16 Jan 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bailey Wiley - IXL EP Review

10 Jun 2014 // A review by Kate Taylor

I've written it once and I'll write it again... the absolute best part of reviewing music is that every so often you're introduced to an artist that you truly love and value, not just as a creative musical entity but also as a contributor to the fabric of what our ‘little’ nation can achieve in an audial realm. Bailey Wiley is exactly one of these artists; which brings me to sometimes the more difficult aspect of reviewing music; how to sum up such a vital an important piece of New Zealand neo-soul, blues and beats into a succinct and useful review for you.

Put simply, if you don’t take a moment to go to www.baileywiley.com and listen to her stunning 6 new original tracks on her EP, entitled, IXL… well, then you’re a lazy music fan. Hand in your badge. This autobiographical EP has a lot of offer; fast slow beats on Syncopate contributed by Swaren Veygal are tight and awesome, with Wiley’s smooth vocal delivery perfectly measured and in control… a track sure to pull interest from beat makers and wax hounds the world over.

Cigarettes and Regrets, Fire and Villains and Strangers (a fantastically motivating track to take comfort in); display Wiley’s adept ability to revitalize jazzy soul and blues sensibilities into current and relate-able vignettes of modern life; a genre that’s so essential and well carved out, yet Wiley finds a fresh, unique perspective. IXL feat. Raiza Biza and After the Tone delve into the areas of romance, love and love-making more to the point on After the Tone – phew! Kicking off with a breathy voicemail message, it’s an invitation to Wiley’s inclination, that’s sensual and suggestive without getting gutter trash on it; “You can hold my hand if you hold it tight/you can be my man if you freak my mind.” Awesome.

IXL the EP is a slow burning scorch of mad intent, seriously do yourself a favour, you MUST check it out.

 

 

About Bailey Wiley

Few artists come new to the game with such a fearless and complete approach to music. Bailey Wiley filters neo-soul classicism through modern, rightous production and true live musicianship. The star of the show is that golden voice – effortless and organic, itʼs like having honey poured into your ears.

Her band are raw talent epitomised and bring the Rhodes out front from the outset, complimenting those flawless, whiskied harmonies with easy precision. Tracks like Fire and Cigarettes And Regrets evoke smoky, dimly lit bars and the ghosts of a thousand wasted nights. This is the kind of sweet soul that hurts your heart while its turning you on.

Made in collaboration with polyglot beatmaker and producer Swaren Veygal, IXL features six original cuts from two of New Zealandʼs most exciting new

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bailey Wiley

Releases

S.O.M.M.
Year: 2016
Type: EP
IXL
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Inevitable
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kate Taylor

Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Live at No.10 South Street EP Review
04 Nov 2014 // by Kate Taylor
"You better sink that drink then baby come and fill your cup"...and get tipsy drunk on Sal Valentine & The Babyshakes!
Read More...
Rachel Dawick - The Boundary Riders Album Review
25 Sep 2014 // by Kate Taylor
Wow! What an inspirational woman!
Read More...
Songs From The Inside Vol II Album Review
10 Jun 2014 // by Kate Taylor
There’s more out there in the New Zealand media landscape than what’s on your news feed or your particular pay TV channels… Maori Television is an important part of our media landscape and their creation of musical collaboration documentary, Songs from the Inside is a beautiful time capsule of some our most talented and kind musical artists (Anika Moa, Don McGlashan & Laughton Kora to name three), giving life and freedom through musical expression to some of our nation’s incarcerated. A delicate content matter at the best of times; the equivalent of the ‘difficult second album’ is released in Songs from the Inside Vol II which the show’s director and producer Julian Arahanga was concerned would be an undertaking to “recapture the same heart, feeling as the first series”; yet he needn’t worry as it certainly has recapturing that same ol magic and built on it.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - No Tomorrow Single Review
08 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
As luck would have it, I've stumbled on the backyard of stunning model and recent nzblokes 'Babe of the Week' - Sophie Burnside. Sophie is absolutely stunning and a quick Google search reveals that Sophie is also a bright, intelligent and health conscious individual...
Read More...
Smashproof - Survivors Feat. Pieter T Single Review
06 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
An uplifting tune that I'm sure is going to bring relief to not just a lot of kids; but also adults through the sentiments of Smashproof's new single Survivors which tackles issues of bullying, youth suicide and abuse, head on. It's a beautifully crafted piece of kiwi Hip Hop with a delicious hook sung sweetly by RnB artist Pieter T, sandwiched between thoughtful and thought-provoking MC turns on the mic from each of the Smashproof boys.
Read More...
Kimbra - Rock Steady/Wanna Be Startin' Something Single Review
05 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
Oooh girl! This is the epitome of every getting dressed up, dolled up, laced up, heeled up 'get ready' session with your gal pals before a huge night out of being fierce and fabulous.
Read More...
Depths @ The Powerstation, Auckland 06/03/14
11 Apr 2014 // by Kate Taylor
I'm a long-time listener, yet first time viewer of the New Zealand heavy (very heavy) metal, death metal and hard-core band Depths and for me; what a worthy wait it was! I was fortunate to see one of NZ Metal's best and brightest in support to Suicide Silence and the absolutely stunning Down, as fronted by Phil Anselmo; formerly of some really rad metal band from the 90s and earlier, you might of heard of `em...
Read More...
Louis Baker EP Release Gig @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland 28/03/14
11 Apr 2014 // by Kate Taylor
On a balmy Autumn night; a collected throng of interested yet relaxed patrons and I gathered at The Tuning Fork (a rad little venue that is nestled into the side of the behemoth that is Vector Arena); and were treated to the EP Release gig for Wellington's lovely bluesy crooner - Louis Baker. This wonderfully talented young fella took minimal time to enchant the crowd and have them eating out of the palm ofhis slide-guitaring hand.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kate Taylor

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem