29 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Glocks - Naughty Boys & Dirty Girls EP Review

28 Nov 2014 // A review by Peter-James Dries

It’s been two years since the pub rocking debut from (The Glocks), Magpie Genocide, but it still sits on my desk at work, in between a collection of CDs I’ve had the pleasure of reviewing over the years and a pile of dodgy Metal Hammer compilations.

It’s been two years, but The Glocks haven’t been sitting pretty. After a line-up change the band released a collection of singles last year, two of which (Louise and Cage Fighter) have made it onto their brand new EP Naughty Boys & Dirty Girls released in October.

Also featured on the EP is Red Light, from the Magpie Genocide era, repainted with a shiny new gloss. When I reviewed the Magpie Genocide version, I thought it sounded like the Buffalo Bill dance from Silence of the Lambs.

The new version, I’m glad to say, has more of an Iggy Pop like swagger to it, and a lot less serial-killer-making-a-woman-dress. Needless to say, it fits better with the whole punk n’ roll, pub rock aesthetic The Glocks have going on. 

The stand out track for me was definitely Krystal, the one track I hadn’t previously heard before. The song captures the punky sound of The Glocks, and showcases the greater depth the songs have with the female backing vocals, especially during the anthemic refrain. If there is one song I could use to demonstrate the sound of The Glocks, then Krystal would be that song.

The thing I like about this EP is that it’s a snapshot of the past, the present and the future of The Glocks in one package, from the Magpie Genocide days to Krystal. I hope this song is the kind of polished, catchy material The Glocks are going to focus on for the next release. To me it represents The Glocks finding their sound and building up to their peak. I can’t wait to see what they bring us next year.

You can buy Naughty Boys & Dirty Girls from iTunes for a measly $3.96, or stream the album from the band’s ReverbNation Page.

 

About The Glocks

The Glocks are a rock and growl band writing and playing original music that has an 80's type rock new wave vibe. The songs are punctuated with irreverant humerous, sometimes dark sometimes sleazy lyrics, growling guitars and cool pop hooks.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Glocks

Releases

Naughty Boys & Dirty Girls
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Magpie Genocide
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Ben Lloyd - Album Review: Leap of Faith
26 May 2024 // by Peter-James Dries
For over 30 years, this self-taught rocker from Mt Maunganui has been writing music. Now, for the first time since 2013, we finally get to hear his songs.
Read More...
Yann Le Dorré - Album Review: The Circus is Closed
19 Dec 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
“We are Sex Bob-Omb and we're here to make you think about death and get sad and stuff!” - Scott Pilgrim vs.
Read More...
Sanoi - Album Review: Echoes Of Home
25 Nov 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
Electronica offers no escapism for me. It’s more of what I already have.
Read More...
Throng - EP Review: Decoherence
20 Oct 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
You know that thing where the letter B has a personality, or words have textures and colours? That’s called synaesthesia.
Read More...
Fortress Europe - Album Review: Old World
10 Oct 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
Have you ever been torn between listening to Mozart or Periphery? Does Epica have too much of that darn singing for your tastes?
Read More...
Yurt Party - Album Review: Yurt Party
07 Sep 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
It sure isn't summer, and this is really not the Balkans, but Yurt Party’s new self-titled album refutes that. Back with another one of them Balkan rocking beats, Yurt Party’s debut is jazzy, erratic, and full of zest and energetic grooves, with flavour notes of ska, dub, and bergamot.
Read More...
day13n - Album Review: /7/13/7/
06 Aug 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m too old for this world. We’ve devolved to the point where music is only as good as the soundtrack to your 10 second TikTok, and the thirty thousand copies recycling the idea.
Read More...
The New Existentialists - Single Review: Invocation
16 Jul 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
The New Existentialists, a doom metal band known for their dark and atmospheric soundscapes, have just… Wait a minute… No. The New Existentialists are really not a doom metal band, and they’re really not known for their dark soundscapes… They’re more known as stalwarts of a bygone era.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem