22 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

These Four Walls - Gig Review: These Four Walls @ Kings Arms 20/02/2016

04 Mar 2016 // A review by Nicko_Poison


It was when Thin White Lines got on stage and cracked into their first track Body & Soul that I knew the evening was going to be an awesome night. Followed up by catchy songs Violence, Chemicals, a nice cover and a torrent of high velocity tracks to finish up the set I struggled to write down anything as I was too busy up the front with ears and eyes fixed on the stage. I’ve had their EP Chemicals for a while and love it, but one of the songs that got stuck in my head from this show was Happiness which had some nice guitar hooks and dynamics, and killer bridge section. Witnessing the endless energy and sweat these guys put into the live performance really does show why this band has been impressing gig goers and gaining larger audiences. Alex, Kurt, Ben and Ryan job well done!

Next up was Written By Wolves. These guys know their stuff. Mike, Davie, Bahador and Karl have created what I think is quite a unique sound. Big sound, big vocals, big harmonies and riffy as f**k is how I’d describe it. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed seeing their performances and this time was no exception. The band kicked off with their song Not Afraid to Die. The chorus has great hooks and the guitar / drums sections just bring the attitude out in this song. It’s great. This is a battle cry, I, I, I’m not afraid to die!! One of their new tracks Starlight also caught my attention early on as the guitars churned out some sweet heavy riffs alongside some solid as drums that were cutting through nicely in the mix, topped off by frontman Mike who was hitting every top note with precision, this song had tonnes of energy to it and I’m looking forward to hearing this one more. This band knows how to perform and with the guitar demons Bahador and Davie making great use of the stage up front and Mike taking it to the front rowers it’s great to watch. The rest of the set followed suit with some other big songs. The song Explode which included a token mosh with the audience (get in!) and then quickly we got to another new song Lights which has a strong chorus, is full of great harmonies, has some slick synth blended in and is just a pleasant song to listen to all round. Great performance by the boys so make sure you go check em out if you haven’t already.

And to headline the evening’s event, These Four Walls arrived back from the Gold Coast to settle in at Kings Arms once more. What’s better is they had the one and only Gray Vickers (lead guitarist) back on board. Before the set I caught up with Steve (singer) and asked about what new material they’d been working on and he said there would be some newbies played during the set. I’ve been listening to T4W for years, have both their albums Down Falls an Empire and Living To Write The End, so I was amped to see the performance. The set began with a couple of new tracks Dystopia and Fire Away. No mucking around here, These Four Walls deliver the goodness and although they’re something new they have the chops to back it up and are sounding great. Fire Away has a powerful chorus with strong vocals by Steve and big hooks throughout. Gray’s guitar tone shines through with somehow the perfect level of delay and reverb, I really liked this new one and look forward to hearing it again. Next song up was one of my personal favourites Talons, such a killer track and by this stage everyone was up the front at the ready. The energy, the riffs and the vocal melodies in this song just remind me of why I’ve been a fan of T4W for so long. Sweet December, Passenger and Lay it Out are dished out in style and I noticed some well blended harmonies in the mix with Steve and Elliot on bass. A nice cover of You're The Voice (John Farnham) is helped out by Mike from Written by Wolves. Haven’t seen this covered by a rock band before like this but it was certainly something the audience was happy to sing along to! Now for another one of my favourites, Lilith. Performed just as I remember it on Down Falls an Empire. Fast, catchy and can’t get enough of that riff! Now it’s too much to list every song in the set but rest assured there was a nice mixture of old and new throughout which everyone seemed to really enjoy. Gray’s husky vocal screams and Brad's kung fu combos on the drums in Beautiful were appreciated by a fury of moshing maniacs at the front. Was superb to see! We are told that a third album is currently in progress so really can’t wait to hear this come to fruition and see them back here again soon I hope! Epic night at the Kings, cheers all!

Photos by Matt Henry Photography

 

About These Four Walls

These Four Walls have achieved a lot in the last two and a half years. Since releasing their debut album Down Falls An Empire in September 2009, they have had two songs reach the Top 10 on the Rock Charts (Sweet December, Lay it Out), the album itself reached #22 on the Album charts, and also set a record for pre-orders on www.amplifier.co.nz, beating the previous record set by Fat Freddy’s Drop.

The band has supported international acts such as Disturbed, Nickelback, Karnivool and The Butterfly Effect; they’ve toured Australia and undertaken multiple headlining tours of New Zealand, consistently growing their fanbase.

And most impressively, they’ve done all of this as an unsigned, independent act. Their successes to date have been the result of hard work, a dedication to crafting great rock songs, and an impressive live show that incorporates their powerful, heavy riffing with soaring melodies and a tight, energetic performance.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for These Four Walls

Releases

Live At Loose Stones Studios
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Living To Write The End
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Down Falls An Empire
Year: 2009
Type: Album
These Four Walls
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Nicko_Poison

Gig Review: Armed In Advance & Bakers Eddy @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 8/4/2016
24 Apr 2016 // by Nicko_Poison
What a better way to showcase some local talent than to have an evening at Whammy Bar with friends and some epic bands right in the heart of Auckland city. Armed In Advance and Bakers Eddy’s singled out tour also saw bands Coridian and Dead Beat Boys joining the Auckland leg.
Read More...
Fire At Will & Ekko Park with Flirting With Disaster & Enercia @ Kings Arms, Auckland 26/10/14
18 Nov 2014 // by Nicko_Poison
A great night out thanks to BV Entertainment and crew who put on the event (completing a two show series in Mt Maunganui & Auckland). What a good line-up of bands.
Read More...
Kitsch @ Lucha Lounge, Auckland - 11/10/2014
13 Oct 2014 // by Nicko_Poison
After waiting many years to see this live act again, the show definitely lived up to their stellar reputation as one of New Zealand’s great punk rock bands. I went to this show with a group of friends and straight after walking through the door and securing a refreshing Tiger beer (or two) it was like old times at one of my favourite rock shows.
Read More...
View All Articles By Nicko_Poison

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • ZEZE
    Kodak Black feat. Travis Scott And Offset
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem