19 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kieran Cooper - Yes, No, Acoustic

25 Mar 2012 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Yes, No, Acoustic is a mix of old and new Kieran Cooper, from his previous release In Search of Reason, including my old favourites Awake and Over Me, as well as from his new release Yes, No, Sincerely, and also tracks from Kieran’s band, Kasium.

If you’re the kind of person that would rather rock out to the Foo Fighters’ acoustic performance of Everlongwhen you’re in your growlery than listen to the original studio recording, then keep this album on your MP3 player.  As I’ve discovered, it’s a perfect rainy Sunday ambient music; something you play as you sit staring out the window wishing you had an umbrella, and that we’d actually had a summer this year.

Those of you that appreciate live performances for the variations they bring to the songs you already know will love this album, especially if you’ve heard Kieran’s performance at the Khuja lounge (available on his bandcamp).  While the Khuja lounge tracks have a certain staunchness that comes with playing acoustic tracks to a disaffected audience, these tracks portray a certain vulnerability. The presence and the emotion of these tracks feels organic, tangible, real.  An artist playing his songs to himself in his studio without the pressures of performance.  Music from the soul.

The album is the perfect accompaniment to Kieran’s simultaneously released album Yes, No, Sincerely, where some of this albums tracks appear in their mastered form.  Acoustic tracks are a photograph of a beautiful woman, or man if your heart so desires, capturing a fleeting moment in all it’s subtlety.  A studio recorded track, played over and over, is more like a painting of that beautiful woman, or man, on canvas. A carefully crafted portrait, art.

Yes, No, Acoustic is available now on Kieran Cooper’s bandcamp.

 

 

 

About Kieran Cooper

From his soon to be released single and EP, expect rich vocal harmonies and guitar work reminiscent of Elliott Smith, Kristin Hersh and Iron & Wine.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kieran Cooper

Releases

Sticks & Stones
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Did You Miss Me?
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Yes, No, Sincerely
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady
29 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next. After their first single Oh My Goth (O.
Read More...
Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe
23 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin
29 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago. In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: Wellington - Te Upoko O Te Ika
22 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I seldom review anything with any degree of commercial appeal, on account of my conscious attempts to avoid overt radio-bate. The music consumed by the masses hasn’t spoken to me for over a decade.
Read More...
First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem