17 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Voe & Pam - The Khate EP Review

02 Sep 2014 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Voe is a musical project after my own heart; Self-produced and recorded, driven by their own aesthetic, a bit too clever for their own good. 

After my introduction I set out to find everything I could about Voe.  After finding the back-catalogue and the Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/OligoceneDrowning) only one question remained.  Who exactly is/are Voe?  Is Voe an offshoot of Oligocene Drowning, or is it the other way around? Are they the same thing? Who the hell is Thom? 

I came to the conclusion that it doesn't really matter. It's the big corporate way to sell bands on their personality and their faces (mainly their faces). Voe isn't here to sell themselves to you, they're here to make music, and I imagine they'll keep doing that even if there's no one around to hear it.

The Khate EP is a step up from the previous releases. There is a more organic structure to the songs than the airy post-grunge stylings of Self/Titled and the more experimental This is Not an Exit. There aren't so many stops and starts or The Chills covers (Pink Frost of course, check out the cover. Voe's aesthetic means the cover is both faithful to the original AND a display of Voe's personal sound).

The production values have also been raised a notch or two, which is especially noticeable with the bass guitar, which you can actually hear clearly. The Khate EP doesn't feel like six songs coming from six different directions. Each track fits together as if the whole EP is the telling of different parts of one story about love and hate. For an artist who relishes the fact they aren't trying to compete with big studio levels of production they've done a pretty damn good job of owning the old Flying Nun aesthetic. 

Part of being a bedroom musician and recording track by track is missing out on that buzz that comes from feeding off each other's energy during a jam and the natural progressive rise and fall. This gives some songs on the Khate EP a certain flatness, which may alienate the audience out there that looks forward to a song's peak, or drop. 

If you're one of those people, maybe you should stick to dubstep. The Khate EP is recommended if you like old school Flying Nun records, Bedroom bands and music you won't find on commercial radio.

The Khate EP and the Voe back-catalogue are available for download or stream now from the Voe Bandcamp (http://rhysstannard.bandcamp.com/).

(P.S. a Note to Voe: If you haven't already, burn this onto a CD and send it to the bNet and student radio stations. I recommend Radiocontrol 99.4FM here in Palmerston North. Get in touch with Great Job! Gig. Get famous.)

 

About Voe & Pam

Wellington based Producer/Artist Voe Thomas makes psychedelic kiwi hits!




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Voe & Pam

Releases

The Khate
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Paradise
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Manzo - Album Review: Attachment
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
The modern music industry has embraced the practice of style over substance for a while now. We could blame streaming, the Netflix generation, or the entitled psychopaths we’ve bred through inattentive parenting, as required by dual income house-holding.
Read More...
Manzo - EP Review: Beatniks on Toast
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like every independent musician, I’ve felt the pain of checking my artist pages to find the first track is still the one with the most plays. I should be reassured that someone has put the effort in to try and listen to something I’ve spend months making.
Read More...
River - EP Review: Endless Winter
03 Jun 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m really glad music like this is still getting made. As a former bedroom rock star, borderline agoraphobic, and closet Goth, I appreciate the art form.
Read More...
Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem