2016 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Zed Brookes is a mainstay of the often overlooked Waikato music scene, with a history in music longer than my seemingly endless life.

This becomes less profound when you realise that the tween and teen music consumer demographic of today weren't yet born for first outing of System of a Down, never saw the Britney Spears versus Christina Aguilera versus underdog Billie Piper popularity contest, or even In Da Club by 50 cent.

A dab hand at the music desk, Brookes has spent a lot of time behind the scenes, occasionally finding the time to emerge with a solo or group project.

His latest, 2016's aptly titled O Sweet Cacophony is an exploration in international quality Electronic Pop with Rock sensibilities beneath Brookes' whispered husky vocals and sweet backing singers. An amalgam of ideas and influences, this album is experimental and unique.

I came in expecting a rehash of the Dunedin, Flying Nun sound of old, but can happily report it's kind of like Puscifer, a bit like David Bowie, wholly enjoyable.        

Originally a project for his Master of Arts, Brookes describes O Sweet Cacophony as "a set of experiments in limiting choice to enhance creativity when writing and producing."

Weezer fans, true Weezer fans - not just people who liked Beverly Hills - will know of Rivers Cuomo's overzealous use of spreadsheets. Although I can't find the reference now, I recall there was one that collated certain song's inspirations, level of intoxication at time of writing, and the constraints under which they were written.

It's a seemingly useless piece of trivia I stumbled across during a late night Wikipedia, but something in common with this effort from Brookes. It brings the collection of ideas-made-music that is O Sweet Cacophony back into the realm of art, and that's something I can abide, being long since disillusioned by the concept of a music industry that values the hype of a product over the quality and artistic merit.

Yet, for an art project of sorts, Brookes has a very marketable sound. Spending years in a music store, and behind the scenes within the industry, you'll surely recognise what works and what separates an ephemeral one hit wonder from good music.

By this reasoning there should be a bunch of former Marbecks or JB HIFI employees dominating the music charts, but there's a difference between knowing and applying the knowledge. It takes an artist with the skills to bring all of those ideas together.

An enjoyably relaxing, easy listen for those who can find it, I recommend this to people that enjoy good music that's familiar and warm, yet comfortably detached from the mainstream.

You can find O Sweet Cacophony on the Zed Brookes Bandcamp and Spotify.

 

About Zed Brookes

Zed Brookes was made for music and has made an awful lot of it, mostly for other people. The brains behind Tandys Recording Studio, The Zoo Studio and later WINTECS recording facility at the Dept. Of Media Arts, he helped revolutionise the Waikato scene providing scores of bands and musicians the opportunity to lay down world-class tracks with cutting edge equipment. His diverse credits include Midge Marsden, Knightshade, The Datsuns, Katchafire, The Narcs and way too many more to mention.

In between time he has found a little time for his own music. In 1985 his Hamilton based synth pop band Step Chant Unit’s song Painting Pictures went top 30 on the local charts (the first Hamilton band to achieve this feat) and this paved the way for an appearance on the legendary music show Radio With Pictures. Since there have been numerous other bands and collaborative projects including an album with Te Awamutu based MOoFish whose 1999 album MOofishin spent several weeks on the US College Charts.

Finding the time for his own music has always been a struggle and with Oh Sweet Cacophony’ he has realised is his first true solo project. With the exception of Jan Hellriegel who shares lead vocal of the amazing Not The Girl You Were and Katrina Theo who features on the delicious pop anthem Golden this album is all Brookes. As producer, engineer, multi-instrumentalist/songwriter and vocalist it shows him as so many of those who have worked with him already know, that he is the consummate musical craftsman.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Zed Brookes

Releases

O Sweet Cacophony
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
Social Shun - Album Review: Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins
24 Sep 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins: An experiment-like review for an experimental album. Observations Muffins: Warm.
Read More...
Aaron Carpenter and The Revelators - EP Review: Roll with the Punches
20 Aug 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
The last bastions of real music in a world that celebrates mediocrity are the minnows swimming against the current of the mainstream.   What is the mainstream nowadays?
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem