19 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Single Review: Spin It Wide by Andy Snadden

02 Nov 2015 // A review by Peter-James Dries

By the time you read this the 2015 Rugby World Cup will be over, though the hype and gripes may continue until the next. Though I neither enjoy partaking nor watching sport, I’ve played along when quizzed about it, having picked up enough information from everyone else to hold half a conversation.

And despite my disdain for any recreation that requires physical activity, I can still appreciate the odd rugby themed song, such as Andy Snadden’s Spin It Wide.

Catchy, as all anthems are, Spin It Wide, is one of those songs that get caught in your head, and being part of the easy listening genre it’s the kind of song that isn’t like a cheese grater to the ear hole, like most noises at 4am, so is the perfect song to accompany an early morning rugby final.

It’s a particularly Kiwi song, maybe it’s accent, maybe it’s the style, but something in the song brings to mind that old farmer stereotype of gumboots and a black singlet. Written as an All Black supporter’s song, it’s definitely fitting. With the intention of bringing our boys-in-black home victorious, I can imagine this song fading into obscurity had the results of the final been any different.

Sadly, like Fiona McDonald’s appropriation of Fred Godfrey’s Bless/F*** ‘Em All for RWC 1999, or your mum’s Christmas compilation, seasonal/event themed songs are often doomed to be put away once the event is over. Here’s hoping the song is promoted more next time it’s relevant so more people get to hear it.

You can still listen to Spin It Wide on Soundcloud or YouTube. Save the link for the next international rugby match.

 

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady
29 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next. After their first single Oh My Goth (O.
Read More...
Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe
23 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin
29 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago. In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: Wellington - Te Upoko O Te Ika
22 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I seldom review anything with any degree of commercial appeal, on account of my conscious attempts to avoid overt radio-bate. The music consumed by the masses hasn’t spoken to me for over a decade.
Read More...
First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem