16 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Seafog - Album Review: Raise Your Skinny Fist

30 May 2016 // A review by Peter-James Dries

I came from a world where the unclassifiable sounds were quietly filed away into the Indie genre. While Seafog’s Raise Your Skinny Fist would slide quite nicely into that peg hole, I think the more appropriate label here, and one specific to this country, is the word Dunedin.

The elusive subgenre first became apparent to me after listening to the Robert Burns tribute album Ae Fond Kiss, of which Sea Fog were a part. Maybe it’s a style of reverb that’s in vogue down there, or maybe it’s the accent. Perhaps there is something in the water. Whatever it is, there is an unnamed something that makes Southern Rock unquantifiably different, unique, from its Northern cousins.

Maybe it’s the substance over style approach. Listening to Raise Your Skinny Fist is like sitting there watching a few blokes standing in a room with the express purpose of performing music, as opposed to a highly stylised, oh-so-hip media circus of a band in matching threads wooing you for your hard-earned dough. I don’t have to see the band to know they’re good. 

It’s music that conveys moods from morose to mundane. The lyrics; odes to the unseen and observations of the world in, out and in between an individual’s existence.

There is a Sonic Youth, or Mary Timony’s Helium vibe to this album. Not so much in the subversion of what we understand as music. It’s in the noise. In the way they’re taking easy-listening pop rock and messing with it. Fuzzing it up a little.  Spacing it out. Making easy-listening all the more listenable for those of us with musical taste beyond the mainstream.

You can find Raise Your Skinny Fist on the Sea Fog Bandcamp, as well as a one-liner for each track (except Clean UFO's) shedding light on the inspiration or purpose for the song.

 

About Seafog

Seafog are a three piece from Port Chalmers, Dunedin. Their first gig was performed at Circadian Rythm mid 2006 with Robbie Yeats drumming, Nigel Waters on lead guitar and Rob Sharma on vocals and guitar.

Seafog play country crafted rock with intense lyrics and tribal jazz beats. Rob and Nige jam and write on Sundays in Sunny Port at each others place and Robbie joins them for gigs.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Seafog

Releases

Dig It On Up
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Raise Your Skinny Fist
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady
29 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next. After their first single Oh My Goth (O.
Read More...
Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe
23 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin
29 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago. In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: Wellington - Te Upoko O Te Ika
22 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I seldom review anything with any degree of commercial appeal, on account of my conscious attempts to avoid overt radio-bate. The music consumed by the masses hasn’t spoken to me for over a decade.
Read More...
First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem