16 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Flip Grater - Pigalle Album Review

21 Mar 2014 // A review by Kate Taylor

Gifted Christchurch singer-songwriter Flip Grater brings her yearning, beautiful indie folk to our ears via the sultry Parisian musical base she currently calls home.

Pigalle, Flip Grater’s fourth album, is aptly named after the Studio Pigalle Paris, in which these delicious 11 tracks has been recorded; in an area renowned for its artistic soul, creative residents such as Dali or Picasso and its Moulin Rouge adjacency.

Playing an incredible influence, Flip Grater almost channels former Pigalle resident Edith Piaf on haunting The Smell of Strangers, it’s got a sassy Marianne Faithfull feel to it and is commanding in its lyrics accusatory purr. Across the album Flip Grater enhances and showcases her insightful grasp on the modern day milieu of love and relationships.

Album highlight and opener The Quit packs P.J. Harvey punch and is also the track that launched many a ‘The Almighty Johnsons brought me here’ YouTube comment; which, also nicely garners an international buzz for what is an honest, introspective collection of music born from the solo travelling our intrepid songstress has undertaken through Argentina, L.A., Italy and of course Paris.

Flip’s not alone in her musical efforts; she’s joined on Pigalle by Geoff Maddock (Goldenhorse), performs a duet with Poni Hoax’s Nicolas Ker and a slew of skilled French musicians including Babx.

Pigalle is essential laid-back indie cool that’s packed with forthright vigour. Fortunately, New Zealand will be treated to a generous tour schedule from Flip Grater this April, playing Pigalle tracks to Kiwi audiences for the first time, with stops in; Wellington, Dunedin, Christchurch, Auckland and Banks Peninsula – definitely check your local listings for date and ticket details.

 

About Flip Grater

Paris-based New Zealand singer-songwriter Flip Grater has a penchant for sharing. Apart from memoirs and recipes, she pens highly personal, nostalgic and at times melancholic indie-folk songs.

Her new album, Pigalle pays homage to her inspirations and influences from both France and New Zealand, while maintaining her uniquely intimate sensibility.

A departure from her 3 previous acoustic albums, Pigalle reveals Grater’s grittier side. Written in Paris and recorded at Studio Pigalle, her French band includes trumpet, electric guitars, piano and chamberlain by French artist Babx and vocal backing from Poni Hoax’s Nicolas Ker.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Flip Grater

Releases

Pigalle
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
While I'm Awake I'm At War
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Be All And End All
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Cage For A Song
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Nameless
Year: 2004
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kate Taylor

Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Live at No.10 South Street EP Review
04 Nov 2014 // by Kate Taylor
"You better sink that drink then baby come and fill your cup"...and get tipsy drunk on Sal Valentine & The Babyshakes!
Read More...
Rachel Dawick - The Boundary Riders Album Review
25 Sep 2014 // by Kate Taylor
Wow! What an inspirational woman!
Read More...
Songs From The Inside Vol II Album Review
10 Jun 2014 // by Kate Taylor
There’s more out there in the New Zealand media landscape than what’s on your news feed or your particular pay TV channels… Maori Television is an important part of our media landscape and their creation of musical collaboration documentary, Songs from the Inside is a beautiful time capsule of some our most talented and kind musical artists (Anika Moa, Don McGlashan & Laughton Kora to name three), giving life and freedom through musical expression to some of our nation’s incarcerated. A delicate content matter at the best of times; the equivalent of the ‘difficult second album’ is released in Songs from the Inside Vol II which the show’s director and producer Julian Arahanga was concerned would be an undertaking to “recapture the same heart, feeling as the first series”; yet he needn’t worry as it certainly has recapturing that same ol magic and built on it.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - IXL EP Review
10 Jun 2014 // by Kate Taylor
I've written it once and I'll write it again... the absolute best part of reviewing music is that every so often you're introduced to an artist that you truly love and value, not just as a creative musical entity but also as a contributor to the fabric of what our ‘little’ nation can achieve in an audial realm.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - No Tomorrow Single Review
08 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
As luck would have it, I've stumbled on the backyard of stunning model and recent nzblokes 'Babe of the Week' - Sophie Burnside. Sophie is absolutely stunning and a quick Google search reveals that Sophie is also a bright, intelligent and health conscious individual...
Read More...
Smashproof - Survivors Feat. Pieter T Single Review
06 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
An uplifting tune that I'm sure is going to bring relief to not just a lot of kids; but also adults through the sentiments of Smashproof's new single Survivors which tackles issues of bullying, youth suicide and abuse, head on. It's a beautifully crafted piece of kiwi Hip Hop with a delicious hook sung sweetly by RnB artist Pieter T, sandwiched between thoughtful and thought-provoking MC turns on the mic from each of the Smashproof boys.
Read More...
Kimbra - Rock Steady/Wanna Be Startin' Something Single Review
05 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
Oooh girl! This is the epitome of every getting dressed up, dolled up, laced up, heeled up 'get ready' session with your gal pals before a huge night out of being fierce and fabulous.
Read More...
Depths @ The Powerstation, Auckland 06/03/14
11 Apr 2014 // by Kate Taylor
I'm a long-time listener, yet first time viewer of the New Zealand heavy (very heavy) metal, death metal and hard-core band Depths and for me; what a worthy wait it was! I was fortunate to see one of NZ Metal's best and brightest in support to Suicide Silence and the absolutely stunning Down, as fronted by Phil Anselmo; formerly of some really rad metal band from the 90s and earlier, you might of heard of `em...
Read More...
View All Articles By Kate Taylor

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem