17 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gunt - From Darkness to Deletion EP Review

16 May 2012 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Gunt is another of those bands I’d heard on the radio before hearing of them and subsequently been asked to review. Little did I know they were a kiwi band. Mixed in with the American thrash, death and metalcore on the station’s playlist you couldn’t tell. And perhaps I’m just filthy minded, but a name like Gunt, another word for what some girls call their muffin top, stuck out.

Don’t let the intro lull you into a false sense of security. This isn’t going to be a laid back, funeral doom metal kind of affair. From Darkness to Deletion is heavier than 8 Foot Sativa, tighter than Cannibal Corpse, and less emotional than Atreyu. The vocals take all the best bits from Brokencyde, the shitmetal, hiphop / metalcore crossover – the best bits being only the bree-brees similar to those we hear on track 2: Faceplant.  Thanks go out for providing the lyrics.

While these factors make this EP slightly less accessible to the casual metal listener (i.e. those who still think Mudvayne is heavy) it will appeal to die hard fans of Thrash, Metalcore, Death, Melodic and Groove Metal. 

I long for the day a wannabe gangster with intermediate literacy shits their pants after buying this CD, mistakenly thinking it was the newest outing from G-UNiT. From Darkness to Deletion certainly isn’t for everyone, but if you’re in the market for something hard, fast and heavy and don’t mind supporting New Zealand music, then this should be one of your first picks.

I missed the Gunt gig in Palmy. But I’m good like that. I hear it was a hell of a show (NB: When talking about metal bands Hell holds positive connotations). They’re still touring at the moment, so if you get the chance, get your ass along. What better time than NZ Music Month. You sit there saying you love music, but unless you get off Facebook and get out there to show your support to these ailing kiwi bands you’ll find the music will start to dry up and the good kiwi bands will disappear.

 

About Gunt

Gunt is a 5-piece Metal band based in Hawkes Bay. Since forming in 2005 the bands sound has progressed from a quirky/classic metal sound to a more thrash/death metal style incorporating elements of groove and melodic death metal.

In 2006 Gunt released their debut album Pop Star Murder Project, this was followed by the EP Graveyard Nation in 2008.

The bands third offering From Darkness To Deletion was released March 26 2012 on Hawkes Bay based label Hit Your Head Music.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gunt

Releases

From Darkness To Deletion
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Graveyard Nation
Year: 2008
Type: EP
Pop Star Murder Project
Year: 2006
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: NoMoreGaps
16 Mar 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if Kurt Cobain survived. Would he have kept making music and what would it sound like?
Read More...
You, Me, Everybody - Album Review: Southern Sky
16 Feb 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Deep within the matryoshka doll that is the country genre is a bluegrass doll in cosplay. Sitting on the fire escape of a rundown apartment building, dry buck wheat stem between its teeth, and a rock band shirt, progressive bluegrass is the genre that ran away from its home in the Appalachians and fell in with a different crowd.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground vol 1 - 3
27 Jan 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
It is an odd circumstance, to be in the position of reviewing reviews. Reviews are one person’s personal, subjective opinion.
Read More...
Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team
24 Sep 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem