30 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kitsch - Kitsch @ Lucha Lounge, Auckland - 11/10/2014

13 Oct 2014 // A review by Nicko_Poison

After waiting many years to see this live act again, the show definitely lived up to their stellar reputation as one of New Zealand’s great punk rock bands.

I went to this show with a group of friends and straight after walking through the door and securing a refreshing Tiger beer (or two) it was like old times at one of my favourite rock shows. Nothing beats good friends, epic tunes and beers.

The evening kicked off with Ryan Thomas (Sommerset/Lord of Tigers) on the acoustic. I was looking forward to this and to seeing this guy sing again (last time was at the Pennywise concert in March). Raw vocals accompanied with a crisp sounding guitar made for a great opener and nice way to get things started. He’s a talented lad.

The Lucha is small but intimate setting made for a loud and packed out gig, just the way it should be. Kitsch started the set by running through some killer new songs off their upcoming album Plastic Lives including their new one Mouse Mouth that got everyone moving. Kitsch’s unique sound is made up by Sam’s unique punk vocals, nicely blended bass tones, fast guitar riffs and chord progressions with Ben and new member Hadleigh (Cobra Khan/Bleeders), topped off with fast as f*ck drums by Dan. All the right ingredients for a kick ass show.

Overall the live set was a whole lot of fun. There was a mix of new as well as some tracks from their last album The Burning Ground, including ending their set with Memory of Me, which has lived on my iTunes playlist for many years. I looked up during moshing out to this song and the room clearly was also moving about just as much. Mean as night out, finished off by a White Lady burger before walking home. Good times.

It was definitely one of my highlights for 2014 shows, and chuffed that these guys are back on the scene. 
Watch out for their new upcoming album and if you weren’t fortunate enough to make it to this gig, don’t hesitate to get a ticket for the next one.

Do it.

 

About Kitsch

Smashing out pop rock sensibility with a punk rock attitude.

Retaining its core members for over two decades, Kitsch delivered the next phase in their evolution in 2014, an album of epic depths, prepare yourself for Plastic Lives.

Tapping into modern states of mind, internet anonymity and global

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kitsch

Releases

Plastic Lives
Year: 2014
Type: Album
The Burning Ground
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Love Songs For Romantic Punks
Year: 2002
Type: Album
The Billy Joel EP
Year: 2000
Type: EP
The Way It Was
Year: 1998
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Nicko_Poison

Gig Review: Armed In Advance & Bakers Eddy @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 8/4/2016
24 Apr 2016 // by Nicko_Poison
What a better way to showcase some local talent than to have an evening at Whammy Bar with friends and some epic bands right in the heart of Auckland city. Armed In Advance and Bakers Eddy’s singled out tour also saw bands Coridian and Dead Beat Boys joining the Auckland leg.
Read More...
Gig Review: These Four Walls @ Kings Arms 20/02/2016
04 Mar 2016 // by Nicko_Poison
It was when Thin White Lines got on stage and cracked into their first track Body & Soul that I knew the evening was going to be an awesome night. Followed up by catchy songs Violence, Chemicals, a nice cover and a torrent of high velocity tracks to finish up the set I struggled to write down anything as I was too busy up the front with ears and eyes fixed on the stage.
Read More...
Fire At Will & Ekko Park with Flirting With Disaster & Enercia @ Kings Arms, Auckland 26/10/14
18 Nov 2014 // by Nicko_Poison
A great night out thanks to BV Entertainment and crew who put on the event (completing a two show series in Mt Maunganui & Auckland). What a good line-up of bands.
Read More...
View All Articles By Nicko_Poison

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem