19 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ekko Park - Tomorrow Tomorrow Today album review

08 Nov 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Tomorrow… Tomorrow… Today.

The title of Ekko Park’s newest release epitomises the procrastination process behind any project I have ever undertaken, be it a music review or walking to town to get a haircut. There is an opportune time for everything and with summer creeping up the legs of most of New Zealand’s urban centre’s it is the opportune time for Tomorrow Tomorrow Today.

The album has a good flow for those that still enjoy listening to an album sequentially, as opposed to the single at a time culture digital media has bred. Beginning with the energetic, Pearl Jam album by Pearl Jam like, Little I’s & Big You’s until Simpatico where things start to slow down, and become more of Placebo/late-era Foo Fighters. 

It’s these later tracks that resonate with me the most. I do enjoy that Ekko Park can get me dancing, but I’m more for a building tension and progression, like in the tracks Making Waves and Twenty7. They’re also good tracks to show of Ekko Park’s dynamic sound and technical abilities. Anyone can thrash a song to 4/4, the Ramones made a career out of it, but to build from the hollow noise of guitar feedback to a solid ear beating without jarring the audience takes skill.

After doing a bit of background reading of Chris from Muzic.net.nz’s review of Ekko Park’s earlier single Becoming the Enemy, which features on Tomorrow Tomorrow Today, I agree that “sharp, well produced and easy on the ears” is a succinct description of not just Becoming the Enemy but the Ekko Park brand of melodic rock in general.

Tomorrow Tomorrow Today is now available from all good record stores and on iTunes.

If you haven't already you can catch Ekko Park live this November.  See more here: http://www.muzic.net.nz/gig-guide/69876/tattoo-and-art-festival

Tomorrow Tomorrow Today
View Track Listing
 

About Ekko Park

Ekko Park released their highly anticipated, independently released second album Know Hope in October 2015, going straight in to the Official NZ Album Chart at #13 and was the #5 Kiwi album.

2017 saw the release of the single Going Uptown which continued the bands rise and success in Europe, culminating in Ekko Park's first ever European Tour across Italy with a stop in Ireland.

2018 starts in earnest as the band welcomes new guitarist Alex Hargreaves to the team.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ekko Park

Releases

Know Hope
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Tomorrow Tomorrow Today
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Manzo - Album Review: Attachment
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
The modern music industry has embraced the practice of style over substance for a while now. We could blame streaming, the Netflix generation, or the entitled psychopaths we’ve bred through inattentive parenting, as required by dual income house-holding.
Read More...
Manzo - EP Review: Beatniks on Toast
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like every independent musician, I’ve felt the pain of checking my artist pages to find the first track is still the one with the most plays. I should be reassured that someone has put the effort in to try and listen to something I’ve spend months making.
Read More...
River - EP Review: Endless Winter
03 Jun 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m really glad music like this is still getting made. As a former bedroom rock star, borderline agoraphobic, and closet Goth, I appreciate the art form.
Read More...
Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem